Yesterday, we spoke to Proton chief designer Azlan Othman and Geely Design Shanghai vice president Guy Burgoyne regarding the future direction of Proton Design. While the two were tight-lipped on the specifics, Azlan did tease a few key details about future Geely-based models.
Currently, the X70 and X50 are only differentiated from their Chinese counterparts, the Boyue and Binyue/Coolray, through small tweaks like the front grille and speaker grilles. Azlan, however, said that Proton will eventually progress to redesigning the entire body of the car, or the top hat in industry speak.
Addressing public comments about the lack of unique design cues on the SUVs, Azlan said, “What a lot of people tend to forget is the objective of the project. Maybe they just see one product, whereas us on this side of the fence, we see the total long-term picture. As we move from just entertaining CBU projects, we go to CKD and soon enough full top hat change, then I think the appreciation will improve.”
Azlan added that Proton is still in an evolutionary phase in terms of its design, as it is effectively rebadging Geely models. Designing a new top hat will give designers more freedom to make big changes, and Azlan is promising a “revolutionary” design language down the road – though don’t expect it to arrive so soon. “We started “Evolution 1.0” before and now we’re in 2.0. We even have a vision, five or six years ahead, of a “Revolution” look,” he said.
Part of the reason why Proton hasn’t made many aesthetic changes to the X70 and X50 are the limitations placed on the design of the cars. “Obviously, if we’re looking at the donor product concept, the limitations are more. But as we move to the other direction, a new top hat for example, the sky’s the limit,” Azlan said.
The general perception that Proton’s indigenous models look very different from its Geely-based ones also isn’t lost on Azlan, who said that the company needs time to build a more cohesive look. “I agree with all the netizens and general public out there.
“It is complex to have exactly the same look between the legacy and donor [cars]. We have to start small first, like the grille area, the wheels, a bit of the interior colour and trim concepts, and then we will grow [from there]. I urge the general public to understand the bigger picture, and it will only get better.”
“[Our collaboration] is still in its infancy, three years. We need to take it step-by-step, slowly work this marriage out first, and then we’ll show you what we can do.”
Even so, Azlan said that there will always be differences between the two types of Protons. “When it comes to the donor cars, we are quite reliant on our partner Geely for the best value that we can get from the collaboration. For the legacy cars, we have the freedom. I don’t think there will be a total convergence between the two, it doesn’t make sense for a Proton to look exactly like a Geely.”
Burgoyne added some comments as to why Proton’s SUVs look very similar to the Geely versions, saying that the company is focused on offering value to the customer – a wholesale visual revamp would cost more and detract from the value proposition.
“Most people don’t understand that with a great value product, there is a balance between uniqueness and commonality, and the commonality is in places which don’t necessarily affect the uniqueness of the brand, they’re in places that just provide great solutions and great value to the customer.
“Getting that balance right is a game nearly all car manufacturers play around the world across brands. There’s obviously a business part to it – if you make every single thing unique to every single market then the car’s gonna cost so much that you’re never going to sell any or you’re gonna make the customers unhappy.”
The news of a body redesign being in the pipeline opens the door to the possibility of Proton building cars on Geely’s B-segment Modular Architecture (BMA), which the X50 is based on. Rather than simply rebadging an existing car, the company could design car bodies and interiors that are completely unique to Proton but share the underlying platform and mechanical bits with Geely models.
Blah3, that’s what they said before the CKD X70 arrived.
The designer dude..talk 3 talk 4..
Forget China derived X50,X70 .
From suprima to Preve..Saga,pesona..all these have expired product life cycle..Jurassic park T Rex era.
Without Geely,if they still keep the ancient campro powered models, 50000 units sales will be difficult to achieve.
By now,P1 would be defunct,insolvent,bankrupt.
Be humble,be proactive,be revolutionary like the Koreans,Japanese and Chinese.
Even parrots can talk.But walk the talk.
azlan had forgotten proton was bleeding badly for the past 10 years. CEO Dr Li saw this and decided for Proton not to waste money in designing a car from ground up.
dear Azlan, you had your hands in Proton design for many years, many models. ask yourself why people didnt buy proton cars as many as perodua or honda. NO. its not about design, many aspects involve decisions to buying a new car. design alone is not enough.
