EV owners in Malaysia already facing queues at DC chargers – we need more DCFCs on highways soon

The Malaysian EV Owners Club (MyEVOC) has called on the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) to expedite the granting of permissions to install more electric vehicle charging stations along highways. This comes as club members took to social media recently to report on long queues forming at DC fast charging stations located along the PLUS Malaysia-operated North–South Expressway (NSE).

The issue of implementation delays is nothing new and has been brought up by MyEVOC president Datuk Shahrol Halmi before. “More EVs are getting delivered in Q2/3 2022 and we can easily foresee queues forming up to charge at stations along the highway soon,” Shahrol wrote in a LinkedIn post six days ago.

He also noted in his post that one of the key factors affecting the expansion of EV charging infrastructure in Malaysia is not grid capacity, but rather the bottlenecks in the distribution/retail network, primarily brought about by red tape.

Referring to the PEKEMA (Malay Vehicle Importers and Traders Association of Malaysia) DCFC network, there are currently fewer than 20 DC chargers installed. This is a far cry from the 1,000 DC chargers that the association plans to install across the country by 2025, with many of the pending sites awaiting electricity supply upgrades from Tenaga Nasional Berhad.

Shahrol explained that while some of the 1,000 DC chargers are targeted for highway EV users, which would help mitigate queues, bureaucracy is delaying their implementation. “The highway ones are likely caused by multiple layers of approvals needed, such as from the highway operator, highway authority, local authorities as well as TNB,” he told paultan.org previously.

Even a large and influential company such as Shell isn’t exempt from red tape with Recharge HPC network implementation along the NSE. “The initial target date of four locations by end of 2021 has come and gone, with only one (Tangkak) operational in January 2022,” Shahrol wrote.

Shahrol also recommended the establishment of a special task force to facilitate charging infrastructure implementation, something similar to PEMUDAH, in order to cut through the red tape, centralise aspects and speed up the process. He added that users’ feedback must be taken seriously.

Are you an EV owner? Have you ever had to deal with long queues at any public charging station before? Share your experience with us in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Rohana IMDB on Apr 26, 2022 at 1:36 pm

So these rich man’s toys are stranded due to lack of charging infra.
    Some Malaysians are so blardy stupid rich that they cant think.They get carried away.Ev is the way of the future.
    Who doesnt know?But r the charging stations sufficient?
    Do u think filthy rich Elon Musk will launch space travel if his rocket cant accommodate such huge quantity of fuel?
    Use your brains to think.Dont just join the EV club and complain lack of infra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 50
    • Eat My Smoke on Apr 26, 2022 at 2:36 pm

To show the world how intelligent they are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Celup King on Apr 26, 2022 at 5:02 pm

This is the same guy that whack gomen for not enough EV chargers. Can’t belip a thing he says.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Just be patient on Apr 26, 2022 at 5:06 pm

Come on you guys, nothing wrong with queuing to charge a car, stop condemning already, we are heading towards EV era after all. Give it a little time to solve this problem. People used to queue hours for McD toys also, no big deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
    • Mike Tee on Apr 26, 2022 at 6:43 pm

Why bash the early adopters? They are driving a car that

– Has lousy battery/motor tech (at the moment)
      – Will be worth next to nothing in 10 years

so that the rest of us can have charging infrastructure. Without them, nobody builds chargers. Just saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
      • db10s on Apr 26, 2022 at 9:49 pm

Exactly.

If not for these early adopters, the demand won’t be there to force change.

Personally at this point EV ownership in Malaysia must only be for your 2nd,3rd car. Infra isn’t sufficient to be a daily driver.

• Axepro on Apr 27, 2022 at 2:18 pm

Lol what a fkin idiot mindset, without them buying EV cars and provide feedback about the lack of charging station, do you think our gov will do anything to fix that ?

• Think twice on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:19 pm

I for once agreed poor ppl like you guys are poor because you are stup? Your boss actually is very clever eventhough they pretend naive and you think they are stup. Come on, you bowed to your boss order, polish their shoes, that makes you even lower than stup? Without rich early adopter, everything from mobile phone to car to spaceship will not be available to you poor ppl, think again.

• Mujibur on May 03, 2022 at 4:34 pm

The rich doesn’t get richer without the poor. Early adopter doesn’t change the course of technology. The mass market (mean the poor) will decide whether the technology is economical feasible.

• iThink on Apr 26, 2022 at 1:40 pm

Once kena, twice shy…
    Stay far far away…

I am not sure if paying for EV is eqv to paying more for fine dine,

Instead, a EV you get –
    Slow electron refueling service,
    Some no Roof Covered,
    Some Attap Style Roof..
    Self service lagi…
    Hogging @ the station, nuisance to other road users.

