Kids sitting in the middle of the road and tempting fate against traffic – let’s hope it doesn’t start a new trend

It really is getting to be a bit of a no-man’s land, driving in Malaysia. If having to contend with youths on modified bicycles, or basikal lajak, on major roads or someone sprinting towards you and launching himself on to your car’s bonnet isn’t enough, now drivers may have to deal with youths lying on roads in the middle of the night and rolling about, daring approaching cars in a silly game of chicken.

A video uploaded to a Twitter thread shows a group of kids sitting and lying about in the middle of the road on a two-lane carriageway, the location unknown. One of the them takes a video of the group doing their thing, and in the distance, a car is seen approaching. Someone tells the group to “buat relax” as the car gets closer, and the car – which is not travelling fast – passes by without incident.

It does look a bit staged, the whole scene, given that the vehicle is straddling very close to the centre line of the road, which is wide, as if it was maximising the danger and visual impact. Was it a case of someone taking the mickey following the recent verdict on the 2017 basikal lajak case, where a clerk was found guilty of causing the deaths of eight teenagers on modified bicycles five years ago and sentenced to six years’ jail and fined RM6,000? Could be, but it’s in poor taste if it were.

Whatever the case may be, such antics are dangerous and, in a blink of an eye, can turn fatal, even if it’s set up. The worst thing that can happen is that more will attempt to replicate such a foolish act in “monkey see, monkey do” fashion. The consequences next time may be deadly.

For drivers, it’s another call to install a dash cam, if you haven’t already. A dash cam goes a long way in protecting yourself, be it from people intentionally throwing themselves on your vehicle or in situations like the above. You can’t eliminate the variables or the stupidity of others, but you can ensure some protection should something happen. Be safe out there, folks.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dettol on Apr 18, 2022 at 11:28 am

Pandai buat anak, tak pandai jaga anak

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 214 Thumb down 43
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 18, 2022 at 11:42 am

Catch drunk drivers too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 67
      • Sick & Tired on Apr 18, 2022 at 12:41 pm

According to Malaysian logic, you can also shoot drunk drivers on the spot or any of the pricks that cut in without signaling. No problem, Malaysian logic will save you from being persecuted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 18, 2022 at 2:15 pm

Dr Wee will comment soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Sick & Tired on Apr 18, 2022 at 3:09 pm

And what do you expect him to comment. That if freeing Sam meant condoning vigilantism and that it is okay for me to shoot pricks?

• biawakman on Apr 18, 2022 at 12:57 pm

out of topic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Mampus on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:00 pm

Let’s just stick to the topic

• Suren on Apr 19, 2022 at 5:17 pm

According to PDRM, between 2011 abd Juky 2021, only 69 fatalities were caused by drunk driving from a total of 19,750 deaths during the same period. The number of road fatalities occuring during exodus back home for the biggest celebration in this country, which numbers in the hundreds EACH YEAR far exceeds this figure. Thus, if driving was banned during this celebration, it would have the biggest impact in reducing accidents and fatalities

• Suren on Apr 19, 2022 at 5:18 pm

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2022/04/16/drink-driving-lowest-cause-of-death-say-police/

• Truckers on Apr 18, 2022 at 3:44 pm

k cool, i’ll wait until vigilantism triumphs before I use my truck to run down every mofo I suspect has irritated me.

• Teh C S. on Apr 19, 2022 at 6:40 pm

Mahathir encourage seven (7) children each Malay family……

• https://www.hmetro.com.my/utama/2019/08/486345/anak-siapa-kurang-ajar-sangat-ni

Old case

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Copy Paste on Apr 18, 2022 at 3:36 pm

Copy paste: “I expected better reporting from paultan.”

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 18, 2022 at 12:11 pm

Can I claim they are trying to commit suicide if I run over them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Sick & Tired on Apr 18, 2022 at 12:42 pm

According to Malaysian logic, you can. You can also shoot drunk drivers and any pricks that cuts into your lane without signaling cuz Malaysian logic will protect you from being persecuted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Ashik Chhabra on Apr 18, 2022 at 9:44 pm

All fucked up stupid idiots risking theirs and other road users lives. Real bastards. Polis shud arrest andvlock them up.

• justice on Apr 18, 2022 at 12:45 pm

See, this is what happens when they punish the wrong party. The kids & their parents should be the one to be punish. They are criminals due to negligence. Parents are responsible for their child actions or lack of actions.

Also, no need to blur out their faces/names. Let them be known publicly as a deterrence.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
    • This is old case. No need to dredge it back up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Stella Doris Fernandez on Apr 18, 2022 at 10:19 pm

Whether old or new the problem still persists because insufficient action has been taken by all concerned. We should share these videos till affirmative and concrete action is taken for the benefit of all concerned. Especially parents who know not what their children are doing or know not how to control them. They are probably the ones who need the most help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Ashok Chhabra on Apr 18, 2022 at 9:45 pm

All fucked up stupid idiots risking theirs and other road users lives. Real bastards. Polis shud arrest andvlock them up.

• Ben Yap on Apr 18, 2022 at 12:56 pm

when these kids die in an accident, another innocent driver will go to jail for nothing. the poor driver is being penalized for being at the wrong place and the wrong time. the kids’ parents will appeal to court for a hasher sentence and get away easily, not learning anything. these parents should go to jail and fined for their kids behaviour.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • These kids’ parents are just parasites only know how to breed. Parents reported relieve with the sentence bcoz someone bear their mistakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • Terfikir on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:26 pm

Rezeki atau berdosa?

• devotee liligen of pissed on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:33 pm

pray to Pontianak to capture all these anak toyol or anak setan who stray into highway and road when night falls

• Nnti jgn lupa salahkan and dakwa pemandu yang melanggar mereka ye.. Sb jalan tu memang dibuat untuk bdk3 kurang akal mcm mereka untuk baring3 and picnic kt situ. Bukan untuk kenderaan lalu tau.. Ingat tu.. Kebajikan bdk2 ni kena jaga, mereka byr roadtax untuk baring3 kt jalan tu.. Sejuk kot jalan tu.. Ka ni naa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Raheem Ruble on Apr 18, 2022 at 10:36 pm

Bangsa Johor mentaliti singkat yang pernah buat kerja macam tu dulu.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:53 pm

Old case but just a matter of time before it inspires new cases. The lajak crash happened in 2017.. old case too, but that same stretch of road where the crash happened is still constantly terrorized by lajaks who are bent on creating a repeat disaster. So, think first before saying it’s an old story, tutup buku. This is the exact same type of mentality that resulted in the failed parenting and lackadaisical society that caused road menace social ills to fester and become an indelible stain on our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • Dong Gor on Apr 18, 2022 at 2:16 pm

After all the taxes this is that kinda protection we get.. So sad. And need to spend a few hundred Ringgit unnessarily just to get a dashcam. Off set with the road tax la.. Since Saya jaga saya sekarang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Abdul Rahman on Apr 18, 2022 at 10:33 pm

If bribery at the highest level of the government is not a punishable offence, then what is some misdemeanour like tempting fate against the flow of traffic?

• Typical of Malaysians…talk..talk..talk..but nobody dare to take action. Thieves and corrupted politicians are walking free…again talk..talk..talk. I am sick and tired of the whole damn thing.

• Francis on Apr 18, 2022 at 11:12 pm

This goes to show their disrespect for rules …the question is for the police to ask is they need to arrest these youths and throw them in jail or let them risk their lives being ended by innocent motorists ?

• Stupid kids. And we have many stupid drivers too, who think paying road tax entitles them to drive anyway they like and not look out for others. After all, it takes two to tango

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8