2022 Peugeot 408 teased – next-gen is a fastback crossover instead of a sedan; debuts later in June

Peugeot has released the first official teaser for the all-new 408, which will make its full debut near the end of June this year. According to the French carmaker, the next 408 will be a “brand new model in the Lion Brand range” and is described as a “new species of Peugeot.”

The provided image doesn’t show a lot of the vehicle, as we only get to see the 408’s front grille that featuring a dashed pattern for the insert similar to the latest 308 and 3008, albeit vertically oriented. Also visible is a very small portion of the LED headlamps, which will likely be aggressively styled to match current Peugeot models, along with Peugeot’s new emblem and the 408 lettering.

However, the company did state in its release that the upcoming 408 “combines the characteristic codes of SUVs with a dynamic fastback silhouette.” This is a big deal as it marks a departure from the previous two generations of the 408 that were sedans – both were launched in Malaysia previously.

Spyshots of the model confirm the crossover fastback design, with notable cues being a raised ground clearance paired with a steeply raked roof and long rear overhang. Details are scarce for now, but the 408 will likely be underpinned by the EMP2 platform and be offered with a range of plug-in hybrid, petrol or even all-electric powertrains.

Peugeot ends it release by saying the 408 will be a global car, although there’s no indication on which markets will get it following its debut later this month.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 02, 2022 at 5:35 pm

It has to be EV. Peugeot ICE too many issues. Even the latest 1.2 PureTech has designing defect. The timing belt (sitting inside the engine) need replacement after XXX mileage OR ELSE the stuffy worn-out would clog the engine.

• bosskuku on Jun 02, 2022 at 9:37 pm

Meanwhile H-turbo … the fuel will mix and dilute the engine oil and need oil change frequently for protection LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • aumeow on Jun 03, 2022 at 9:59 am

That’s why honda turbo engines always have oil dilution problem. Safe don’t buy honda turbo engine car

• Why So Serious? on Jun 02, 2022 at 10:25 pm

If their ICE cannot last what makes you so sure their EV will last?

• Alain on Jun 02, 2022 at 11:07 pm

Proton most stupidest bodo to reject the might peugeot offer. Padan muka proton

• Contradiction on Jun 03, 2022 at 8:46 am

Proton cannot make enough cars to sell, meanwhile Pug Gurun Kedah plant is still idle.

• Reject because Proton still want to hold majority share. Actually, Proton no nore a national brand, it is only a crony’s private company. Only Geely willing to accept the offer. That’s the reason, Mr. Lee even is CEO still unable to really change Proton. Culture difference here. When a little bit not happy, union organize a trike to threaten management. Labour laws protect them to unreasonable extend. I have experience, lawyer advised could not fire a staff that caught took drug during working hours as needed to give 3 times warning or else company would need to compendate the useless stafd if he made the case to court.

• Aura89 on Jun 03, 2022 at 11:18 am

Taking drugs is a criminal offense whether it is at home or at work. By not reporting to the police you and your workplace is complicit with condoning such behaviour and this goes way beyond labour laws jurisdiction, a real lawyer would have told you so so either you are lying or you are a partner trying to cover up that crime. I find your statement suspicious in the facts of your comment.

• There are many types of drugs. You know all the drugs. Before you know the faxct, keepo your smart for youeself!

• Sasha on Jun 06, 2022 at 12:50 pm

BS

• bolehland on Jun 03, 2022 at 7:12 am

Smart move, Stellantis. The previous 408 sedans are rubbish anyway.

Hope this new “old-school rally sedan copycat” doesn’t flop lol.

• I drive a peugot 509 ,already 8 years on the road ,still runs very well ,no major issues

• Welcoming new lions. I’m the user of 5008 and 508 since 2014. You may spend more times to take good care of it but worth doing it. At least for me. Overall driverability, comfort and safety (above all else in 2014 for the price). Even subsequently I hv upgraded to other higher end cars . If you’re a car guy no problem!