Nationwide MCO from May 12 – max 3 people in cars, taxis, e-hailing; CVs and public transport unaffected

With the Covid-19 situation in the country getting more critical, prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has declared a nationwide movement control order (MCO) from May 12 till June 7, following a national security council (MKN) special meeting today.

Normal MCO rules apply, but what’s new is the three to a vehicle rule. From May 12, only three people can be in a vehicle (private, taxi and e-hailing), including the driver. That means one driver and two passengers max.

For vehicles carrying goods and commercial vehicles, the max amount depends on what’s allowed in the commercial vehicle license. In other words, no change. Also unchanged is the policy for public transport, although social distancing and regular SOPs will continue to apply.

Of course, MCO means that there’s no crossing state or district borders without police permission, but that’s already in place from today, announced by senior minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob on May 8. Exceptions include reasons such as emergencies, health, work, long distance couples and vaccination appointments.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vodka on May 10, 2021 at 7:48 pm

should start PKP3 much earlier…. member2 yang rasa down, murung & sedih xdapat balik kampung. sabarr jela sama2 layan lagu raya Datuk Aliff Syukri … vokal setaraf penyanyi obersi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • YB Albert on May 11, 2021 at 11:07 am

I support whatever measures needed to flatten the curve,make no mistake about that.
      However,on hindsight the biggest mistake is to allow schools and bazaars to operate.Now even visits in small groups to cemeteries is banned.Why? The virus loves crowds.
      If a group of 10-20 at funerals or cemeteries can have infection risk ,why on earth ,they allow a school of 2000 students to open?
      5000 students infected,brought the virus home to infect loved ones,did our Education menteri need rocket science to understand? This is the meaning of the word”INCOMPETENCE”.
      I hope that we can avoid the Indian virus explosion.Even if we escape that,thousands of jobs will be shed in coming months..are we going to see more people beg on the streets? Imagine banks lelong on cars and property on the upswing.

• air katira on May 12, 2021 at 1:03 pm

I support too Govt made the right decision to Darurat. we avoided the India and Brazil virus explosion… lost jobs is okay asalkan we are still alive and kicking.

• Jyougan on May 10, 2021 at 8:14 pm

Which MCO are we now? Is it 3.0 or 4.0? I lost count…

• Easy not to think about. Blanket policy for the whole country minus the perutusan.

• Dr Strange on May 10, 2021 at 9:17 pm

Pergi kerja takpe. Covid tahu siapa yg pergi kerja dan siapa yg balik kampung. Dia akan serang yg balik kampung je

• Believe in karma.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 11, 2021 at 9:27 am

Rakyat Malaysia fully sapot frontliners, fully sapot gomen efforts. Rakyat Malaysia hepi to comply.
    #KitaMestiMenang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Dr Strange on May 11, 2021 at 1:32 pm

Katsini menjerit Rakyat Malaysia fully sapot frontliners. Kat sebelah highway semua Rakyat berlumba2 kepingin nak balik kampung, kovid merata2… nayaaa pak abu sahabat frontliners

• Dr Strange on May 11, 2021 at 3:02 pm

Thanks for all your support. We appreciate it!

• Mr Beh Tha Hann on May 11, 2021 at 10:12 am

Here we go again MCO roller-coaster ride…….up down, up down, etc with our life. Even before recovery from financials, sadness and frustration, depression…then down we go again.

…..businesses and employment surely will take a dip. Again.

On the other hand, COVID cases go up, up and away.

• teh tarik on May 11, 2021 at 11:30 am

Did the US Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation make another prediction that Malaysia would see a record high number of daily cases?

• Hopeless………………..

• Automakar on May 11, 2021 at 3:49 pm

The cure is worse than the disease.

• Uthiaprakash muniandi on May 29, 2021 at 4:09 pm

Can a malaysian travel to singapore as he is been offered a job during mco3.0

• Uthiaprakash muniandi on May 29, 2021 at 4:11 pm

Kalau dapat tawaran kerja kat singapura boleh masuk x time mco 3.0