Geely Binrui Cool revealed for China – new sporty sedan with 181 PS and 7DCT; priced from RM53k

Geely has revealed the new Binrui Cool, which is a sporty-looking sedan built on the carmaker’s B-Segment Modular Architecture (BMA) platform also used by its more conservative sibling, the Binrui. Reportedly set to go on sale in China in the second quarter of this year, the Binrui Cool is aimed at a more youthful and fashionable audience, with starting price of around 79,800 yuan (RM52,776).

The design philosophy for the new model is called “Racing Storm,” and as you can see, Geely was aiming for maximum aggression. At the front, the convoluted bumper has no shortage of slats and faux vents that emphasise the vehicle’s width, accompanied by a bonnet that bears five prominent creases.

Meanwhile, the slim upper grille is flanked by sharp headlamps that have a triple-dash daytime running light signature like the latest Emgrand. You’ll also notice the grille has an “F” badge on it, and that’s because the Binrui Cool is a sportier version of the Binrui F Sport, according to CarNewsChina.

Along the sides is where the resemblance to the Binrui, with notable cues being the swooping roofline crease lines over the front wheels and through the door handles leading to the rear taillights. Brightly painted brake calipers and finned side skirts are another reminder that this is the cooler Binrui, as do the 17-inch black wheels in a dual-star spoke pattern.

To complement the striking front end, the rear gets a big spoiler, while further down, there are corner outlets and dual oval-shaped exhausts that sandwich a diffuser-like element. Unlike the normal Binrui, the Cool’s taillights have been reshaped and come with a dual-bar lighting signature the is bridged by a trim piece with the Geely script.

However, the interior of the Binrui Cool is unique from its less sporty sibling with a simple horizontal dashboard headlined by a 10.25-inch digital instrument cluster and a massive 12.3-inch infotainment touchscreen. The cabin is designed to be driver-focused, as evident by the higher border on the centre console on the passenger side, while all the controls are placed for easy reach by the driver.

Sports seats and more defined grip areas on the steering wheel are reminder of this, while the “F” logos near the door handles and gear lever hint at the step up from the Binrui F Sport. A mix of black polyurethane, leather and faux suede materials are also used, with orange contrast stitching on certain surfaces.

As for power, the Binrui Cool features a 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 181 PS (178 hp or 133 kW). This is more powerful than the regular Binrui’s 1.4 litre unit – 141 PS (139 hp or 104 kW) and 235 Nm – and it drives the front wheels through a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Trumputin on Mar 14, 2022 at 12:37 pm

Dr.LI…we fanboys would like to have geely”s right handed version of Binrui.
    Not every car enthusiast want a SUV.
    If you price it less than RM65K, it will provide a wake up call for Honda City and Vios .
    At 178 HP,this car will outsmoke all the current “bising Myvi’s”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • Just Saiyan on Mar 14, 2022 at 4:18 pm

If wanna convert left hand side drive to right, plz convert the signal stalk to right side too. Asian car signal stalk usually on the right side like all the japanese cars around. U see japanese car that exports to western countries, they made to drive on the left side, including the signal stalk also they convert to left side for western standard. Japanese move are right. While we here like proton, drive on right side but signal stalk on left side.
      Especially like manual saga, driver on right side and signal stalk or left side is totally wrong already, left hand meant to control gear while right hand to control stering and signal stalk, thats the right way like the old time.
      Signal stalk on left side only for western because their driver side is left side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
      • Why bother complain when you have both arms? on Mar 14, 2022 at 8:57 pm

Perhaps you can grow a third hand to use the signal. Or use voice activated signal in the future advanced cars.

• Contradiction on Mar 15, 2022 at 12:07 pm

If right hand to control steering and signal, then which hand is control the steering wheel when signaling?

• Just use ur finger just to push for signalling in quick second.

• Come here as next generation Gen2 or Preve, priced at <RM70k.

• RM80k - RM110k territory on Mar 14, 2022 at 10:02 pm

Remember Bin Yue (X50) in China starting from RM49k and here (Malaysia) start at RM80k? So do your maths…

• haziq on Jun 05, 2022 at 1:43 pm

i guess the binrui cool price range in malaysia will be around 79-90k

• Raja Celup on Mar 14, 2022 at 6:50 pm

Surely sold as new Proton Iswara 2022 left-hand drive for Phillipines market. Jgn malu2 change logo only ya! :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • PlainBS on Mar 15, 2022 at 12:03 am

Kalau nak masok Pinoy LHD market, toksah nak rebadge, P2 pun xde kat Pinoy jugak.

