Hari Raya 2022: toll free period on PLUS Highway has ended for now – tips for the next 7-8 May period

First of all, Selamat Hari Raya to all Muslim readers, and we hope you are enjoying the festivities with family and friends, and have managed to handle the last minute announcement of Raya today well.

If you’re only making your way back to your hometown today, we have some bad news for you – the first session of the toll free period for Raya journeys officially ended at 11:59pm last night.

The good news is there is another toll free period coming up for the return trip – it starts this weekend from midnight Saturday May 7 until 11:59 pm Sunday May 8.

Here are some tips for making the best of the next toll-free period.

1. If you’re late, exit the highway before 11:59pm and re-enter

To qualify for the free toll, you have to exit the highway before the 11:59pm deadline on Sunday. So what do you have to do if you’re still on the highway before the toll free period ends?

Just leave the highway at the nearest exit to you to get free toll for the journey that you’ve already made, and re-enter the highway. That way, you only have to pay toll for the remaining journey.

2. You can start your journey earlier as long as you exit within the toll-free period

Just like point number 1, the reverse applies. If you enter the highway before May 7, you still get free toll as long as you exit the highway after the midnight of May 7.

You might want to take advantage of this to get most of your travelling done outside the toll-free period to avoid congestion.

3. Remember which payment method you used to enter!

If you have both TnG/SmartTAG and RFID in your car, this may get a bit confusing.

PLUS reminds us that if you enter using TnG/SmartTAG, you need to exit using the same payment method. If you enter using RFID, exit using RFID.

If you mix the payment options, it will result in you getting charged the maximum charge for the highway because your entry point was not recorded on the exit point system.

But hey, if you think about it – if toll is free, does this penalty still apply?

The full list of highways in Malaysia with their respective discounted toll rates over the stipulated periods are as follows:

Toll-free:

1. Lebuhraya Utara Selatan (PLUS)
2. Lebuhraya Utara Selatan Hubungan Tengah (Elite)
3. Lebuhraya Seremban – Port Dickson (SPDH)
4. Lebuhraya Butterworth – Kulim (BKE)
5. Laluan Kedua Malaysia Singapura (Second Link) (Linkedua)
6. Jambatan Pulau Pinang (Penang Bridge) (JPP)
7. Lebuhraya Pantai Timur (LPT) 1
8. Lebuhraya Pantai Timur (LPT) 2
9. Lebuhraya KL – Karak (KLK)

50% toll rate discount:

10. Lebuhraya Shah Alam (Kesas)
11. Lebuhraya Damansara – Puchong (LDP)
12. Lebuhraya Cheras – Kajang (Grand Saga)
13. Lebuhraya Sungai Besi (Besraya)
14. Lebuhraya Baru Pantai (NPE)
15. Lebuhraya Bertingkat Ampang – KL (AKLEH)
16. Lebuhraya KL-Putrajaya (MEX)
17. Lebuhraya Duta – Ulu Kelang (DUKE)

30% toll rate discount:

18. Projek Pengurusan Air Banjir Dan Terowong (Smart Tunnel)
19. Lebuhraya Koridor Guthrie (Guthrie Corridor Expressway)
20. Lebuhraya KL- Kuala Selangor (Latar)
21. Lebuhraya Lingkaran Luar Butterworth (LLB)

Once again, selamat hari raya, happy holidays, and stay safe!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on May 02, 2022 at 11:59 am

PT boss kena buat posting waktu staffs bercuti. Happy holiday semua!!!

• Good that tollfree still taken into account the sudden bring forward for Hari Raya. Kudos to gohmen!

• the driver on May 03, 2022 at 1:02 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 171
    • Casual reader on May 03, 2022 at 1:44 pm

This is Raya we talking about here, jams will still happen, the reason why highways give out travel advisory to stagger the flow. So regardless of the jam, toll free will defo save the travelling pockets of millions. You sounded like you never been in Malaysia until recently.

• the driver on May 03, 2022 at 3:21 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 119
        • Amran on May 04, 2022 at 7:31 pm

Driven back for Raya and hardly met a jam? Now we know you are just lying, except for the last 2 years, sorry to break your fantasy but jams are a Raya thing. i go back to Kelantan Pasir Mas and it would be a miracle if i arrive sooner than 20 hours on the road.

• Casual reader on May 04, 2022 at 7:44 pm

Ahh yes, i recall Raya 30 years ago has no jams like you said but not for the past many decades since. So what relevance does Raya 30 years ago has anything to do with this years?

• Reichskanzler on May 03, 2022 at 5:42 pm

Unfortunately governments would be the ones paying for all that ‘free’ tolls

• Casual reader on May 04, 2022 at 7:45 pm

To the benefit of the rakyat, i see no problem with that.

• Ungrateful on May 04, 2022 at 1:03 am

To the driver : bg salah. X bg salah. What’s your problem? Da besar berbulu x reti bersyukur?

• Fattah on May 03, 2022 at 1:12 pm

I can’t see LKSA. Tried in on Sunday, it gave 30% discount.