2022 Yamaha 135LC Fi V8 in Malaysia – officially launched at RM7,798, but what’s the real shop price?

With each launch of a motorcycle on the Malaysian market comes great interest particularly about price, especially for those in the underbone or kapchai segment. On social media, many have alleged that distributors have raised the prices of these commonly bought motorcycles from their official list price, and outright cash purchases have allegedly been refused, too.

Following the arrival of the Yamaha Y15ZR V2 in Malaysia, the Bahasa Malaysia section of paultan.org checked with various dealers across the Klang Valley to see what the prices of Yamaha’s popular underbone motorcycle are in real life, at the dealers. True enough, prices for the same model of kapchai have been found to vary between outlets, even between outright cash purchases and hire purchase loans.

This time, our colleague conducted a similar exercise with regard to the pricing of the Yamaha 135LC Fi V8 that was launched last month, and we enquired with three dealers, each in different areas; outlet A in Setapak, Kuala Lumpur, outlet B in Taman Medan, Petaling Jaya and outlet C in Pandamaran, Klang.

For reference, pricing starts from RM7,798 for the base model and RM8,198 for the 135LC Fi SE Special Edition; pricing is recommended retail and excludes road tax, insurance and registration.

In-store pricing of the 2022 Yamaha 135LC Fi V8, OTR including insurance. Click to enlarge

Once outlets A and B were visited and pricing has been provided from the respective businesses, we can see that both outlets offer the same price of RM8,800 for cash purchases of the 135LC Fi V8, while hire purchase loans arrangements yield a slightly different sum, even if both outlets A and B require an identical deposit amount of RM1,000.

Our guess is that the slight difference in pricing is down to the different financing providers, and when we consider the overall sum paid at the end of the hire purchase tenure, the difference between the prices from outlet A and outlet B is just RM252. In the case of outlet A in particular, the financing is provided by AEON Credit at an annual interest rate of 10% per annum.

Pricing from outlet C for the latest iteration of the 135LC shows a more considerable difference compared to the first two outlets checked, where the total sum paid by the end of the loan tenure for the motorcycle is RM13,004, which makes it RM556 dearer than that offered by outlet A and RM304 more expensive than outlet B.

2022 Yamaha 135LC Fi Special Edition

As far as we have managed to enquire, there isn’t any major issue with buying from outlets A and B should the customer want to make the purchase with cash outright, however waiting times will be an additional one week on top of the prevailing waiting list compared to customers who are buying on hire purchase loans.

That waiting list, regardless of purchase method is around one month for the latest 135LC, and none of the outlets we enquired with have any ready stock in hand, and neither can the dealers promise which colours will be available and to what extent. The same wait list situation applies to the Y15ZR, we have been told.

What about the situation on the ground in your area, dear readers? Are the prices offered by your local dealers comparable, or are they significantly cheaper or more expensive? Let us know in the comments section.

GALLERY: 2022 Yamaha 135LC Fi

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• What’s the point of announcing officially launched price since you can’t buy it outright or finance it base on the said price? Rubbish!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
    • Harga Ilustrasi on Apr 17, 2022 at 7:24 pm

‘Harga yg tertulis hanyalah Ilustrasi / fantasi artis’.

• Halif on Apr 15, 2022 at 5:15 pm

In JB cash on the road price is Ram9400 non SE at Yahama Skudai.

• Ground europe passenger on Apr 15, 2022 at 5:58 pm

Can yamaha open a “real” official to sell their bikes? Yamaha made good bikes but their retail really bad as gave 2~3 tier bad dealers to hike up the price insanely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • WWK 1581 on Apr 15, 2022 at 6:37 pm

Can anyone list out the difference from v1 to v8?

• V8 as it’s name says is fuel injected. If not mistaken, all previous models has carbs. Design wise, V8 looks the best arguably. It has a Y15ZR head design and Y16 tail.

• Julasri on Apr 15, 2022 at 11:29 pm

RM10k for cash here in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah.

• Astar Neca on Apr 16, 2022 at 7:08 am

Kelantan 9,999.99 cash non se..waiting list 2 month + 2 month and if u lucky enough + 1 month

• Sohaihighhigh on Apr 16, 2022 at 7:55 am

People always say cash is king, lol, kedai tokei be like… cash r? You wait ahhh, until we kautim all the on loan guys, u wait haaa, for u forever no stock one

• Wahhhhaiii on Apr 16, 2022 at 12:17 pm

No bro, ready stock for cash buyer only. Last time go batu caves they said ready stock for cash, loan kedai last one, kena Q min 1 month

• Sironis on Apr 16, 2022 at 11:26 am

You guys should go in disguise.. if they know you are from paultan or whatwver reviewer surely they will say such thins happening.

• KPDHEP must take action. If the chicken seller can be charged, why not this arrogant motorcycle dealer

• We deserve better. on Apr 17, 2022 at 7:22 pm

Haiyaaa, you don’t know? Pay ‘protek’-tion money loh.

• Darren on Apr 18, 2022 at 9:56 am

Computer GPU around the world are also selling way above MSRP. I wonder this extra is paying ‘protek’-tion money to whom.

• 9k++ otr the last time I asked. Cash no less. Wonder how you got the price..

• Samun on Apr 17, 2022 at 12:43 am

Rm11k total payment… Too many riba’

• Kedai byk untong woooo! Kesian buyer.

• Aikon on Apr 18, 2022 at 8:55 am

It is not just Yamaha for those of you who read this type of news for the first time. It is the whole kapchai business. Almost ALL dealers are playing this. Selling way higher than MSRP based on a bike’s popularity. There is no price control at all by the distributors. The dealers already have their own margins but they mark up if you’re taking a loan. Sort of penalising you if you don’t pay up immediately, upfront. Not sure if they get handling fee or not from the financiers though like car HP. But, if the shop is giving out the loan by credit then it is a bit more fair for the mark up as they are taking the risk.

• Ben Yap on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:10 pm

i bought my Yamaha R15 V3 cash and I don’t buy from shops that simply raises the price more than the retail price. it is outright daylight robbery as motorcycle manufacturers has given these shops a profit margin.

• Kambeng on Apr 19, 2022 at 7:50 pm

Xde pulak enforcement bab ni noh ..