Affordable EVs in Malaysia – how cheap can electric cars be priced with zero import, excise and road tax?

Prospective electric vehicle owners, this is the moment you’ve been waiting for. Finance minister Tengku Zafrul Aziz announced during his Budget 2022 speech that the government is proposing to eliminate all taxes on EVs in Malaysia, including import and excise duties as well as road tax.

This is huge news, which will surely bring out the keyboard warriors saying, “Yes lah, I can buy a cheap EV soon!” But how cheap can these electric cars actually be? Let’s take a look at the prices of all the EVs on sale in Malaysia (there aren’t that many) and what their possible duty-free prices could be.

As you know, there’s one place in Malaysia where you can already buy cars sans import and excise duties, and that is Langkawi (well, Labuan too, but the island has the disadvantage of having to pay extra for transportion costs to East Malaysia). Of all the companies that sell EVs officially in Malaysia, only BMW and MINI openly publish their Langkawi prices, labelled as “duty free”.

Against their Peninsular prices, the cars are cheaper by around 15% for the recently-launched BMW iX3, 20% for the MINI Cooper SE and a full 25% for the more expensive BMW iX. We have no idea why the price difference varies so much between these three vehicles, but since those are all the numbers we have to work with, we’ll take the average, which is 20%.

We will now use this figure to calculate how much cheaper EVs could be priced in Malaysia with all taxes and duties removed. Let’s go.

Nissan Leaf – RM181,263 (estimated duty-free price RM145k)

The Nissan Leaf was one of the first electric vehicles to be introduced in Malaysia, making its debut as far back as 2013. The latest second-generation model was introduced in 2019 and is currently the cheapest EV on sale, priced at RM181,263.

A 20% reduction would put the car at around RM145,000, which is more attractive but still a little high for a car that has a a useable range only slightly above 200 km.

BMW iX3 – from RM317,360 (Langkawi price from RM270,360)

The BMW iX3 is Munich’s entry-level electric vehicle, based on the regular X3 SUV. While it’s not quite as “affordable” as the MINI Cooper SE, it is much more useable, with a more powerful 286 PS electric motor and a WLTP-rated range of 453 km.

The RM317,360 starting price is already a bargain, but slashing it to RM270,360 would make it the cheapest X3 variant on sale, comfortably undercutting the petrol sDrive20i.

BMW iX – from RM419,630 (Langkawi price from RM313,630)

This will probably be the one that grabs all the attention – the X5-sized iX, BMW’s flagship EV, could be priced as low as RM313,630 if the Langkawi pricing is any indication.

That’s a significant saving of more than RM100,000 over the original RM419,630 starting price and actually undercuts the duty-paid pricing of the iX3. You do get less power and range, however, with 258 PS and 425 km at your disposal.

MINI Cooper SE – RM213,460 (Langkawi price RM168,790)

Those of you who enjoy the style and driving experience of a MINI but want a guilt-free, zero-emission experience can look to the MINI Cooper SE, which is priced at RM213,460 in Peninsular Malaysia but only RM168,790 in Langkawi.

It has a zippy 184 PS electric motor but has even less range than the Leaf, doing just 232 km on a single charge – and that’s on the WLTP cycle.

Porsche Taycan – from RM584,561 (estimated duty-free price from RM468k)

Want something with a little more panache? The Porsche Taycan could be yours from just RM468k if we subtract our 20% from the current RM584,561 starting price. That’s for the base 326 PS rear-wheel-drive model with the smallest 79.2 kW battery providing a range of 431 km.

You can get much more power and range (up to 625 PS and 484 km) if you want, plus a quasi-SUV wagon, but those things will cost you. A lot.

Hyundai Kona Electric – RM160k?

Although the Hyundai Kona Electric has yet to be launched in Malaysia, Hyundai-Sime Darby Motor (HSDM) has already teased the electric SUV, so a launch is imminent.

