India set to make 6 airbags minimum in passenger cars – should Malaysia do the same to improve safety?

India’s road transport ministry is insistent on making six airbags the bare minimum for passenger vehicles despite the resistance from automakers, which claim that the move will drive up the cost of vehicles, Reuters reports.

“Safety is non-negotiable. The ministry is finalising the rules, which will take some time to be notified,” a senior government source told the publication. No timeline was given since the government first announced the draft guidelines in January, but the goal is to implement the new rules – four passenger airbags and two side/curtain airbags as standard – by October 1, 2022.

Regarding the cost increase, the government estimates that adding four more airbags won’t cost more than US$75 (RM327) per vehicle, but automotive data provider JATO Dynamics estimates that it could increase by at least US$231 (RM1,006). To this, the govt officer retorted: “The cost implication is exaggerated. The ministry has consulted airbag makers on the cost and time needed to make the parts locally.”

“Carmakers should provide airbags as a matter of safety, it should not have to be mandated by the government. We’re having to step up regulations because companies are not doing it on their own,” he added.

According to the ministry, having that amount of airbags – along with seatbelts – would have saved the lives of at least one-third of the 39,000 people who died in road accidents in 2020 due to head-on or side collisions.

Meanwhile, in Malaysia, the ministry of transport stipulates that all vehicles sold in the country from January 1, 2012 must be equipped with two airbags as standard (as per the UN R94 standard). Do you think this rule should be revised, and would you pay a little bit more money to have at least six airbags in your personal car? Let us know what you think, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• bieight8 on Apr 25, 2022 at 5:13 pm

Willing to pay a bit to protect my head…

• OCH Bocor on Apr 25, 2022 at 7:34 pm

10 years car warranty unlimited mileage (engine & gearbox) should be made mandatory also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • James on Apr 25, 2022 at 10:51 pm

I wish Perodua can give 10 year warranty for my Bezza gearbox. Scratch that, give me 3 years also I take now all they give me are lame excuses why my 3+ year old virtually brand new Bezza car has a condemned transmission. Dafuq is this!

• Copy Paste on Apr 26, 2022 at 8:40 am

“As far as vehicle engineering is concerned, as of now, they (the other ASEAN countries) represent the major markets and there’s no real market demand for more than two airbags,” MMM CEO Tomoyuki Shinnishi said.

• Huck Phin on Apr 25, 2022 at 5:26 pm

TCM still distributed units of Almera E spec with just a driver airbag

If regulations are beefed up, surely there’ll be exceptions. Perhaps only new vehicle will be subjected to the law but current one will not.

And what ever happened to the VSC mandate? Or the rear fog lamp law (if there was ever one)?

• Dong Gor on Apr 25, 2022 at 10:23 pm

TCM is number one lar…for the E spec, even a light bulb in the trunk also they removed. many didn’t notice that until they own the car. the bulb perhaps cost rm1? oh come on…and with the rm skimmed, how rich are you now? Sustainable business 101 is to sell good product and not skim. Karma is realized!

• WooGoo on Apr 25, 2022 at 7:29 pm

“Safety is non-negotiable.”
    Well said. In Bolehland, even the premium German brands don’t like to give full safety suite.

• Kapchai on Apr 25, 2022 at 8:00 pm

Hyundai Starex,
    Suzuki Jimny,
    Mitsubishi Xpander,
    Honda BR-V,

Some Malaysia models even Full spec also 2 airbags only, in 2022.
    I thought only older used car < RM 60k have 2 airbags…

I wonder how does it feel to buy expensive 2 airbags vehicle in Malaysia?
    Doesn't it feels like a low mileage used car?
    Like a Brand New Low Mileage (5km) Tin Kosong?.. no AEB, no ACC, 2 airbags..

• Poor-Geot on Apr 26, 2022 at 7:04 am

My used 2012 Peugeot 408 that I bought for RM17k does comes with 6 airbags, still won’t recommend buying a used Peugeots tho.

• BOYRACER on Apr 25, 2022 at 8:54 pm

The government should revised the law regarding safety..In the beginning we may see price increase but if every manufacturers have a minimum of 6 airbags,in the long run the consumers will get used to it.
    Instead of giving the option of cheaper cars with less airbags which will be the definite choice for most..we have no choice but to buy the more pricier but at least it has all the safety features.

• Automobile a effed up industry on Apr 25, 2022 at 9:15 pm

MY is so behind in many aspects, hardly any vision, poor implementation, execution, planned steps ahead but hindered by U-turns, association outcry and others. Not that we don’t know.

• Dong Gor on Apr 25, 2022 at 10:19 pm

Malaysia mandated 2 airbags after 2012, really??? Almera sold in 2014 still has driver airbag option only…so how did that happen?

• Should get rid of unsafe vehicles on the road first, before going to 6 airbags as standard. Most new cars are already fitted with minimum 2 airbags.

• Perlisian on Apr 26, 2022 at 8:19 am

Perodua Axia G Standard Manual with 6 airbags.

Can’t wait to hear this.

• Far Right on Apr 26, 2022 at 8:25 am

In Malaysia, local car manufacturers and assembled must take lead but alas they are more interested to sell with the cosmetics, flashy LED lights, rims and things that will not protect the occupants. In some cars with pricy tags, AEB are not even provided. Our politicians are clueless by they way…

• Laurie K Gilbert on Apr 26, 2022 at 8:59 am

The minimum number of airbags I require for a family saloon car is six. Any less than this and the manufacturer / model does not even get considered.

• While waiting for laws to be passed here, consumers have a choice by choosing not to purchase cars that do not provide 6 airbags minimum. That is what I did in 2014 when I ditched the Honda and Toyota brand in favour of KIA. Today we have loads of choices as our local cars and Japanese models for the most part provide 6 airbags.

• seancorr on Apr 26, 2022 at 10:44 am

It’s pretty obvious the entire world needs to put this kind of law into effect including VSC and AEB to minimise casualties on the road. We’re in 2022 not 2002.

• Spin Too Much on Apr 26, 2022 at 11:09 pm

Keywords: the entire world. So we just wait for the world to change 1st.

• senthil on Apr 26, 2022 at 9:42 pm

Don’t compromise on quality and safety. Buy a vehicle with atleast 4 airbag and safety rating of atleast 4. In India TATA was the only manufacturer to have 5 star safety rating of their cars. And Indian are receptive to it. So all manufacturers are scrambling to increase the safety of their cars

• We Need Safety on Apr 28, 2022 at 12:34 am

Well done to this by Indian gov!! Malaysia, bring this rules on!! My N17 Almera E spec has only driver airbag and this is ridiculous!! I will never buy next car with less than 6 airbags!!

• Cmfong on May 01, 2022 at 6:42 am

No use to have 6 airbags but a soft car body that collapses and flatten upon impact. Most deaths on M’sian roads are from 2-wheel vehicles. Improve the nation’s economy, and move everyone from 2-wheels to 4-wheels first. Then only start improving the safety of the 4-wheel. Otherwise it just makes it costlier to own cars and more people still hv to use 2-wheels transport. India’s policy will only increase disparity between the rich and the poor.

• We deserve better. on May 02, 2022 at 4:41 pm

The so-called ‘collapses and flatten upon impact’, they call it as ‘crumple’ zone. Hehehe…