FMCO: Only jogging, non-contact sports, no cycling

With the implementation full lockdown under the third movement control order 3.0 (MCO) from June 1 to 14, restrictions have been placed not only on work travel but also recreational activities. For now, only jogging and non-contact sports that are done alone is permitted in open areas, while cycling is not allowed.

This is provided the minimum of two to three metres separation distance is adhered to. Such recreational activity is allowed only in the neighbourhood where participants reside, and should be done within the standard operating procedure (SOP) which states there should be no outdoor activities after 8pm.

Senior minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said this in an announcement on the MCO, reported by The Malay Mail. Touching on religious observance, Ismail Sabri said solat activities in mosques and suraus are limited to only 12 committee members and no other activities are allowed, with the same restrictions applying to non-Muslim places of worship.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• B.Gates on May 31, 2021 at 10:46 am

Cofona virus seems to be a strange one. It becomes effective after 8pm and only when you use a bicycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 25
    • klguy on May 31, 2021 at 11:54 am

prob is most cyclist go in large groups like hooligans…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Dr Strange on May 31, 2021 at 11:58 am

Cycling 10km is easy peasy, jogging 10km to and back is not. Virus takes the easiest way to transmit and than meant cycling has higher potential to spread it. Often it is when cooler times like after 8pm when people refuses to wear mask.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Aur Law on May 31, 2021 at 12:12 pm

Minimized enforcement agencies manpower after normal office hour, 8pm ~

• Chin Ah Pong on May 31, 2021 at 1:47 pm

yeah…virus like dogs, like to attack cyclist!

• Logical Deduction on May 31, 2021 at 2:08 pm

Cofona virus = strange and unknown
      Corona virus = not so strange & well known after 2020

• Kim Seng on Jun 02, 2021 at 5:41 am

How about the poor people who has bicycle to buy food? Is it not allowed if he travel alone? The is grey area here needs to confirm.

• Gabriel on May 31, 2021 at 10:48 am

As a cyclist, I agree with this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • Someone on May 31, 2021 at 1:10 pm

As cyclist who only cycling alone. I couldnt understand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • hushinaidi on Jun 02, 2021 at 9:22 am

yes bro, solo rider like us would not be able to brain this

• How do figure? Why is cycling singled out? Its also a non-contact sport. A good one. Is there a cycling cluster out there you can name of? What is the difference between jogging and cycling? Cycling can also be done within your own neighborhood. And what is this “other non-contact” sport left to the judgement of the reader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Stanley on May 31, 2021 at 8:58 pm

You are not discipline, should not implicate others. Cycling not damaging knees as much and not all young good health as you maybe ?

• Eli Hu on May 31, 2021 at 11:53 pm

Let’s just go by science ok? Is there any evidence that solo cycling can transmit the virus? The answer is an overwhelming no! So why ban cycling? Its a valid form of healthy exercise for a lot of us, especially if you are older and can no longer run.

• Dr Strange above made a good argument why jogging is allowed but not cycling. Its the distance travelled

• Personally, I would rather have a full ban on outdoor sports with no exception.

I run, but I notice a lot of idiots still run in groups. Just an opinion (not a scientific finding), but I think running/jogging might possibly have a higher infection risk than cycling because you move slower and in a shorter, shared route (less dispersion of droplets or aerosol), especially if you run in parks with a lot of people.

I do not cycle; but I think we all have seen some cycling groups too.

Try to do your cardio at home. Yes, there is no “high”, but at this moment, way safer.

• As a cyclist, I agree with this too because many kayangan cyclist thinks the world revolves around them and they deserve better.
    Pui~!

• Leech on May 31, 2021 at 11:37 am

Should fact check. SOP released by MKN, dated 25 May 2021, says otherwise.

https://www.mkn.gov.my/web/ms/sop-pkp/

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 02, 2021 at 10:43 am

The May 25 SOP set has since been superseded by a June 1 SOP set, which has specifically removed cycling as a permitted activity during the FMCO.

• Auntie Kiah on May 31, 2021 at 11:43 am

For working reason, can I cycle to my workplace? It’s not that far, like 1.3 km away from my house

• jusknittin on May 31, 2021 at 8:53 pm

I don’t think that counts as a ‘recreational activity’.. however, I think it’s best to get a clarification.. some people might miss out on the ‘recreational’ part in ‘cycling for recreational purpose’ and assume all ‘cycling’ is not allowed.

• As a cyclist, I don’t agree with this.

• Ben Yap on May 31, 2021 at 12:07 pm

so sad that i cannot ride my Cervelo S5.

• Old.cyclist on May 31, 2021 at 12:57 pm

Once upon a time I use to cycle in the back roads of Malaysia…alone. Times have changed.

• Doctors say, KFC fried chicken is bad for your health, don’t eat.

Policy makers and media say, chicken is banned.