I hope Proton can learn more from Geely. Last time partner with Mistubishi, Proton learn nothing as their Game Over workers are so lazy and minum teh 10X, so ended up only capable of redesigning grille.
Oh yeah sure. Mitsubishi were trying to transfer the whip and chain locks technology plus the slave labouring knowhow but you see, Proton workers are too ethical and respectful of fellow human beings to comprehend what these Japs were trying to teach. Once Proton management board found out, they kicked them Japs all the way back to Nippon and disallowed them to come back for 10 years. Eventually they returned back via Tan Chong Motors, another bloodsucker of their employees. I’m glad Proton didn’t follow their culture of slavery.
Alright locals, you heard the turd. Find who he is, cancel him and the likes of him. Don’t buy anything from them, don’t support anything from them, don’t take their money (jobs), and spread the word.
You will praise azlan nonstop and kneel down to the local team when their upcoming revolutionary and daring design going to be dropdeath gorgeous, stunning, even better than Burgoyne’s KX11 and Ingenlath’s XC60.
The Saga maybe full of flaws but I would drive a Proton Saga without shame … than drive a pretentious and fake national car Geely.
No shame in being national , shame in being fake
Geli betul
“Proton” is just being used by GEELY to offload their excess production in China.
And take full advantage of Malaysia national car tax breaks.
Proton is dead.. whats left is a Geely Dealership
Honestly to Geely, their proton investment is like a dropped change in their pocket. More like a sedekah than an actual investment. We should be grateful we get to enjoy their old tech in Malaysia. We won’t get to experience their high end tech for many years to come given the many restrictions in Malaysia. Their EVs tech is actually top of the line right now
Antara punca utama kejatuhan Proton.
Suruh tukar chief designer degil tak nak.
Sampai sekarang masih sembang kencang.
Not everyone can design well. The Koreans, without whitemen designers, came out with their awful Elantra. Design doesn’t have to be pretty but it can be cohesive, what the 2 Geely rebadges highlights Proton’s true prowess that is their top notch engineering capabilities to make a near perfect conversion for RHD markets. They have the basics right and as for design, it will sort itself with the support of Geely/Volvo global design team. With Proton aim to go global, their design language will evolve to cater for the world.
The latest CR7 elantra is a beautiful design. with the AD facelift however, i agree it’s not exactly a looker.
Geely does not need Proton for RHD conversion effort, they already have Volvo, which have both RHD and LHD in their lineup.
The BMA platform used by Binyue is developed by Geely with some input from Volvo but it is not used by Volvo. Only from Proton’s effort do they have RHD version. As for CMA, while RHD version is common for Volvo, there is no RHD version for Geely models and they are not interested since Geely are not in RHD markets.
Don’t worry Azlano. It took Perodua 28 years to go from being a bumper designer(Kancil) to…. still being a bumper designer(Ativa). What you and your team did with the Geely donor cars in 3 years have far surpassed what your competitor did in 28.
Surpassed, but still #2. Yeah that argument tracks. Also bumper designer (Saga) to grill designer (X50)… hypocrisy is it not?
Yes, I’m sure the LHD to RHD conversion is a simple roti canai job to simpletons that don’t know better but talks a lot.
good handling and supporting frame of the vehicle structure contributes a lot during unexpected emergency situation. after effect skidding, from oversteer and back to natural to avoid incoming head2head collision. Dont walk us into the memorylane of the graveyard vehicles period.
zero refinement on multiple driver touch points – steering, brake, gear level and seat. there’s very bad vibrations even at idle and during acceleration, the clutch has zero weight and feel, the gear lever is loose all the time, sloppy to drive, it’s not sorted, the steering is over assisted, the brake are not servo enough, you wouldn’t want to make full throttle maneuver, because the engine gets so noisy, deathtrap, accident prone, handle like a boat, easy to skid so on. Pity to those who injured and lost their love one on accidents.
Yes they killed and bankrupted Proton. And you are proud for their 28 years of bailouts. At least Perodua shares are not prostituted to everyone while living off the govt. Now Geely is cheating the Govt of tax … Pretending to be a national badge.
At least proton had went one level up and developed whole cars themselves, perodua is cheating the Govt of tax by pretending to be a national badge for 30 years.
I believe there were 30 Malaysians from Perodua that were sent to Daihatsu Japan in 2019 to co develop the design of the Daihatsu Rocky. It wasn’t just the bumper that they designed. The MyVi and Bezza are both designed by Malaysians.