Since we know a used model is being sold at RM180k, we can safely assume a new one will be priced around the RM200k mark. At 20% less, that brings it down to a possible RM160k.

Tesla – from RM271k?

While Tesla is not officially available in Malaysia, parallel importer Vision Motor Sports does bring in some grey-market units and has a local price list. Assuming that the duty free conditions will be applicable to such importers as well, we can extrapolate the possible Tesla prices too.

The company currently brings in the base Model 3 starting from RM339,000 for the Standard+ model, so a 20% drop will put it at around RM271,000. The discount would also drop the Model S from RM749,000 for the Long Range to around RM599,000 and a Model X from RM899,000 to around RM719,000. Under RM300,000 for the best-known badge in all of electric motordom? Sounds like a steal to us.

Honda e – RM168k?

We recently also reported about the Honda e that was brought in by Weststar, retailing at RM210,000. At a possible 20% less, that would put the adorable little tyke at around RM168,000. It has cutesy good looks and a lounge-like cabin, but it only has a range of around 220 km, so it’s not exactly practical.

So clearly, cheaper doesn’t actually translate to cheap. Sorry to burst your bubble. That’s just the way it is, unfortunately. EVs are generally more expensive than ICE cars, all over the world.

Still, now that EVs will soon be more accessible, plus the fact that this development will surely mean that more and more car companies will look into introducing their EVs here, giving us more to choose from, will you be looking to buy an electric car soon?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Edmond on Oct 29, 2021 at 7:57 pm

Nice! Mini Cooper in my bucket list!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Jom Global on Oct 29, 2021 at 8:10 pm

Interested to see Nio EV, BYD EV, Xpeng EV, Aion EV and Greatwall Ora EV here.

https://paultan.org/2021/07/19/2021-xpeng-p5-tesla-model-3-rival-priced-fr-rm104k-in-china-to-lure-thousands-as-competition-heats-up/

Xpeng p5, the powerbank car with Cinematic, Gaming Lounge Studio with Fridge.
    Freedome post-covid19.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • Adding to the list is Zeekr 001..

• donno on Oct 30, 2021 at 9:18 am

waiting to see how is the proton and perodua reaction to this news.

will there be a full EV in proton and perodua range in the near future?

• I hope government give incentive to P1 and P2 to produce ev

• the driver on Oct 29, 2021 at 8:19 pm

Grab it while you can, because shortly after, the ‘no money’ government will impose the same old maximum duties – it needs the duties for revenue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
    • NEVer on Oct 30, 2021 at 5:05 pm

Make sure you are rich enough to afford the depreciation of the EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Following footsteps like Hertz and Uber, who combined ordered 150,000 units of Tesla this week, expected to be completely delivered by 2023.

Maybe Socar should book at least 10,000 units of Tax-Free EV.
    To replace Renault Zoe EV and gives an good expansion.

Socar EV, can be better.

• CarBuyer on Oct 30, 2021 at 2:49 pm

In case you were not aware, in many countries, supplying car rental companies is a great way to sell a model later on as barely-used-and-discounted. That’s why if you rent a car overseas, it’s seldom more than a year old. This helps sales/registration volumes, and offers discounts to buyers without the manufacturer losing face. And car rental companies benefit too, of course, with a continuous supply of new. virtually maintenance-free cars for a year.

• NEVer on Oct 30, 2021 at 5:03 pm

Recently bankrupt Hertz can buy 100,000 Tesla…only Elon can do mad deals like this.

• Bald armpit on Nov 28, 2021 at 8:26 pm

Are you sure?elon from a bit rich family aka miner business in africa but he’s broke,he do partnership with ponzi scheme doge coin(collect people cash then sell selfmade money digit) to recover his luxury house financial after repossession by bank,he target rocket for advertise tesla on aerospace,american businessman and billionaire really hate elon because trump and government use taxpayer money usd1000 billion to support him.and of course corrupt politicians trump fellow or supporters being instant millionaires and billionaires too,as you can see internet ban trump from any social media post

• Fundraising on Oct 29, 2021 at 8:22 pm

Can we get EV cars for less than RM100K?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Probably in the near future

• NEVer on Oct 30, 2021 at 5:07 pm

Batteries are still very expensive. Maybe if the gov allows more Lynas mines all over Malaysia, batteries can be cheaper.

