Hypercar collector JP Chin daily drives a Proton X50, X70 but has hundreds of millions worth of other cars

If you’re a Malaysian, you must be familiar with the name JP Chin. The 66-year old self-made multi-millionaire is the proud owner of many iconic supercars, including three Bugattis – Chiron, Divo and Bolide.

The latter two are exceedingly rare, by the way. His Divo – an 8.0 litre 16-cylinder beast – is one of 40 units ever produced, and is reportedly the only one in the entire Southeast Asian region. He also has the Bolide on order, which is a track-only hypercar that would eat the Nürburgring Nordschleife in 5 minutes 23.1 seconds.

Other prized vehicles in his private collection include the Porsche 918 Spyder, McLaren P1, Ferrari Enzo, Ferrari 308 GTB and even a DeLorean and 1915 Ford Model T. Sultans and the royal families aside, not many people can even come close to amassing such a collection. Chin has anywhere between 60 to 100 vehicles at a time, some of which are displayed at his own JPM Museum.

For someone who has just about as many dream cars to fill up rows of car parks at the supermarket, surely it can’t be hard to pick one for the daily drive? As it turns out, Chin prefers to drive his Proton X70 or X50 to avoid attention.

The cars in his collection are also kept bone stock, with no modifications done whatsoever. This is because he considers the vehicles as investments that will only increase in value. That includes a Perodua Kancil, by the way, as he believes it to be a future collector’s item. What a man.

If you’re curious about the cars he has in his collection, check out JPM Collection’s Instagram page.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• newme on Apr 06, 2022 at 3:13 pm

Moral of the story is to drive X70 or X50 to avoid attention and to look poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • Veyron Owner on Apr 06, 2022 at 4:46 pm

The us truly rich knows how to blend in with the masses. Only the fake rich that likes to show off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 06, 2022 at 3:42 pm

This guy knows which car is dependable & reliable for his daily use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
  • irwan on Apr 06, 2022 at 3:50 pm

Meanwhile rich young cosmetic sellers buy more and more Lambos and post it on Tok Tok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Pinkfloyd on Apr 06, 2022 at 8:32 pm

There’s nothing wrong with that. You work, earn money and spend. You want to spend or save it’s your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • ROTI CANAI on Apr 06, 2022 at 6:24 pm

slow news day?

• Ga vin on Apr 06, 2022 at 8:16 pm

Make sure you pay respect to China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
  • alldisc on Apr 06, 2022 at 8:56 pm

Some 10 years ago while working for a luxury car dealer in glenmarie, I came to know this one apek salesman.. who drives a black Saga LMST. You know, the tyoe of cars that often got squizzed by every other car during traffic jams.. and looking helpless. But he was ok.

At one time I had a chat with him.. he said he always its better to put your money in properties rather than buying expensive cars now and then.

Not long after that, on one Saturday when he was off duty he dropped by the office in a BMW X5. I was shocked. And not long again.. he appeared in a Rover 600. And I found out he has 4 double storey houses which were about 3 mil in value of that time.

Lesson I learnt – never look down on someone driving a cheaper car than us.

So I am now doing the same.. driving cheap cars. Except that I am still not.rich. until.today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • hazri on Apr 07, 2022 at 5:09 pm

he drives x50 and x70 because the cars have no value at all. any case if accident happened or car got problem he doesn’t have to wait for spare part, instead just buy another x50 or x70, just like kotex pakai buang. for him, even p2 kancil is more valuable than x50 and x70. if we love car, we don’t drive it daily, except if you are poor and have no other option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14