30 engineers can develop what exactly. Did their bosses revealed what exactly were their contributions? I would like to know. Myvi is simply a reskinned Boon while Bezza is just a booted Axia (also a reskinned Ayga/Ayla).
Nice
Good. Now sedar they must proton learn from berukdua.
Terukdua?
So, instead rebadging means Proton are willing to design but still based on Geely Platform. Wow, that’s really good move. And at the moment, even though Proton rebadge Geely models but with designing grills and exterior parts including software, it still be fine with that. But keep it up Proton.
With Proton incoming “revolutionary” designs, Its best to merge P1 + P2 and create a giant Malaysia national carmaker, ProPerodua.
New car model lineup- SUV
ProPerodua X70.
ProPerodua X50.
ProPerodua Ativa/X30.
ProPerodua Aruz/X40.
Saloon/Hatch
ProPerodua Perdana revolutionary replacement.
ProPerodua Persona revolutionary replacement.
ProPerodua Bezza.
ProPerodua Saga revolutionary replacement.
ProPerodua Myvi.
ProPerodua Axia revolutionary replacement.
ProPerodua Exora/M70 revolutionary replacement.
ProPerodua Alza/M50 revolutionary replacement.
ProPerodua Iriz no replacement
Don’t think Toyota/Dahaitsu will agree to the merger…
Reading between the lines, Saga Persona Iriz will have to soldier on for another 5-6 years. More facelift coming?
Syukur got X70 X50 and perhaps the rumoured X90 to help prop up Proton new design language.
Bring it on
he sure talks alot. preve and suprima looks hideous during launch, and still looks hideous today.
slowly bro, please read between the line:
‘When it comes to the donor cars, we are quite reliant on our partner Geely for the best value that we can get from the collaboration’
‘the company is focused on offering value to the customer, a wholesale visual revamp would cost more and detract from the value proposition’
No wonder Geely won’t let him mess up the original bumper designs.
Your subjective opinion is invalid. Some owners do like the design. Your taste doesn’t dictate everyone’s opinion unless it’s fiat multipla.
Did u just diss my fiat multipla?
Ya, don’t diss any car. Even if it’s a very ugly one (on your eyes that is). Because if even the ugliest car in the world manage to sell a single unit, that means there’s someone out there think that it’s not ugly. Is there a history where a production car never sold a single unit?
My point of view is that while Proton had a period of indigenously designed cars, because of their dire financial situation a few ago, they have to do small changes first, big changes later.
It is like a rebirth. When Proton first started, they were only doing small changes to Mitsubishi models before making big changes.
The difference between then and now is that last time, it took a few decades to go from small to big. However now, it will only take a decade, maybe less.
Please don’t. Just look at our Accordana.
That is a mystery to me. Why would proton waste so much resources to redesign the 8th gen Accord to the Accordana. It’s not like they had planned to sell that many of it. And you wonder why proton is bleeding money. I wonder how much was proton’s ROI on the Accordana.
Looks to me a shiok sendiri excercise. Likewise this. Is he just trying to justify his own seat at proton?
Thats topgun chief tun 360° rushing niche project.At first there’re objection fbut he buldozed pushed it thru. If he funded all the cost(license fee from Honda, development) kinda acceptable but he doesnt.
so blame that on him.
Ahh, the missed opportunity to rebadge the Swift, Jimmy, Vitara, Alto, SX4, XL7 ..
For what? Playing around with yet more outdated models? Do tell us which of these has Level 2 ADAS.
dont expect anything revolutionary coming out from chief designer Azlan ^^
I only support automotive technology sharing, NOT rebadging!!!
Erm…I dont mind if Proton doesnt have unique design from geely. Car like X50 is already nice looking. Just dont spoilt it and price it low.
Meanwhile, saga persona vvt exterior do require redesign if you ask me.
I do hope proton have exora replacement look as handsome as X50 with Geely engine as my next car would be a segment c family mpv.
This year the jiaji based MPV will release. Wait for it.
No it isn’t. MPV era is a bygone era. Today it is SUV.
Love it, and inlined with each of your sentences.
