Safer traffic protocol needed for VVIP escorts: Yii

In light of an accident involving two vehicles at an intersection in Kuching, Sarawak, Bandar Kuching MP Kelvin Yii has called on the police to devise a clearer and safer traffic protocol when escorting diginitaries, or VVIPs and their entourage, Borneo Post reported.

“The traffic police on duty should have done a better job of controlling the traffic to ensure safety, and more importantly to directly tend to the safety of the accident victims first before even allowing the VVIP entourage to continue passing,” Yii said.

“We are fortunate that only two vehicles were involved in the accident and nobody was seriously injured. It also happened during non-peak hours, if not, it may have been worse or [could have] caused even more traffic congestion,” the Bandar Kuching MP added.

Yii said that the least the VVIP could have done was to have his protocol personnel check on the situation, acquire the necessary information, show concern to those involved and then “get it sorted”. From footage of the incident in Kuching by a member of the public published to Twitter, the entourage involved carried on through the junction without stopping.

In view of this incident, the standard operating procedures and protocol for VVIP escorts must be reviewed and reformed, Yii continued. “This is also in view of recent incidents where an ambulance was even made to give way to those VVIP escorts, even though it risked endangering the lives of those in the ambulance,” he said.

The Bandar Kuching MP also called on the authorities to remove the “dangerous small junction” at Jalan Lapangan Terbang, which does not allow sufficient space for approaching vehicles to slow down for traffic using that exit, he said. “Safety and security of all must be prioritised, and they should not allow such shortcuts that will endanger the public at large,” he added.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ya Mentri on Feb 07, 2022 at 11:23 am

inb4 the brickbats against mentris, do pay attention the VVIP car in question is mounted with a yellow flag so you all know who is it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • Mudah Lupa on Feb 07, 2022 at 11:50 am

inb4 news 2013: Beri laluan kepada VIP

• Logical Deduction on Feb 07, 2022 at 5:58 pm

Just being double V, beri laluan is not an option but a given necessity.

• Brian on Feb 08, 2022 at 11:53 am

PDRM should have planned the route earlier so that they can place their men in advance at key locations where there’s a possibility of accidents. Then other roadusers will have some heads up in advance that a VIP convoy is going to pass through so that PDRM officers won’t have to resort to suddenly trying to stop moving vehicles without fair warning.

• Logical Deduction on Feb 08, 2022 at 3:13 pm

PDRM cannot be closing down roads and inconvenience other roadusers just for one VVIP. A convoy is the best way to ensure safety and not bothering other users. Please check your brain before comment.

• Brian on Feb 09, 2022 at 10:49 am

@LD.. In other words, it’s OK for you that other road users can be inconvenienced by accidents or near misses as long as the VVIP convoy can safely pass through.. Please check your brain & logic before commenting..

• Safety First on Feb 07, 2022 at 12:43 pm

A much much bigger yellow flag should be used and everyone in the convoy should be waving one.

• Logical Deduction on Feb 07, 2022 at 3:09 pm

Hmmmm…. The only one that waves big yellow flags are lion dancers and while it is still in season right now, some might question the VVIP is a year round lion dancer if waving it the whole time?

• Brian on Feb 08, 2022 at 11:47 am

Video doesn’t show lion dancers with yellow flags. Please check your eyesight.

• Logical Deduction on Feb 08, 2022 at 3:11 pm

Video also doesn’t show a big yellow flag. Please check your eyesight.

• Brian on Feb 09, 2022 at 10:41 am

@LD.. It wasn’t me who simply said or agreed that there was such a big yellow flag.. Please check your logic..

• Mr. Sotong on Feb 07, 2022 at 11:30 am

While improvements are being studied, the government must be held liable for all injuries and damages caused by those escorts. No 2 ways about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Abandoned Fate on Feb 07, 2022 at 12:19 pm

I have totally lost respect for traffic pulis/JSPT. First block ambulance from going to hospt and now this. Shows that VVIP more important than ordinary rakyat. Shame on you didn’t even bother to stop!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • When VVIP carries a yellow flag, yes they do matter more than ordinary rakyat, much like how nation state leaders travel around even within their country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • There are so many simple things that the authorities can do to improve safety of roads. Repaint faded lines and kerb sides. Clear plants obscuring road signs and view of oncoming traffic at junctions. Survey and redesign dangerous stretches and junctions. Make it easier and safer to report traffic violations to the authorities by providing a website where photos and videos can be submitted anonymously. Make sure junctions and approaches to them are well lighted. Many roads are left in poor condition and contribute to mishaps. Let’s do these to see results.

• newuser on Feb 07, 2022 at 1:19 pm

method of stopping vehicle is very sudden…they should plan 5 minutes earlier…extra careful has to be taken considering road traffic condition. pity to kelisa owner…some people have different anxiety level even they not guilty people when meeting police traffic on the road…

• The escorts should be just for the VVIP safety, not stopping traffic & clearing road for them.

• Ahmad Zubair Anis Ahmad on Feb 07, 2022 at 2:09 pm

Moronic VVIP couldn’t care less about us general public. The VVIP didn’t even stop to show any concern. I want this privilege to be revoked. They don’t deserve it.

• Ben Yap on Feb 07, 2022 at 2:20 pm

VVIPs and their entourage with police escort should be banned. they should learn to manage their time and get stuck in traffic jams just like all of us.

• KJ Lim on Feb 07, 2022 at 8:08 pm

Why is such a high speed road intersection running without a flyover or at least a traffic light? One way or another, the escort pays very little respect to the traffic on the road. While your time is precious, ours too.

• Stupid traffic police caused an accident and I was one of the victim. Police cars escorting an VIP came out from from left junction to the Elite highway, headed to fast lane without any delay and cause all the cars has to brake to stop. Who will expect fast lane cars will stop? I managed to stop but Bezza behind me (wira kncoked him from back too) and pushed me to knock the pick up truck in front. I did not see anything as pick up truck blocked me. The driver told me what happened after that.

Guess what happened? Police cars just continue to drive away!!!!! What an axxhxxx!

• Angry Voters on Feb 08, 2022 at 10:31 am

Aisey, langgar sikit2 aje.. Asalkan tak langgar keta VIP sudah la..