Cycling is a mode of exercise only for a small group of T20s. It has been a mode of transport for many decades, and still is.

• Fred K. on May 31, 2021 at 4:39 pm

Solo cyclist?

• I blame this on the idiot cyclist who attempted to cross daerah/negeri and got caught by a drone

• Cycle For Life on Jun 01, 2021 at 1:11 am

On 1/6/21 i am asking my local friendly pondok polis to help clear my Mental Confusion Ordeal as i need to go to local Wet Market 1.2 km away, for my weekly marketing on ‍♂️

Q1) I can drive a car (my car broke down)with 2 others to Wet Market, generate kg of CO2, NOX, CO and unluckily create a COVID cluster, but that’s allowed.

Q2) I can ride a motorcycle to Wet Market, that’s allowed. But my zero carbon bicycle which is a ‘motorcycle without engine’, NOT ALLOWED

Q3) I can walk or jog but i can only carry about 5 kgs in my back pack, so i need to go marketing every other day , more risk to catch COWID

To be safe i jog with my bicycle to market, load up with my usual 20 kg on the rack and walk home OR I wear pyjamas to go to Market?

Help me to #cycleForLIfe

• I fully understand your situation, me too cycling to near by for grocery n I use my bicycle to do my exercise too. Why can’t I ride now?

• brayden on Jun 01, 2021 at 10:21 am

in MKN release, it only stated jogging and non-contacted activity are allowed. Didn’t say Cycling not allowed. btw, cycling is contact or non-contact activity ?? :p

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 02, 2021 at 10:55 am

Aside from dropping the listing of the activity as permissible in its June 1 SOP set, the government has also begun communicating that cycling is not allowed during the two-week period of the FMCO.

• stranger on Jun 01, 2021 at 3:26 pm

cyclist have higher chances of going beyond 10km compared to running-jogging

• hushinaidi abdul hamid on Jun 02, 2021 at 9:30 am

go within 10km la bro, go beyond 10km saja cari pasal lah

• ScreamingB on Jun 01, 2021 at 6:50 pm

Non contact individual exercise.. solo cyclist falls under this category. Can someone provide a source that states no cycling allowed? This may be misinterpretation.

• Bathumana Appan on Jun 01, 2021 at 11:23 pm

Why is individual cycling within the housing estate prohibited? There seems to.be no logic in this decision.

• Andrew C Wells on Jun 02, 2021 at 6:24 pm

Makes no sense with respect to solo cycling. Same as jogging out in the open air. But it does rely on people going solo and not meeting up at some point. Oh well thank goodness for the turbo trainer & Zwift. Better safe than sorry. From my window in quarantine today I saw joggers and walkers around Jalan Pinang it 2’s and 3’s and zero SOP??? Even saw a solo cyclist????

• Augustus Walter CN Jacobs on Jun 03, 2021 at 11:34 am

It is absolutely ridiculously, you can jog, you can ride a motorcycle, you can drive a car, but cycling is prohibited,
    I have been cycling for 10 KM a day for the past 3 years as advised by my doctor, my knees have given up on me at my age of 70 and i have been advised not to jog or brisk walk, now this ridiculous rule barring cycling.
    The authorities should take a relook at this.
    Regards

• Lim Kian on Jun 03, 2021 at 4:53 pm

Please let us know the time we can cycle in the morning. Our local police told me there is no fixed time in the morning for cycling

• Malindo~bodoh nak mampus on Jun 07, 2021 at 6:40 pm

Hahaha

• What is considered to be your neighborhood or residential area? For example, I live in an apartment and want to go jog at the field wishing 1 km down the street.

• Yap Jien Shen on Jun 09, 2021 at 2:07 am

So can we jog at public park?

• chong king tong on Jun 10, 2021 at 2:45 pm

can I do morning jogging in bukit commonwealth. I’m from sri petaling is 1.5km away.

tqvm

• Samchong on Jun 11, 2021 at 7:12 pm

What is different with walking in garden instead tarmac road.ppl still walk in one meter apart.

• Morning Walker on Jun 14, 2021 at 10:46 pm

Is there a restriction on the time to commence our walking outdoors? e.g. only after 7am

• augustus on Jun 18, 2021 at 8:32 am

i go cycling everyday 10 Km. 1 KM 1KM down in my housing estate so 5 times up an down now taboleh pulak tepi dia orang joging boleh lagi close contact dari cy lying apa punya law ini. i tanya polis dia cakap mau itu Miti punya kelulysan kalau mau cycle

• augustus on Jun 18, 2021 at 8:32 am

i go cycling everyday 10 Km. 1 KM 1KM down in my housing estate so 5 times up an down now taboleh pulak tepi dia orang joging boleh lagi close contact dari cy lying apa punya law ini. i tanya polis dia cakap mau itu Miti punya kelulysan kalau mau cycle tada