• never say never on Oct 30, 2021 at 6:34 pm

Their mines are in Australia. In Malaysia, it’s their processing plant.

• Australean Revolution on Nov 01, 2021 at 11:11 am

Oz is truly world famous producer of high pollution fossil fuel (coal), toxic radioactive minerals, annual bush fires.

• Jonathan Khan on Oct 29, 2021 at 8:38 pm

BMW IX xd50 – 85000usd, RM352k
    Malaysia BMW IX xd40 RM312k.

It’s comparable to USA price when it’s Tax Free.
    The same goes for Mini Cooper SE.

All these also CBU Germany, UK.

Now, I think Tesla3 can sell here USD40k/RM186k or AUD70k/RM220k RHD, if this is relevant?
    To compare, a Aussie Tesla Model3 is still cheaper than Aussie Benz GLC while both are subjected to taxing. With very little rebate for the EV.

Reasonably Tesla Model3 can start RM200k @ Malaysia.
    The 3rd party AP price with 20% reduction is not very comparable. Recon AP markup usually very high, alot negotiation chances.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • It’s confirmed BMW Malaysia will be introducing the fully electric i4 soon.

BMW i4 eDrive40 estimated to be around RM200k price range (Figure based on BMW iX3 and BMW iX Langkawi price.)

EVs with all taxes and duties removed, really attractive price.

• Only for the rich benefit. Tesla, Taycan, BMW, Merc, Jaguar fPace so on so fourth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
    • nardo on Oct 30, 2021 at 8:25 am

The nationwide EV charging infrastructure is still mostly in the planning stage & requires a huge initial investment. If it turns out that the average Malaysian still can’t afford a tax free, duty free, excise free EV, the charging infrastructure investors may not be able to see any returns for a long time.

• Contradiction on Oct 30, 2021 at 3:48 pm

Funny.
      When Malaysia have no EV policy, these people bash us being slower than other nations.
      When Malaysia does have EV policy, these people bash us for making the riches just get more richer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • NEVer on Oct 30, 2021 at 5:09 pm

Yep, EV plan is a cruel joke for the average person. Very expensive to buy and very inconvenient to use. EV cars is a rich persons toy to virtue signal their green credentials.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Casual reader on Oct 31, 2021 at 9:32 am

So your saying better not to have an ev policy at all

• The poor still got axia mah!

• Unfortunately This is Our Country, for other countries Government Pushing hard for EV so their Citizens can live a cleaner life, Even for Solar projects, now the general public is paying for it, not the government as promised in the Tokyo Agreement. Look at the Electricity bills, there is a Tax of 1.6% on your bill to pay for green energy support.

• george on Oct 29, 2021 at 9:01 pm

Langkawi car price still subject to excise duty albeit ower. 100% duty free mean another 5-10% less than current Langkawi price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • peter wong on Oct 29, 2021 at 9:44 pm

Before straight away jump into the bandwagon, why not try in hybrid first as malaysia is still lack of quick charging station.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • HydridEVguy on Oct 30, 2021 at 10:28 am

Yes. Agree with you.

• digidigi on Oct 30, 2021 at 11:51 am

Hybrid wasting time, complicated architectural , very problematic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • NEVer on Oct 30, 2021 at 5:13 pm

We already tried many types of hybrids and they have been failures. Remember the Audi hybrid? Main reason is the battery cannot last long and charging systems always have problem. You will face the same problems with the full EV cars.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 29, 2021 at 10:28 pm

hopefully xpeng, nio and tesla will officially come here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Cuckoo bird on Oct 29, 2021 at 10:28 pm

Geometry kungfu cow —> proton E50 for RM 60-70k

• The petrol version Geely Vision X3 1.5NA CVT
      Full spec price 68,900yuan, 2x the rated mileage.
      RM45k.

