More expected to be caught this year for drink-driving than in 2021 – 759 arrested so far between Jan-April

As businesses and the economy goes back full swing following the pandemic, more people are expected to be caught for drink-driving this year than in 2021. Nearly 800 people have been arrested in the first four months of the year for being inebriated behind the wheel, which is 66% of the total detained for such offences for the whole of last year, The Star reports.

According to city traffic investigation and enforcement department chief Asst Comm Sarifudin Mohd Salleh, 759 motorists were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol from January to April. “Last year, we arrested 1,155 motorists for drink-driving,” he said.

The number of operations to catch offenders has also gone up. “Between January and April this year, we have already conducted 110 operations compared to the 150 operations conducted throughout 2021,” he revealed. He added that men made up most of the offenders (no surprise there). “Based on our findings, 99.5% of those arrested for drunk driving involved male motorists,” he said.

Sarifudin said those arrested faced action under Section 45A of the Road Transport Act 1987 for driving under the influence of alcohol. Those caught committing such an offence will face a minimum fine of RM1,000 (all the way up to RM5,000) and/or a jail term below two years. First-time offenders will also have their driving licence disqualified for a minimum of two years.

He urged the public to refrain from driving if they have consumed alcohol. “You can use taxis, public transportation as well as ride-hailing. Taking these steps can ensure that you do not endanger your life as well as other motorists on the road,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AsiaRide on May 20, 2022 at 11:02 am

If the Grab price increases, insufficient Grab services.
    Then drinkers may possible decide to drive back home themselves, dangerous.

Time to introduce after drink send home delivery services.
    So ppl can have good drink, escort back, work, spending for economy,
    continue to drive the other day, not kena gantung lesen..

Singapore has heavy drink culture, but well supported by public infra, so no need to drive after drinking. It’s just part of the economy, whether eastern or western, USA, Japan, Korean, China, Singapore, Australia, Cambodia, etc.

• call me by your name on May 20, 2022 at 12:01 pm

so grab at fault now?

• Tortilla on May 20, 2022 at 1:43 pm

Grab and Airasia ride can consider do some `Corporate Social Responsibility` CSR,
        Drinker still pay for thier own ride.

• Ghani on May 20, 2022 at 6:29 pm

Ekcelli mesia got the lowest drunk driving eksiden inda world. So no problemo

• Ghani on May 20, 2022 at 12:31 pm

Sinkies may have a freer drinking society but they also have an overbearing law enforcement that coerce the to comply with heavy fines, but to those that can pay, you still read about drunken Lambo & Ferrari owners getting into accidents sometimes killing people. In the end they paid their way of out jail. So if you say they learned to drink responsibly, I don’t think so.

• Anonymous on May 21, 2022 at 10:05 pm

No logic statement. Considering everything is up, and even the price of alcohol being up, if you can afford to go out and have a drink, you can pay for a ride accordingly.

Which says you either have not gone out for a while or a little keyboard warrior =)

Package of 10 used to cost 100, now its rm 135.

• Jeremy on May 20, 2022 at 11:29 am

Here in UK, they have cut down bar operating hours, refusal to sell alcohol to clearly drunks, and added restriction hours for selling alcohol, and mandate nondriving designated driver in a group, all for the purpose to reduce drunk driving offenses & accidents, yet if done the same in Malaysia you will find netizens shouting about Taliban state, intrusion of their personal freedom & human rights to drink until pass out, PASUMNO extremism, trampling on their religion & culture to drink until pass out, and ultimately meddling in their choice to get early liver failure. And yet funny how our UK citizen never make noise, I guess Malaysia has more freedom & democracy than UK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Human Species R&D foundation on May 20, 2022 at 1:08 pm

Asian drinking culture is more unique than British, drinkibg behavior similar to Tokyo Osaka or Kolkata Mumbai

• There is no more minimum RM1k fine after they amended the law in 2020. New law will be minimum fine of RM10k up to RM35k *AND* jail time maximum up to 2 years *AND* license suspension minimum 2 years