Petronas Primax 97 with Pro-Race launched – world’s first Advanced Dual Friction Modifier for more power

Petronas Dagangan has officially introduced its new Petronas Primax 97 with Pro-Race, its best ever fuel. The new Euro 4M RON 97 petrol is now available nationwide, priced at the current rate of RM2.08 per litre for December 19 to 25 under the weekly fuel pricing format.

The new RON 97 fuel replaces Primax 97 with improved Advanced Energy Formula, which has been on the market since August 2015. The company says the updated fuel has been engineered to meet the demands of present-day high technology engines by offering users with a more powerful, responsive and efficient performance.

At the heart of the formulation is a new additive package that includes the world’s first Advanced Dual Friction Modifier, which the company says is 25% more efficient in reducing friction, and it also enhances the fuel and oil interaction to improve fuel efficiency for better mileage, resulting in lower carbon emissions. The company says the new fuel also removes 99.9% of deposits from key areas in the engine.

“The new Petronas Primax 97 with Pro-Race is our best fuel, as the new formulation was designed to cater to advanced engine technologies and meet the high-performance driving needs of our customers today. Having translated our fluid technology from track to road, we are very excited to finally let our customers experience an effortless drive, achievable through the three-in-one benefit comprising power, responsiveness and efficiency,” said PDB MD and CEO Azrul Osman Rani.

The new fuel leverages on Petronas’ experience in developing fluid technology for the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 team, which won its seventh consecutive FIA F1 World Constructors Championship in 2020.

“The competitiveness on the racetrack is intense. I need a fuel that gives me the power to move beyond – when I accelerate, when I take corners and when I need to get ahead of the pack. Petronas Primax 97 with Pro-Race is the fuel that gives your car the power as and when it needs most. I know what power means. You should too, ” said Lewis Hamilton, the reigning F1 world champion.

Ahead of its official introduction, the performance of the new fuel was evaluated by customers through a series of blind tests. Carried out under real world condtions, the tests revealed that two out of three participants in the programme experienced better performance from Petronas Primax 97 with Pro-Race compared to other premium fuels that they are currently using.

Specifically, 69% of the participants said the new fuel delivers more power, while 66% agreed that it felt more responsive. As for efficiency, 73% of those who took part in the tests confirmed that their vehicles recorded better mileage with the new Petronas fuel.

“The results of the blind tests and feedback from the drivers were truly encouraging. As a leading energy and solutions partner, we continuously seek out avenues to refine and improve our offerings to remain as customers’ brand of choice. We are confident that the new Petronas Primax 97 with Pro-Race will surpass customers’ expectations and delight their driving experience,” Azrul said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Pay extra 30sents (Ron 95 $1.78/L and 97 $2.08 about 17% extra)get extra fuel 25% more efficient , value for money , but do you believe ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
  • Brian on Dec 21, 2020 at 5:30 pm

This is Malaysian innovation, bringing you a championship winning fuel for your car. Feel the power, feel the glory, feel the victory every time you ignite your passion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
    • hantu raya on Dec 22, 2020 at 11:49 am

sadly Malaysians still plagued with “foreign is best” syndrome. many will belittle/play down/undermine the efforts and successes of our intelligent and hardworking guys and gals, and there are those who will never even give this product a fair and honest try to see the results for them selves.
      from PETRONAS Lubricants Internasional :-
      “As Title partner, PETRONAS co-engineered PETRONAS Fluid Technology Solutions™ which includes PETRONAS Primax fuel, PETRONAS Syntium engine oil and PETRONAS Tutela functional fluids, in close collaboration with the technical team at Mercedes AMG High Performance Powertrains (HPP).
      The fuel and lubricants development programme that PETRONAS has undertaken since 2010 has brought unrivalled success to the Mercedes-AMG PETRONAS Formula One Team and created one of the most dominant eras in the history of Formula 1®.”
      also note that from wiki (i know wiki is not the most reliable, but its quick)- “The fuel used in F1 cars is fairly similar to ordinary (premium) petrol, albeit with a far more tightly controlled mix. Formula One fuel would fall under high octane premium road fuel with octane thresholds of 95 to 102. F1 Blends are tuned for maximum performance in given weather conditions or different circuits.”
      all that innovation trickled down to regular folks, but sadly there are those who still say, after 7 world titles, this 0r that is waaayyy better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • 25% more hardworking employee means 25% cost savings for Petronas? on Dec 21, 2020 at 6:08 pm