X50 front look, absolutely a looker, it pull and connect into the emotion. Its very difficult to achieve a very polish design as x50. They can use X50 front template as the base and polish it further for the bigger x70, sedan and mpv as well. They also can come with seriously daring looking original rendering, then compare with best and finally surpass their brotherly love KX11 and XC60 or the koreans Telluride/Carnival.
Azlan will definitely collaborate and take inputs and ideas from burgoyne and horbury crisscrossing geely global design studio
For any profit making company, the most important factor to look for is what you can sell, no matter who designed it.
Pls use theo’s rendering for suprima replacement design idea.. scale it down or up
Suprima, like Satria neo, is only for niche market, not a volume seller that P1 could rely on the increase market share.
Keep it up Proton. Don’t go to small displacement route like perodua. I mean smaller than 1.3. Build it to be more robust, efficient, more power basically no BS and it just work and please revive arena for budget small pickup for utilitarian use.
It also good to start to build an EV PLATFORM with AC and DC charging capability(no hybrid please) for future proofing the business, it not necessarily had to be a tesla copy. It’s enough to have lane departure warning, GOOD handling as usual, good power to weight ratio, auto cruise control, eco mode & anti collision warning. Too many gadgets and features will make it unreliable in long run, unless for flagship model. But please, do improve the interior quality.
Sure Proton. I will wait 5-6 years for your revolutionary design.
While waiting, I’ll be enjoying my P2 cars.
I pray you can survive and live long enough with those P2 cars until you change to a P1. #PrayforVanguard
#PrayforVanguard
Proton, pls don’t do that. For so many years, u already show us what u can do. Bcos of u, we need to pay more on other car. Pls stick on rebadging work, u doing great for now ! Pls stop your revolution imagination, we don’t need tht.
‘pls dont ‘bcos of u ‘pls stop!
best reaction so far with good rhymes tho.
like a dynamic relationship with up down.
because you really care abt them.
youre already wished them good, great for now.
prediction_the final rendering wont stray too far from the siblings preface binyue xinyue xc40 xc60
I don’t have high hopes for this, knowing Proton’s past records of designing a car…
still the same lead, then no nope.
After more than 35 years of car-making business, “Azlan added that Proton is still in an evolutionary phase in terms of its design, as it is effectively rebadging Geely models…”.
one word : tongkat
Coming from the person that praised ative upside down, your words rings hollow like a tin kosong
Maybe first should design a concept car for legacy models. Starting with a Compact MPV perhaps?
Slow…….af
How to compete?
Compete? With who? The jepunis & kimchis are getting trounced just with 2 SUV alone.
In corporate world andceven goreng pisang seller the same mantra is profit. Profit, profit, profit. Syok sendiri beatiful niche product gonna take you nowhere. Supra development cost and sales against Yaris. Do you get the math.
Geely invest so much, for sure they want their return as soon as possible. Rebadged is the short term formula. The Blacked and R3 edition is another. I’m certain they already have their roadmap, strategies, execution for the said revolution.
Netizens can complain everything. Remember manual vs auto availability on new car offerings? The figure shows manual trans is dying, but people always says they only buy if it is manual. Same goes as EV and Hybrid in Malaysia. Talk only about emission but when ICE car sold at RM62k and EV at RM150k, which will they choose.
Proton could be like what SEAT and Skoda for VW. Use geely/volvo’s platform but design their own vehicles.
Even Skoda sales outstrip VW in certain market.
That certain market is only in Czech Republic.
Dont worry, if azlan revo rendering is subpar, geely vp burgoyne and the chief design horbury wont approve it, they’re working together as mentor and good friend too.
they will push each other to come with new creative ideas for design. again dont worry, the design direction is in a good hand now
Better get Theo’s rendering than Azlan’s
Yalam can design? Lol!!
Proton is way more prettier than toyota, nissan, renault etc. Eat that out
Some people and media have been saying Proton is going back to their old ways of rebadging. That Proton is going to keep selling old models instead of developing new ones. That Proton is becoming complacent now that their market share is improving.
None of the above is true. Please understand that Proton’s no.1 priority since Geely stepped in is returning to profitability.
Developing a new platform and top hat will probably cost over RM 1 billion. For reference, the Iriz alone cost around RM 600 million in 2014. To develop a new engine family, that could stretch into several billion ringgit (ICE, hybrid and EV). Proton simply does not have the money or scale to justify such high profile investments at this time.
