Exchange unused MBPJ parking coupons for Smart Selangor Parking app credit – April 2-3, Dewan Sivik

Here’s a reminder to Petaling Jaya residents who are still holding MBPJ parking coupons. The unused physical scratch cards can be exchanged to Smart Selangor Parking (SSP) app credit, ensuring that you don’t rugi as local council public parking in Selangor goes digital from today (April 1).

The Selangor state government, via its fully-owned company SSDU Innovations, is organising a parking coupon exchange programme, where scratch cards can be exchanged with SSP parking credits. Of course, this is only for unused parking coupons that are still valid.

PJ folk who want to do this can head to Dewan Sivik MBPJ in PJ State this weekend (April 2-3), where counters will be open from 10am to 5pm. Obviously, you will have to have the SSP app in your smartphone – download the app from the Google Play Store, Apple App Store or Huawei AppGallery and register as a user.

“The state government acknowledges the worries of the rakyat who are concerned that the physical coupons in hand will be cancelled and cause them losses after we enforce the use of SSP in April. The state government guarantees that the value of the physical coupons that are still valid can be transferred to SSP accounts from March 26,” said Ng Sze Han, the Selangor exco in charge of local councils and public transport.

Note that at this weekend’s programme, parking coupons from all Selangor local councils can be exchanged. If you miss it, you can still do the exchange until April 30 at your local council’s office, but only for that particular local council – for instance, MBPJ coupons at MBPJ, MBSJ ones at MBSJ. Alternatively, one can head to Leading Innovative Technologies & Systems (LITS) at F-4-G, Jalan Multimedia 7/AG, I-City, Shah Alam for the exchange.

Remember, parking payment is digital from today and you’ll need to pay via SSP.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Suresh Kumar on Apr 01, 2022 at 12:43 pm

Each state has its own parking app. Can we have one app for all the states. It’s a hassle to download app and top-up just for parking in another state when you travel only may be once or twice a year such as balik kampung or family tour

• Vader on Apr 01, 2022 at 5:17 pm

Hoo boy! Inb4 Parking cluster inkambing

• Angry Voters on Apr 01, 2022 at 5:33 pm

Ask Selangor why cannot work with Federal Gomen to use a singular app. These jokers running the state can’t even agree to use Mysejahtera for covid related purpose and spent millions of RM to develop their failed Selangkah app with botnet tendencies and security holes as big as a truck. After 2 years how many are still using their app compared to MYSJ? If it wasn’t for parking use, nobody would bother with these failed Selangor only apps.

• IGP mom on Apr 02, 2022 at 1:09 pm

Isn’t downloading the app easier than buying different coupons from different municipals, and then got expired because you rarely used them? I have expired Melaka, Ipoh, Segamat, JB, Butterworth coupons. Its even more hassle because these are physicals. Now at least at Selangor, its all merged, no more different coupons at Klang, Sepang, Rawang, PJ etc.