• Alihms on Oct 29, 2021 at 10:34 pm

I’ve been holding my new car purchase. Part of the reason – waiting if a decent and more affordable EV car comes along. My budget is around RM200K. If these prices are true, I am making the jump to EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • That will be great. I am waiting in the line, but waiting for your used EV. My budget is 20k MYR.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 8
  • Meer Farooq on Oct 29, 2021 at 11:06 pm

It its truly duty free, price of Tesla should same as the website price. Approximately RM219950.00 for the Model 3 performance.

• Helllhole on Oct 30, 2021 at 12:49 am

Tesla is not interested in Malaysia yet. Cannot even meet US demand

• I suppose we have to factor in over the sea delivery. With the removal of tax and once the Berlin factory opens it may make sense for Tesla to start selling in Malaysia

• Same old thing. Last time was hybrid. Now EV. When this perk stops, the only thing that adds up is unwanted used EVs, like what the hybrid is now. At the end, no benefit to local industry, only toys for the rich. Even the indon outsmart us. They think big about EV. Not just mere tax cut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • lilytan on Oct 30, 2021 at 7:27 pm

Assmin and his half cook goodies. If the best thing from miti for auto industry is tax cut, then better close factory and just import.

• Hmm, plan to get S60 next year. But if the iX can get below RM300k, get me confius. Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Tax exemption for EV car must be continuous for few years…as Malaysia lag of charging station…

• NEVer on Oct 30, 2021 at 5:16 pm

Why must ordinary citizens support the lifestyle of the rich and wealthy? Tax exemption for rich people’s cars is just stealing from the poor rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Steinar on Oct 30, 2021 at 12:59 am

In Norway, with no taxes for Evs, Tesla 3 costs 349k nok, which is 171K myr. So wouldn’t the same be expected if no taxes in Malaysia? Also closer to the factory in China.

• KYspeaks on Oct 30, 2021 at 6:04 pm

Should be there about but there’s no distribution chain in Malaysia just yet so expect it to be a bit more.

• Shady AP Seller on Oct 30, 2021 at 1:18 am

AP Price Increased 100% because why not.

• Jimho on Oct 30, 2021 at 2:38 am

I’ll definitely buy a EV if there’s one model that caters to the budget minded group. I seriously doubt there’ll be one at RM35k – RM50k range. I can only dream on & stick with my ’19 Axia.

• Can we consider Toyota Mirai as well?

• hafiz on Oct 30, 2021 at 7:18 am

Many peoples thinks tax free only benefit rich people. Yeah, only short term. Long term when EV demand gained traction more car manufacturers will invest to bring more affordable model to target more people group, as long government consistent their EV’s policy. When the time is come, maybe Geely will bring their affordable EV through Proton? Who know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • NEVer on Oct 30, 2021 at 5:20 pm

Long term is what? 50 years? 100 years?
      So need to sponsor rich peoples lifestyle for that long?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Mustaffa on Oct 30, 2021 at 7:33 am

I thought cheap means less than rm50k

• There really is no ev under 50k for the moment unless a Chinese manufacturers import their car to Malaysia

• Lye KY on Oct 30, 2021 at 7:40 am

Chine mini EV in China selling at RMB 28k, convert to Malaysia ringgit is only RM18k…. I want one….

• Jeffrey yap on Oct 30, 2021 at 8:11 am

There are so many electric cars and bikes from China. If only the government can allow electric bikes on the road, the pollution will be greatly reduced.

• Electric mopeds are proven to be hazard to pedestrians whatmore those riders that ignore traffic crossings & redlights

• Tee For on Oct 30, 2021 at 8:48 am

Polestar 2 please….