#my style, my way laa
    #Green

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
  • Flash Ahmad on Apr 26, 2022 at 1:57 pm

This problem will get worse as more EVs on the roads, during CNY in China people fight for the charging pods! Those EVs owners will not have to deal with the traffic jams but also the charging jams! EV is best be your 3rd car for now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • RyanT on Apr 26, 2022 at 2:46 pm

It is happening in China to queue 10-12 hours at charging station during balik kampung, not to talk about PHEV and EV are 300-400kg heavier…hybrid still makes more sense

• Hybrid Sucks on Apr 26, 2022 at 3:21 pm

Nobody want hybrid, it’s a fake EV.
      We China buy Byd Tesla Xpeng and don’t forget NIO!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • Innovasi on Apr 26, 2022 at 4:14 pm

Hybrid is better.
        Self Charging EV by Petrol.

EV car need Solar to self charging…

• Fight global warming on Apr 26, 2022 at 2:58 pm

I’m getting an EV not because I want to, but because I have to, everyone has to at some point, and I intend to charge at home. Don’t go for EV if charging station is your only option, get hybrid instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • BadEV on Apr 26, 2022 at 3:20 pm

ICE is the way to go. Just pay & pump. Not like EV have to wait & waste time to charge the battery thus making the journey time longer. How stupid is that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • Axepro on Apr 27, 2022 at 2:30 pm

Lol that logic don’t use smartphone lah

• Smartphone is different little child. Smartphone bit 1990 handheld phone hands down at all areas be it speed, charging, battery capacity, size, weight, and quality. An EV now and in 10 years time does not edge an ICE be it in charging, refueling, maintenance, price, seating capacity, real world range, in car technology, safety tech etc. You cant compare. Even BMW boss say ICE will thrive another at least 30-50 years and thats just conservative prediction. Human are very oil thirsty. You knw.

• Since you want to be a good citizen (saving the planet), why can’t you do what a good citizen is supposed to do (take public transport when going outstations)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • Shallow minded on Apr 26, 2022 at 4:19 pm

By taking public transport able to save the planet and automatically makes you a good citizen? Oh my goodness hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • seancorr on Apr 26, 2022 at 3:51 pm

Lol at all you early EV adopters. You all can see this happening from miles away. Why don’t you all wait until there’s sufficient chargers before you get an EV? Why the rush? Our nation has the cheapest fuel in SEA so make use of it. Now u all can queue there and waste your lifespan while petrol users laugh at you while they pump in 2 mins and be on their way. Don’t buy EVs and that will force the big players to expand the infrastructure first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
    • db10s on Apr 26, 2022 at 9:53 pm

Abit of chicken and egg situation IMO.

Without these early adopters, there’s less demand to bring about infrastructure change.

I’d happily buy an EV now provided my house can have a charger installed. If I need to go out of town, then i’ll just use my x70 lol.

• narrow on Apr 27, 2022 at 1:49 am

then continue laughing, finish pump your 2 mins and get going.
      those are probably 3rd or 4th car and they are not rushing to get back to work.
      so to you EV is only to save fuel? clown

• bieight8 on Apr 26, 2022 at 4:51 pm

The main problem is ice vehicle parking in EV charging bay….

• For me, PHEV is more practical. EV is better kept at home during festival season travelling!

• newme on Apr 26, 2022 at 5:59 pm

Get a power bank lah. 20000mAh enough? hahahhaah

• Mike Tee on Apr 26, 2022 at 6:38 pm

EV is only viable under the following circumstances in MY at the moment

– You have charging available at home
    – You have another car that is not an EV

It cannot be your only car unless you never leave city limits. Looking forward to when battery/charging tech may improve so much that it becomes more viable through ultra long range or super quick charging. Either that or cross-brand battery swap becomes a thing.

• PoorComplainRich on Apr 26, 2022 at 8:35 pm

Many poor marhaen here keep complaining abt govt not fair, the rich enjoying the tax breaks. Rather than complaining and jealous of others being rich, why don’t you guys enrich yourself? Find ways to increase your economy position.
    Once you reached that level, you will come to understand the rich don’t care about early adoption or not enough EV charger. It is merely their toy. Play for 1 or 2 years, they gonna sell off.
    Maybe during that time those jealous poor guys can buy their used toys, provided they upgraded their own income lah.
    The lazy will always remain lazy and poor and keep complaining of others being rich.

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 26, 2022 at 9:44 pm

boohoohoo rich ppl problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Ali Hikmat on Apr 27, 2022 at 9:27 am

In the next 10-15 years, it will everybody’s problem. So, better work on it now while it is still manageable.

• East_one on May 08, 2022 at 10:08 am

Why u guys fighing here… soon i’ll produces power-bank for EV ”
    settled