Setel Share launched in Malaysia – share your e-wallet with your loved ones, earn Mesra points together

Petronas has announced a new feature for its Setel e-payment solution called Setel Share, which allows users to pay for their loved ones’ fuel securely at stations nationwide. To gain access, you’ll need to have version 1.84 of the Setel app on your iOS (via the Apple Store) or Android device (via the Google Play Store or Huawei AppGallery).

Before creating a Setel Share group, users will first need to upgrade their Setel e-wallet to have a higher maximum balance and single transaction limit. After doing so, they can add two other members to pay from the same e-wallet, with the owner of the group being able to safely track and monitor refuelling expenses made by group members.

The feature also makes it easier to earn Mesra points with one account, as there’s no need to pass a physical card around, particularly among family members. Additionally, for security reasons, the Setel Share group owner can set or remove members at any time and will receive real-time notifications for any transaction made via the e-wallet.

“We ran a survey with thousands of Setel users and 71% of them are already paying for fuel for their family members and friends today. With Setel Share, we want to help our customers extend a safer refuelling experience with minimised contact to their loved ones, without them having to top up on their own. Together, we can work towards supporting our nation’s recovery efforts to move into the endemic phase,” said Mazlin Erawati Ab Manan, CEO of Setel.

Existing users can invite family and friends who are not yet on Setel to enjoy Setel Share features and earn additional rewards in the process through the latest Setel Refer-a-Friend Challenge. From now until December 31, 2021, users can unlock special badges to earn even more rewards and bonus credit of up to RM50,000 upon successful referrals.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Stan Tan on Dec 07, 2021 at 4:29 pm

Finally, waiting so long for this

• Moving forward on Dec 09, 2021 at 12:17 am

Other branded petrol station just watch in envy of these advance app made by Petronas. When are u going to settle liao ?