• Bakar Sade on Oct 30, 2021 at 8:54 am

Have been in the market for EV this year. Very tempting reading about other countries EV markets especially China. But still cant shorlist any on our shore. Budget below 100k.

• Colin Goon on Oct 30, 2021 at 9:39 am

Jumpstart the whole initiative with Hybrid first. Remove all the taxes and roadtax etc like EV. Encourgage car foreign car manufacturers to bring in sub RM100K for a start. Both Proton & P2 should lead this iniative to go green targetting sub RM70K budget. Else it’s all pooh pooh only…

• VIGNESH on Oct 30, 2021 at 10:04 am

Keep updating, because, being a flip flop policy, things can change in the drop of a hat. I am definitely interested if its below 200K

• Anyone did the calculation how much electricity cost per charge for these EV. Also, since our gas comes mostly from coal, wouldn’t using EV just mean we are powering up the car with coal instead of petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Bieight8 on Oct 30, 2021 at 12:17 pm

So those koenigsegg, rimac, pininfarina and lotus EV HyperCars will be cheap too???

• Prices still on the very high side for most Malaysians, but cheap for the datuk, n datuk Seri.

• CHINA Hongquang 30k on Oct 30, 2021 at 1:43 pm

Why China ev top seller not here?

• MneGreen on Oct 30, 2021 at 2:20 pm

It’s confirmed BMW Malaysia will be introducing the fully electric i4 soon.

BMW i4 eDrive40 estimated to be around RM200k price range (Figure based on BMW iX3 and BMW iX Langkawi price.)

EVs with all taxes and duties removed, really attractive price tag.

• Hyndai iqonic6 and kona ev, and kia EV6

• Alvin on Oct 31, 2021 at 7:29 am

I would like to see how much does KIA EV6 cost.
      I’m eying on it.
      Any idea of the price?

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 30, 2021 at 3:53 pm

They just subsiding your battery cost for when u need to change it later down the road

• Asyraf on Oct 30, 2021 at 4:10 pm

Wish one day there will be an EV with price like Saga/Bezza/Axia or at least like Myvii/Persona/Iriz.. It will be much more affordable to most people..

• Nat Ryder on Oct 30, 2021 at 4:34 pm

You have to be really stupid to buy those cars that you mentioned, even Norwegians know that you can get cars which perform much better and cost less from China.

• Pretty sure some well-connected person’s mistress demands a TESLA. Thus such temporary with no real direction policy is borne.

• Joe Fernandez on Oct 30, 2021 at 5:13 pm

EVs are very cheap in India and China since they have only 20 moving parts. ICE has 3K moving parts.

• It takes less cost to produce 1000x screws & nuts than a single battery cell. Nope. Cost of making ICE cars are very cost efficient compared to EV as ICE is a 100 year old matured technology unlike EV. EV car in China is cheaper because they are artificially subsidised.

• So sub RM40k Axia stil have excise duty, road tax but Taycan nil. Keluarga Malaysia.

• Good point!! What the gov probably should do is to segregate “luxury” and “non-luxury” EVs whereby the luxury ones would have to be taxed too while the latter can be zero tax.

• Where is xc40 recharge?

• Selma on Oct 30, 2021 at 9:22 pm

I wonder when will they bring Nvidia zero driver car

• EV not allowed on Oct 30, 2021 at 9:28 pm

I’m afraid electric cars may not be allowed in Malaysia because if you buy an EV you will become Electric Car men and that means you are driving Electra Carmen

• Timah on Nov 23, 2021 at 8:59 pm

Better to be driving her than drinking kak Timah, just don’t do both at the same time

• malaysia car tax must go on Oct 31, 2021 at 12:28 am

when you guys say the rich, please refer to the politicians making millions from their positions. RICH is not a crime, some people work very hard to get where they are. If you are mad, please be mad at the right places.

