MRT3 Circle Line project tender to be opened this year, involves five main packages – transport minister Wee

Malaysian transport minister Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong said in Parliament yesterday that the five main packages for the MRT3 Circle Line will be up for tender this year and are expected to be completed in phases within the next six to eight years.

As reported by The Star, Wee was responding to a question from Segambut MP Hannah Yeoh on the status of the MRT3 Circle Line. The project, which was previously suspended by the Pakatan Harapan administration, has recently been approved by the government.

In a Facebook post, Wee said the MRT3 Circle Line is expected to be fully completed by 2030 and would start operating in phases, with the first to be opened as early as December 2028, subject to a land acquisition process.

“The project will be financed in a hybrid manner involving funding sources such as sukuk with government guarantees and also deferred payment financing,” said Wee. He added that based on a technical feasibility study, the MRT3 Circle Line will be a 51-km long loop, with 39 km being within Kuala Lumpur and 12 km in Selangor.

MRT Kajang Line – Taman Pertama station in Cheras

“The ring line will cross the existing rail network, including the MRT1, MRT2, LRT, Monorail and KTM Komuter lines,” Wee explained. The project will result in 10 new interchange stations being created to form a more comprehensive public transport network. “80% of the entire alignment is an elevated route, while 20% is an underground route,” noted Wee.

In April last year, MRT Corp considered having 30 stations for the Circle Line, with some of the proposed stations being Bukit Kiara, INTAN (National Institute of Public Administration), Sri Hartamas, Mont Kiara, Jalan Duta, Matrade, Jalan Kuching, Sentul West, Sentul East, Ayer Panas, Semarak, Setiawangsa, Ampang Point, Desa Pandan, Pandan Indah, Taman Perdana, Taman Midah, Hospital Canselor Tuanku Muhriz UKM (previously known as HUKM), Kuchai Lama, Old Klang Road and Pantai Dalam.

On a separate note, Wee said recently that the government is considering imposing a congestion charge for vehicles entering Kuala Lumpur once the MRT3 Circle Line is completed.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kambeng on Mar 16, 2022 at 11:14 am

One key aspect of public transport infrastructure in KL/Klang Valley that I find is heavily limiting its usefulness is the lack of footpaths and pedestrian access, often have to end up walking along the road and/or taking big detours to get to your destination…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 16, 2022 at 1:25 pm

Malaysian weather not for human walking out long time so people just don’t bother to consider proper walking paths.

• Singapore weather also similar as ours but people still use pedestrian walkways as is it properly built & well maintained, we can encourage walking on footpaths / walkways if we built it properly & also maintain it properly.

• khairi on Mar 16, 2022 at 11:20 am

Everyone knows it is to fill the Election Fund, not milo tin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Troll Hunter on Mar 16, 2022 at 1:31 pm

Funny how such baseless assumptions go. Even if tender is opened this year, chances are decision will be taken in next year and project to start in in 2024/5 with a 1st Phase completion in 2028. All these dates are way after GE15 which must be held by 2023 so how does a project still under tender consideration will fill Election Fund as you assumed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • YB Kinte Kunta on Mar 16, 2022 at 1:33 pm

Folks..get ready for sudden LHDN ‘tak cukup Tax” letters soon or contest in court.
      A.Menteri $$$ cakap Rm28 billion fuel subsidy 2022
      B.IMDB bonds maturing,some soon
      C.A ballooning gomen salary n pension bill
      D.Bantuans in billions for floods,and lockdowns etc
      E.leakages in gomen funds due to corruption(look at MACC arrests)
      Can Ahsiongkor n co justify this unwanted mega project?
      Are we better than PN N PH short reign,with covid,rising inflation due to Ukraine war or possible Taiwan war soon?
      Folks,get ready ,this trend is borrowing as if there is no tomorrow.Our Rm ,no need sanctions,may be worst than the Ruble,not many moons from now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
      • Sick & Tired on Mar 16, 2022 at 2:56 pm

If tak cukup tax it is either you intentionally underdeclared or willfully did not pay your dues, stop blaming this to the Government. This is your own fault when taxmen cometh to your doorstep.

Asking are we better today than under PH or PN, when we facing Ukraine war is stupid. Inspite of such external factors not under PM Sabri’s Government control, they done well enough to shelter us from the effects of massive oil & price increases. Can PH do better? They can’t even control petrol price fluctuations when there is no major war or global shortage! We would be eating grass if still under them!!!

In this uncertain economic times, we actually need such megaprojects to stimulate job creation and the economy while the world sort itself out, and yes, such a project is needed to alleviate the chronic jams in Klang Valley.

Right now when the world still inching towards recovery, we should start enhancing the public transportation system before everyone returns to normal, we certainly don’t want our traffic jams to return back to normal!!!

The Government is moving in the right direction to change how people commute before we start returning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Rasputin on Mar 16, 2022 at 1:42 pm

The other day $$$ Menteri said,studying targeted assist to b40/M40 when asking rakyat to cough blood by paying actual unsubsidised petrol.
    Eh,how come now got so much leeway to borrow funds for this project Ph already ‘ludah”.?
    You call it bonds,sukuk,or payung..it still BORROWING.
    Dont fool the rakyat.Even a year one pupil can see this hypocrisy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Sick & Tired on Mar 16, 2022 at 3:01 pm

2 different matters, stop conflating both.

Subsidising the rakyat is via current funding paid thru trade and taxes. Basically you need to pay your house rental with money that you got.

Paying for this megaproject is via sukuk and future borrowings, which is normal everywhere in the world. Basically you are taking loan and repaying the bit by bit in future.

Both are totally different matter even a Year One pupil can tell you your logic is stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • murugan on Mar 16, 2022 at 3:49 pm

I just voted in Johor and it is a win. So, how do this MRT thing affect me at Johor? Not mentioning those in Kelantan, Perlis, Sabah, Sarawak…

• Ghani on Mar 16, 2022 at 6:20 pm

Once MRT2 & 3 has proven successful, other cities have incentives to push for their own MRT/LRT. Before BN downfall, there was talk of using Johor HSR stations as hubs for LRT city rail. Such dreams was postponed with the fall, but now they are back we can hope they will revive that dream again. So if you voted right, you vote wisely for your future.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 250 Thumb down 125
  • Dream125 on Mar 16, 2022 at 8:02 pm

BTW: What happened with Tram/LRT/MRT in Penang?

• Calvin on Mar 17, 2022 at 9:21 am

That was under Penang’s PTMP plan that was hatched by watchdogs & think tank groups but was not wholly adopted by Penang State Gohmen. They spurned any public transport ideas instead they pushed for land reclamation & undersea tunnel, both which are embroiled in scandals with their exCM.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 260 Thumb down 130