In light of the ongoing conditional movement control order (CMCO) and recovery movement control order (RMCO) that is being enforced across the country, the ministry of transport has announced that the exemption for renewal of road tax and driver licences that was originally set to end on March 31 has been extended for another two months, which now ends on May 31.
This comes after an announcement earlier this week that the transport ministry was planning to extend the exemption period for road tax and driver licences for a further two months, as a precaution due to the continually high number of Covid-19 cases recorded in states such as Kuala Lumpur and Selangor, transport minster Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong said in the minstry’s statement.
Individuals who have had their road tax or driving licence expire in the initial renewal exemption period of February 1 until March 31 will have a period of 60 days to have their road tax and driving licence renewed, the minister said in the statement. Similarly, individuals whose road tax or driving licence expire in the coming period of April 1 until May 31 must have them renewed in the 60-day period from June 1 until July 31.
As with the initial exemption period for renewals, this most recent exemption period has been given in order to limit crowding in public places and curb the spread of the virus, in line with the government’s ongoing efforts toward breaking the chains of infection, the statement read. However, failure to renew the necessary within the exemption period will still be a punishable offence, it said.
As before, road users are reminded to ensure that their vehicles have insurance cover at all times, and have a copy of the vehicle’s insurance insurance certificate (e-cover note) ready when requested by enforcement personnel.
The transport minister reiterated that the exemption does not apply to owners of commercial vehicles and holders of vocational licences (GDL and PSV), as renewal services for matters related to these road users are listed as essential services.
Syukurla.. saman 50% diskaun & roadtax tangguh.
Tengkiu best gomen perihatin… mantop
Syukur ekzos kena tukar semula, saman kena bayar juga.
Bgs la..wat bingit je ekzos bising..penting diri
Most likely means interstate travel won’t be allowed until then…
May I ask,if there is total loss claim,will the insurance company pay,eventho JPJ give the extention to renew the road tax?
You read your insurance policy in detail.The insurance companies can give a thousand technical reasons,to deny the claim.The insurers can say,we disagree with the menteri’s press conference,then how?
Recently,I ask the JPJ counter..they said “I Tak tahu”,if insurance will pay if color change of the car is not entered into their system,when the car is stolen.
I got the shock of my life,even after the used car company has done Puspakom clearance,when the geran was issued to me,the color change wasn’t effected by JPJ,with Puspakom certification of color change.
Can the menteri provide more details?
Sudah gaharu cendana pula, sudah tahu bertanya pula …U ask the JPJ counter..they said “I Tak tahu”. U should say “I Wanna see your Manager”.. we paid their monthly salary. Malaysians should stop this “Tidak Apa” attitude… Go ask again dude, till you get the right answer.
Who pays them monthly salary? It is the govt, not us that pays them their salary.
We pay tax lor. Tax here tax there. Then gov get income from taxes. They pay salary with these taxes.
The answer is staring right at you if you actually READ the article: road users are reminded to ensure that their vehicles have insurance cover at all times, and have a copy of the vehicle’s insurance insurance certificate (e-cover note) ready.
And your colour change question have been fully answered here: https://paultan.org/2021/03/19/changing-your-cars-colour-now-that-the-geran-does-not-state-colour-do-you-still-need-to-report-it-to-jpj/
Again you ask questions that you failed to see the answer staring at you. Stop asking to be spoonfed. You buat Tak Tahu I pun Tak Tahu but I tahu you should have been saman by JPJ for not declaring a colour change.
Lets see dude,
The JPJ did not effect the color change when the dealer presented the Puspakom cert to them when issuing the geran to the buyer.No one knows whether they key into their system until the buyer goes again to JPJ to verify.
You expect the dealer to punch the JPJ officer?
Now the color change in the new geran..not printed there.It is in their system.Dont just rely on reports.You have to go there to see their inefficiency
dude .. that’s why we need to verify. You should punch the dealer la why he didn’t verify the info printed on the grant. if it’s wrong, he should notify the officer to correct it.
This goes to everything, check and verify.. since when we put 100% trust to car dealer anyway?
I wanted to renew road tax also not possible. One POS office said no more road tax paper, another said jpj system problem… I am wondering this exemption is to please the people or to cover up the mess… Hmmm…
MyEG or Bjak can assist you. Online maaa .. our father at kampung oso know online nowadays ..
Hi just need some advise on the exemption of driving license & roadtax for the month of June & July 21. We will need to renew within the next 60 days, do we need to still pay or its exempted?
My vehicle’s road tax has already expired end Apr’21. I had been to UTC and Post office several times and was turned down due to specific instructions by JPJ during MCO. Looks like little chance to renew in Jun due to continuation lockdown. So I only have Jul’21 to renew my road tax and concerned that there’ll be a large crowd rushing to pay their road tax.