Perodua sales drop 12% in May due to pandemic and chip shortage, but maintains 240k sales target for 2021

Perodua sold 17,973 units in May 2021, which is 12% lower than the 20,399 cars it sold in April. The market leader cites the impact of the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic and the global semiconductor shortage as reasons. Despite this, the company is maintaining its 240k units sales target for 2021.

Year-to-date sales for the first five months of 2021 is 96,281 units, which is a whopping 82% more than what P2 did in the same period last year. However, YTD May 2020 sales of 52,920 units was severely affected by the first movement control order that was in place from March to May last year.

Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad said that a fairer comparison would be against 2019, when Perodua sold 105,745 units in the first five months – 8.9% higher than this year.

“Despite these challenges and barring further uncertainties moving forward, we believe we will be able to meet our 240,000-unit sales target for 2021 as demand remains strong for all of our models. We thank the government for extending the sales tax exemption to end-2021, which will bolster our strong demand, encourage economic activity and help sustain the Malaysian automotive ecosystem.

“We understand that the measures taken by the government to contain the pandemic are necessary to ensure the people’s health and safety, and we, along with our suppliers and dealers, will cooperate fully with the government to flatten the curve,” he added.

On service centre operation during the current lockdown period, the P2 chief advises customers to contact their nearest service centre directly for the latest info. Perodua manufactured 18,283 units in May, boosting its year-to-date production tally to 98,944 units.

By the way, the 2021 sales target of 240k isn’t just a random number, but it matches Perodua’s all-time sales record of 240,341 units in 2019. We’re close to mid-year now, and sales are nearly 10% behind 2019’s YTD, so second half sales (in a pandemic year) will have to outpace the rate of P2’s record year. Will this be fuelled by a big backlog of orders or new models? If the latter is to play a part, the all-new D27A Alza is expected to launch by end-2021.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Monatorium, tak monatorium.. takpayah pening, beli je P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Already in pening situation due to pandemic and chip shortage.

• Pening have to ownself pay fuelpump replacement because Perodua dont honour recalls.

• Hassn on Jun 09, 2021 at 12:26 pm

240K seems like a massive number until you realize Ford sells more than 3.75x that in F-150s ALONE. Average is 900K F-150s per year.

Of course Malaysian population is minuscule – kudos to Perodua. Though I’d still like a more competitive market – I wonder how many companies will enter the market to give our national makers competition.

• Ex VGM staff on Jun 09, 2021 at 5:19 pm

Malaysia 32 mil.
      USA 250 mil.

Youre saying.

• Casual reader on Jun 10, 2021 at 5:03 pm

USA also have more car model ranges and vastly more brands to choose from. Mr Hassan is only comparing their single car model vs the entire perodua volume sold to make a point how minuscle and unimportant perodua is on the larger scheme of things yet we have hardcore fanboys spoiling everyones day when their fingers starts to move.

• US sold 3.4 mil autos in 2020. At 900k units, that’s only 26% of the total market.

Malaysia sold a total of 500k cars in 2020. at 240k units, that’s 45% of the market.

Did you learn maths in school or do you just voluntarily choose to not use your brain?

• P2 still no.1. But for me, in terms of design and handling, P1 is much better than P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • In terms of profit, Proton and Perodua are the same.

• Bel Jin on Jun 09, 2021 at 5:21 pm

But everytime Proton registers 1 car, perodua registers 2.3 cars.

Design n handling? What a shame.

• In the first five months of 2021, for every car registered by Proton, Perodua will have 1.7 cars.
        Deceive the crowd? What a shame.

• newme on Jun 10, 2021 at 9:27 am

That’s only 1 of many other factors of car ownership that made P2 number one.

1. After sales service

2. PARTS AVAILABILITY

3. Reliability

4. Quality

5. Resale value

6. Knowledgeable service personnel

• Casual reader on Jun 10, 2021 at 4:59 pm

If all those were all important, Volvo would be No1 brand here yeah

• Axxx on Jun 04, 2021 at 3:55 pm
    Predict
    Perodua sold 17,300 units in May
    Toyota sold 7,800 units
    Honda sold 4,800 units

Very close to my prediction.

• Perodua is now merely 1.8x sales of Proton with majority their cars sold at lower profit margins. Stunning recovery from Proton while Perodua are dreading their imminent fall. It appears their new Ativa wasn’t so hot after all. They were quite vocal on Ativa bookings early on but today are very quiet on the latest figures.

• Ibnu bakrin on Jun 09, 2021 at 10:38 pm

Come on Perodua, after Rush, why don’t you rebadge Corolla Cross and sell it between RM 80k ~ 95K, for sure Proton X50 & X70 sales will drop… Hayaku!

If you rebadge the expensive Corolla Altis & RAV4, you can beat Honda brand too.

Easy to say, just take over Toyota!

• Ibnu bakrin on Jun 09, 2021 at 10:43 pm

And if you are too greedy, go rebadge and take over the premium Toyota brand which is Lexus… go beyond, accept this challenge!

• Everyman on Jun 10, 2021 at 7:59 am

The global semiconductor shortage actually directly affects mainly the production at the factory, instead of the sales to the consumer. The sudden increase in the consumer demand is the cause of the shortage in the first place.

• Razak on Jun 10, 2021 at 11:44 pm

May I know how long do I have to wait for my Ativa H