‘25% more efficient in reducing friction’ means very differently at the dyno when compared with the official picture’s comments of ‘Reduces friction by 25% more’. Any legal experts here could advice if this could be interpreted as misleading claims?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Bieight on Dec 21, 2020 at 7:29 pm

If direct injection still the intake valve wouldn’t be clean…

• yes, even with RON100 Euro6 Petron, self cleaning fuel –
      GDI still get reasonably dirty, as per thier report comparing to EN228 standards.

• Justice on Dec 21, 2020 at 9:00 pm

Caltex fuel a lot better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
    • caltex win any f1 championship no???

• Hantu Raya on Dec 22, 2020 at 11:52 am

Foreigners are always better innit? Even after 7 world titles…

• Justice on Dec 25, 2020 at 11:43 pm

Caltex here not managed by Malaysian franchise holders?? enough of your stupid sentiments, go for quality instead of foolish nationalism pride

• Optimus on Dec 22, 2020 at 4:28 pm

Caltex station like can find only 1 in entire KL. How much better that I need to waste petrol driving there to refuel?

• how long does it take to clean 99.99% deposits?

even a PETRON RON 100 Euro6 requires 60hours to clean 70% of the deposits, on a PFI engines.

on a GDI engines, dirt magnet – still accumulate more dirt compared to PFI, though much less compared to standard requirements: While using Petron Ron 100 Euro6.

There is lack of transparency of laboraty Testing report.

• how long does it take to clean 99.99% deposits?

even a PETRON RON 100 Euro6 requires 60hours to clean 70% of the deposits, on a PFI engines.

on a GDI engines, dirt magnet – still accumulate more dirt compared to PFI, though much less compared to standard requirements: While using Petron Ron 100 Euro6.

There is lack of transparency of laboraty Testing report.
    A leaders should be educate followers with technical write ups, not just marketting with some random figures.

• Rizall on Dec 22, 2020 at 1:13 am

I don’t agree with the advertisement the last tag line “develop by malaysians for malaysians”should be “develop by malaysians for the world.”i think that sounds better.

• Optimus on Dec 22, 2020 at 4:30 pm

Unfortunately Petronas fuels is selling only in M’sia. Pity but many countries have their own establish national brands so entering such markets is a cutthroat affair.

• Dong gor on Dec 22, 2020 at 6:28 pm

If Ron 97 has no clear advantage over Ron 95 as conducted by PT crew.. So we don’t expect same class of fuel can offer anything that the drivers can feel. This is pure marketing!

• Truth on Dec 25, 2020 at 11:09 am

petronas fuel additives are crap, poor quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Oh really? I wonder how they manage to win 7 F1 world titles in a row then. This proves that you are crap, haha

• Nah man….BHP the worst….u can even see their marketing team everywhere stating BHP and Caltex the best. Shell and Petronas the worst. I encountered alot of BHP marketing team every website. Don’t bullsh*t la

• I was a regular user of Petronas Ron97 Pro race since it first came out (i was a regular petronas ron95 user before). So the problem with my car was, at 5th gear below 2k rpm, my engine was producing loud “krek3” sound. Then yesterday my fuel is almost empty on highway, and the nearest petrol station is BHP. So I pumped their Ron97, and to my surprise, my engine is no more making that loud “krek2” sound below 2k rpm. My engine is Campro CPS.

• Shawn on Mar 06, 2021 at 5:53 pm

Frankly speaking petronas fuel nowadays did improved a lot compared to 5 years back, tried it out first, you might ser the difference