• the only cheap ev come from china. lets wait china car come & conquer boleh land

• terry on Oct 31, 2021 at 10:02 am

set my eyes,soul to non other than the highly anticipated three wheeler #aptera from usd25k upwards with higher end mileage 0f 1000 miles #teslakiller #solarpower

• Jimho on Oct 31, 2021 at 4:57 pm

Wow! M’sia Govt is so caring, gearing towards a high tech society, environmental conscious..+ all the jazz. Wow! I’m going to vote for PN & the flying car. M’sia boleh! But they’ve said that for decades – increasingly so when election is near. M’sia is still backward in all areas except the Timah ‘drink’ achievement . Keep the name. Indonesia is way ahead of our govt – mentally, in honesty + achievement. We’ve gone very backward. Jokowi pls help!

• Hoy Sum on Oct 31, 2021 at 6:53 pm

Malaysia also another ” kiasu” state and worst lacked intelligent people to guide the country. Promoting EV in our country??? Where did our country electricity coming from? Nuclear Power? Our country still uses fossil fuels to generate electricity and worst is the coal powered generators. It is a zero sum game and worse is generating electricity and transmission to your house involved a lot of wastages in the form of heat and losses. It would be cheaper and environmental friendly a litre fuel is fed into your small perodua car that is far higher efficiency than our local electricity power plant. I doubt you get the same power if you feed to our local electricity power station. In the US, France, Japan and those with nuclear power plant is understood to promote EV as the generated energy is abundance and cheap . The energy can be stored in the car battery system. Bare in mind Malaysia is a hot and humid country. We need Aircon in our cars. I trust 40 percent of the energy stored in the car is for the Aircon. Worst if one get caught in the jam for hours. With Aircon operating, your EV car will need to be towed upon battery exhaustion.

I would rather have Malaysia to start with fuel efficient cars like attrage, perodua…The next logical step is to promote hybrid cars. We would only consider EV if Malaysia adopt nuclear in electric power generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Jimho on Nov 01, 2021 at 5:42 am

We degraded the govt & we got demoted way down here.Lol. At least we get to meet. Hello Hoy! Paultan is still the best motor site anyway.

• John Doe on Nov 01, 2021 at 8:32 am

A good country for your mindset is Nigeria.

• Try harder on Nov 02, 2021 at 6:38 pm

Please do something about your English grammar.

On another note, The thing is, this govt has already lost billions by not having an EV policy. This half hearted attempt to save face is reflective of their total incompetence and buffoonery. Unbelievable, a new low is set everyday. God save Malaysia.

• AlmightySnackBar on Nov 01, 2021 at 3:26 pm

What’s the use of this policy if we do not even have sufficient electrical charge point around Klang Valley nvm Malaysia. Imagine driving all the way to Penang and your car is dead halfway due to lack of power. Hahaha.. Hidup Kesultanan PAS!

• ev_future on Nov 01, 2021 at 5:58 pm

Support this new policy, hope it will attract foreign investors to build EV related factories here in Malaysia and create new high tech jobs

• Shaun on Nov 01, 2021 at 10:26 pm

We can’t talk about having EV cars in the country yet without having the neccesary infrastructures available across the country yet like accessable charging port stations. My personal opinion

• What about EVs from China? I heard that they are quite good.

• Bobby on Nov 28, 2021 at 7:21 pm

As malaysian whoever can afford over 100k car they have no problem about petrol cost,unless they’re government body employees that less 5k income then do max loan 9yrs installment,most rich people just smile spend 50%deposit paid+2-3years installment only,EV failed in malaysia due to boring cheap car model from oversea price similar to luxury german petrol car,nobody would buy used dying battery that made for dispose like remote tv battery

• DR SHAHUL HAMEED Mohamed Ibrahim on Jan 02, 2022 at 2:53 pm

Still too expensive for malaysians. Not enough charging infrastructure. Encourage hybrids. Why no hybrids from proton and perodua? Cant you get hyundai or honda to produce locally? Get petronas to set p charging network throught the country. Can convert 1 pump in each station to elelectric charging