• Even the new Civic Fe will be shocked.. when price From Rm 53k… Looks a lot better than Civic FE

• Mr Fakta on Mar 14, 2022 at 12:39 pm

WTH? At the price of a Myvi?

• Myvi is overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • SK9927 on Mar 15, 2022 at 8:54 am

what car is not overpriced in Malaysia…consumers getting screwed over is the permanent theme in Malaysia

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 15, 2022 at 12:08 pm

All Protons are not overpriced in fact very value for money.

• Dong Gor on Mar 14, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Bring it to Malaysia and take the market by storm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • RM80k - RM110k territory on Mar 14, 2022 at 10:06 pm

This type of potential customer that Proton love you the most. When many of people love and eager this model, surely they (Proton) will mark-up the price more in order to ‘cekik’ you all guys. Just think about it.

• Bin Roy on Mar 14, 2022 at 2:14 pm

Bring this in as the Preve Sport!
    It even has that signature Proton C-pillar kink.

• tricycle on Mar 14, 2022 at 2:20 pm

Nice gear box console.

Proton or Geely, please replace the one currently in X50 with this gear box console design. Way nicer.

The one currently on X50 is hideous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • It might look nice on a sedan but look worse on an SUV, different body size & height can influence how something might appear to different customers.

• RM80k - RM110k territory on Mar 14, 2022 at 10:10 pm

Simple. Buy XC40 if your financial ‘mengizinkan’. If not buy Saga and save or invest that money for your own future.

• New PREVE!!!

• RM80k - RM110k territory on Mar 14, 2022 at 10:13 pm

Hooray! New C-Segment for Proton!!!

Hooray! Standby 80 to 110k price!!! (Kalau lancarlah)

• I love hafiz on Mar 14, 2022 at 9:24 pm

The pricing just goes to show you how much Proton and Perodua have been effing the public with their effing cars.

• RM80k - RM110k territory on Mar 14, 2022 at 9:59 pm

If coming to Malaysia, surely price from RM79,800 to RM109,800 like X50.

Proton now moving to premium quality (upmarket kononnya). In order to feel premium, the price must reach RM100k++ for full specs.

How you like that? Dat dat dat dat~

• Totally given up hope on Proton. Just like the X50 where top variant sells at bout RM75k in China is sold at RM103k in Malaysia.
    So don’t get your hopes so low on the prices people.

Kononnya the 40% increase in price is due to redesign and manufacturing cost of right side drive parts.
    Come on lah, you mean Geely don’t need cost to design their left side drive parts? and that’s from nothing. Proton only reverse em.

Also the new X50s and even the X70s is still having much replacement parts issues. Worst yet is how they did not emphasize on ease of after sales repairs which means higher than average repair cost. This directly translate to lower resale value.

Truly disappointed with Proton ripping off their own rakyat.

• Dong Gor on Mar 15, 2022 at 11:09 am

Are you new to Malaysia? There is this thing calls excise duty. Whatever the price abroad u add on 50% to it…which is about right for all the Proton models

• PlainBS on Mar 16, 2022 at 11:47 am

Increase price is Ok as long as you cope with the demand. They don’t even have sufficient spare parts for u. LOL

• Firdaus on Mar 15, 2022 at 9:40 am

Slim chance this will come here..The max we will get (if any) is binrui f type as limited editon/se..Standard binrui for other variants

• msia driver on Mar 15, 2022 at 2:12 pm

if proton bring in this and sell at max RM60k, i can cfm this car will can be sold 50-80k unit on first day and subsequent 20-30k per following days…

• PlainBS on Mar 16, 2022 at 11:45 am

No way Malaysia market can get 4 cyclinder engine because Proton just invest the 3 cylinder engine plant in Tg Malim.

Have a nice dream everyone.

• Malaysia still 3 cyl? Oh my goodness... on Mar 16, 2022 at 10:51 pm

Even Geely also change to 4 cyl. So someone (scapegoat) need to absorb the 3 cyl development… Hehehe…

• Ketam baru sales figure definitely get disrupted