But adapting existing models and locally assembling them (i.e. RHD conversion, rebadging and CKD) is far more justifiable given Proton’s financial situation, but even that costs billions, especially in factory expansion and retooling. From what I understand, Proton has spent some 1 to 2 billion ringgit to accomodate X70 and X50 production.
The most cost effective solution is to just reengineer older models and increase component sharing. For example, the current Saga cost just RM 150 million to develop in 2016. For that sum, Proton extended the overhangs and designed a new top hat, while sharing some 60 percent of parts with other Proton models. I’m guessing Proton managed to save much on factory retooling too, since the current Saga is based on the previous Saga BLM platform.
If Proton is going to design an all-new SUV or Persona / Iriz / Exora / Saga based on an existing Geely platform, it would cost several billion ringgit for the reasons mentioned above. It will also take a long time for Proton to recoup their investments, because Proton only sells some 100,000 cars each year (including exports). Meanwhile, Geely sells over 200,000 Boyue in ONE year alone (ten times more than X70 in Malaysia) !
Unlike big boss Volvo, Geely are probably reluctant to invest billions in little brother Proton, at least not until Proton is able to prove that their business model is sustainable and profitable in the long-term. Geely does not have total control over Proton, and trust needs to be earned over a period of time. And that is what Proton has been doing these past few years, not just internally, but externally (their customers) as well.
I strongly believe that in time, Proton will develop several new unique / indigeneous models based on Geely Group platforms. And just like how Proton rebadges Geely models today to increase economies of scale and reduce costs, Geely will very likely rebadge future Proton models as well. In fact, I believe such arrangements were already mentioned many years back.
I have no doubt that Proton is already working on big new projects with Geely, and if all goes well, we will see tangible developments sooner or later. But in the meantime, I think Proton just hopes for our kind understanding and patience.
Disclaimer : Please note that my above comments are based on my personal observations and opinions only, based on publicly available info. I do not formally represent or speak on behalf whatsoever of any of the parties mentioned above.
With CEO DR Li vision the national automaker’s distribution network has improved drastically.
But aftersales parts handled by the locals all this while were terrible and shameful, for both accident repairs and scheduled services.
Loyal customers requiring accident repairs as well as regular servicing have faced long frustrating delays.
Honestly to Geely, their proton investment is like a dropped change in their pocket. More like a sedekah than an actual investment. We should be grateful we get to enjoy their old tech in Malaysia. We won’t get to experience their high end tech for many years to come given the many restrictions in Malaysia.
However, Geely is now our best hope to bring Proton to a next level by being a hot seller in countries like thailand, indonesia, australia etc. We definitely have what it takes now to bring down other popular car makers
Why is proton talking about petrol car, when the world is going EV? Lets org a local talent to comeout with EV design and prototype. Make the prize worthwhile like rm10million for the winner and subsequently 9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2 and 1 million for top 10. Can do or not?
blah blah as usual
Unless Proton’s export sales exceed its local sales, ini semua cakap auta & angan2 mat jenin semata2.
Selagi Proton kekal jaguh kampong hidup layan tongkat kerajaan, selagi itu ia xde masa depan.
for example:
last year export 10 biji, this year export 15 biji.
wow, export increase by 50%
KPI over achieved by 50% !
sekian
So, after the rebirth of proton, he want to go small in design? That is the stupidest thing i have ever heard, you either go big or go home.
I don’t mind the current x70 shape. However, I noticed that the boyue has a very very nice dashboard. Why does Proton not have this dashboard in the X70?
I believe there were 30 Malaysians from Perodua that were sent to Daihatsu Japan in 2019 to co develop the design of the Daihatsu Rocky. It wasn’t just the bumper that they designed. The MyVi and Bezza are both designed by Malaysians.
Wira and Waja if redesign ed can still be top of sale .make wira bigger
Did anyone notice there’s a shadow of a sedan in the image? Wonder what sedan it is…
talk so much for what, failed to deliver for the past 20 years and yet want another extension for 5-6 years?
Campro 1.6L engine and ThunderCats logo is all that is femes from Proton saje..
as if these deadwoods can do better than Geely?
new iriz pls. kill myvi/axia domination with 1 stone
Well I hope and wish them that they are on right track, because we started the industry earlier compare to South Korea , where are they now and we are still at initial state – hope fully one day we will have a car that fully own by us..which far more advance and ZERO emissions.