Proton X70 in Pakistan: wait list reportedly up to nine months, dealers charging over MSRP to “jump queue”

It seems like the Proton X70 is off to a rather good start in Pakistan. According to Proton distributor Al-Haj Automotive, its management has received several complaints from prospective customers who were unable to place a booking for the Malaysian C-segment SUV.

“We strongly condemn and discourage such activities as asking for “Own Money” or “Premium” and would take strict disciplinary action against those found guilty,” the company said in a statement. Apparently, all CBU X70 units have been snapped up, and unscrupulous dealers are allegedly charging customers extra to “expedite” the delivery process.

Some customers even said that dealers are deliberately charging customers above the recommended retail price, but exactly how much remains unknown for now. The dealers also reportedly said the wait list is at least six months long, although several customers have been told to wait until September 2021. To combat this, Al-Haj Automotive urged customers to lodge their complaints to appointed representatives in Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad.

To recap, there are currently two variants of the CBU X70 on sale, starting with the entry-level Executive AWD variant at Rs 4,890,000 (RM123,372), and the Premium 2WD at Rs 5,390,000 (RM135,987). Both models are fully imported from Malaysia.

However, unlike Malaysian units, the X70 models sold in Pakistan will all be powered by the X50’s 1.5 TGDi three-cylinder engine, offering 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque. This is to take advantage of the country’s tax structure, which favours smaller engines. Dipping under 1,500 cc allows Proton to price the X70 much more competitively in the market, and the demand shows. A seven-speed dual-clutch transmission is standard.

Moving forward, Al-Haj Automotive will be introducing locally-assembled versions (built in Karachi, in the plant that it owns) of the X70, which is tipped to roll out in the first quarter of 2021. That will bring prices down a fair bit – the X70 Executive CKD will be priced at Rs 4,690,000 (RM118,326), while the Premium will cost Rs 4,990,000 (RM125,895).

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Facebook on Dec 22, 2020 at 6:03 pm

and yet malaysian is complaining the car price is too high

• Dong gor on Dec 22, 2020 at 6:08 pm

Some said the waiting list for x70 in Malaysia is 4 months…x50 I can believe but x70 it’s been here a while. So Can any recent x70 owner confirm this?

• Jaguh on Dec 22, 2020 at 6:12 pm

Very WELL DONE GEELY PROTON!!!

• only in.. on Dec 22, 2020 at 6:40 pm

That”s a classic example of corruption, sad.

• Akoolm on Dec 22, 2020 at 6:41 pm

Pay undertable! Pakistan oso play backdoor,

• Datuk on Dec 22, 2020 at 6:42 pm

this typical happens at Pakistan. Goreng car like goreng property.
    Not surprising maybe

• YB Albert on Dec 22, 2020 at 8:57 pm

The Pakistani dealers seemed to have mastered the cantonese phrase ” KAOTIM “in world record time.
    REMEMBER those early years when rakyat have no other choice but to buy a proton,due to high duties on japanese cars?
    The Salesman said” If u want a fast car and dont choose color,I can arrange…but for a small fee…”

• azrai on Dec 22, 2020 at 9:01 pm

Now Malaysian can bring their X70 to Pakistan and sell it at a good RV.

• 3rd to 3rd on Dec 22, 2020 at 9:45 pm

Not surprise. Anything can happen. 3rd wc to 3rd world country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • putinavolvo on Dec 22, 2020 at 10:25 pm

wah, pakistan’s dealership’s style, pay more to jump queue. before out already planning on songlap ah?

• mdm yo

• Choong Khim Fen on Dec 23, 2020 at 7:46 am

I wonder how many CBU model of X70 really sold in Pakistan, is it another marketing scheme, to boast sale by offering sales target above limited stock that can supply to create a artificial good demand, to drive more sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • YAQOOB on Jan 05, 2021 at 8:04 am

ONLY 100 CBU UNITS HAVE BEEN BOOKED. OTHER PEOPLE WILL GET LOCALLY MANUFACTURED X70s.

• Looks like because I cant see any on the road so far

• Obamacare on Dec 23, 2020 at 8:24 am

Just wondering, why doesn’t Paultan post articles/news like this on their Instagram?

• alldisc on Dec 23, 2020 at 9:44 am

the hype is just temporary. just like Malaysia.. the first 3 months after launched, total bookings exceeded 20k and waiting list was about 6 months

after 1 year its ready stock. any variant, any colour. unfortunately our specs are all 1.8 otherwise can immediately shipped to Pakistan and solved the woes.

• Neutral on Dec 23, 2020 at 9:49 am

Well, it reminds us about the common practice here in Malaysia back to the Proton “boom” era i.e. when Waja was first launched where one had to fork out 1 – 2K extra in order to get the car early.

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 23, 2020 at 10:18 am

The design of this car looks very dated. Not sure why people choose to buy this car. The x50 is a better looking car IMHO. If they can just fix that headlights and grill it will be better. Looks too plain and flat.

• Uncle Joe Lho on Dec 23, 2020 at 1:09 pm

Both also looks kemec at the rear top corner.Overhyped…Once the turbo n related stuff breaks down..It won’t be cheap to fix.Just give 3 years..P1 dudes will cry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Mohammad Hanif Malik on Dec 23, 2020 at 11:10 am

I was one of the disappointed customers. I went right early morning at 10 at Islamabad dealership but to my surprise the dealer told me that all premier FWD units are sold. Which that the dealer has sold the vehicle even before before the official launch of vehicle. Strange country and corrupt mafia always wins.

• Ajibkor on Dec 23, 2020 at 1:05 pm

You don’t understand the meaning of “kaotim”You want the translation?It is OOTB…Out of the box..Payment.

• James Bond on Dec 23, 2020 at 1:22 pm

Personal agreed with your observation of corruption.
      Proton should handle this transparently, if interested to gain respectable, transparent, corruption free Brand Image.

• Calvin on Dec 23, 2020 at 4:50 pm

Proton has nothing to do with this, their brand is carried by their franchise dealer. Whatever happens is onto their dealer, but really is there any law that says this is illegal?

• nano technies on Dec 24, 2020 at 8:16 am

You are wrong bro! As long as they sold proton car there, Proton is responsible! You can’t run away just like that! Similar here, if you brought car here, what do you feel if the dealer is asking you to nego or liaise directly with car manufacture which is located overseas if you have defect,problem,issue with your car?
          Next time, think first bro!

• azrai on Dec 23, 2020 at 12:15 pm

This has been rampant during EON time in the middle 90’s. 6 months waiting list, force to buy nonsense accessories (sport rims, spoiler, fake walnut dashboard trim, cassete player, side door sticker, rear window motorised screen) plus cannot even choose car colour.
    Used car also hijacking booking and sell unused proton at their premises, Iswara and Wira.
    Instead of salemen searching for buyer, it was buyer who seek salemen then.

• simon on Dec 23, 2020 at 1:05 pm

not unheard of.

customers like to shop around for best discount, throw everything, salesman comm also throw, want to buy car for free mah.

now got chance for dealer to recoup back, so lansi sikit lo.

• raisrafiq on Dec 25, 2020 at 6:05 am

cbu unit

• Adeel Arshad warraich Advocate on Feb 15, 2021 at 7:39 pm

I need proton premium urgently

• Hammad on May 11, 2021 at 4:47 pm

I want to purchase proton x70