2022 Kia Carnival CKD open for booking – 7- or 8-seater, 12.3-inch instrument display, RM235k-260k est

It looks like the locally-assembled Kia Carnival will finally be launched soon. A dealer in Seri Kembangan, AZ Master Motor, has announced on Facebook that the CKD MPV is open for booking, five months after the car arrived in Malaysia in fully-imported form.

An estimated price range was included in the flyer provided, and contrary to common practice, the CKD model is actually more expensive than the CBU. And quite a bit more at that – the new model, which will be offered in three variants, is estimated to be priced between RM235,000 and RM260,000. Contrast that against the existing imported version, which slides under the RM200,000 barrier at RM196,341.

The reason behind this price hike is that Kia Malaysia has listened to customer feedback and specced the Carnival as a seven- or eight-seater, which should provide more interior legroom and a less compromised seating layout (plus three-point seat belts for all passengers). The car was initially brought in as an 11-seater, allowing it to be classified as a commercial vehicle – affording it lower taxes as a result.

At least the car should come with a greater level of equipment to offset the higher pricing. While specifications and equipment have yet to be revealed, the dealer has confirmed that the CKD model will be offered with the available 12.3-inch digital instrument display, which is sorely missing in the CBU car. Hopefully some driver assistance features like autonomous emergency braking will be added, too, as these were also omitted.

Expect the Carnival to soldier on with the same 2.2 litre R turbodiesel engine as before, producing 202 PS and 440 Nm of torque and mated to an eight-speed automatic gearbox. Read our review of the 11-seater version here.

GALLERY: 2022 Kia Carnival 11-seater CBU in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mr. Sotong on Jun 16, 2022 at 4:16 pm

Gonna be interesting to read the comments on this one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Ahmadjr on Jun 16, 2022 at 7:12 pm

Since the yellow skinned Oppa kim pangon becomes the most successful Msian bola coach, this Korean mpv shud be priced lower then exora… Hidup jiran china!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • This is foreign car. Exora is domestic car.

• Casual reader on Jun 17, 2022 at 11:42 am

Pan gon is korean not chinese. Are you drunk?

• Read carefully la dey. He said Pan Gon is korean and korea is neighbouring country to China (jiran China).

• GenY AEB on Jun 16, 2022 at 4:22 pm

Hope to see AEB and ACC.

No Fatigue driving balik kampung..
    Save the right food, save the body posture, no fatigue, no dizziness.

Enjoy steering with Starbucks..

• bauto perangai dia dah mcm umwtoyota dulu, semua mahal & spec tak best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • zeerz on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:42 pm

umwtoyota skrg pun sama beb..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • You mean honda malaysia spec is like old umw toyota days. Honda safety system still can’t keep up with other brands. Don’t know why honda still can’t lacking of rcta and 360 degree camera. Civic also downgrade from dual zone automatic control and full digital meter till single zone automatic control and half digital meter, also remove temperature meter. Quality for honda is too cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • Mr Toyota salesman, enough lah. This is talking about Kia but every article also you whack Honda. You think saying bad things about Honda will help Toyota sales? Lol. Sorry, I’m not buying it. Honda has nothing that interests me now but because of people like you, I will TOTALLY not buy Toyota.

No matter how tempting the GR86 is. You just spoilt it for me. This hate culture of you young people is just pissing me off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Hello, I told you earlier, I am not toyota fanboy. I owned X50, Mazda CX-8 and Myvi only. I don’t owned Toyota and Honda. I don’t talk badmouth any of the brands and I didn’t spoilt you but because those toxic and fanboyism from Honda are still having their free time for always bad image to so many other brands until now including Kia but aftersales and quality for honda also fail, spare parts for honda also failure, design also fail, spec also fail and no matter how good honda logo is? People won’t buy honda again, same goes for me I won’t TOTALLY buy honda.

• James raja on Jun 20, 2022 at 9:37 pm

No honda still good value

• TOYOTA IS GONE TO D POOREST QUALITY FOR A DECADE NOW…N D MEGA MILLIONS 9F CALL BACK DUE TO D ACCELERATOR FAILURE WITH D BRAKING SYSTEM…HAD PAID OUT BILLIONS
        TAKE A GOOD LOOK AT TOYOTA ALL VEHICKES…ITS WORST THAN D TIN CAN BODY WORKS…YET PPL R BLURR???

• Critics will be like..
    When below RM200k, complain the spec
    When got nice spec now, complain the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • David on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:14 pm

Shiok sendiri Kimchi brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • No one will buy. OTR is the best proof. Even it has improved the comfort but with the proce hike……..Korean car makers think that their sales volume increased, they can match conti cars but once they set the price high, the sales will tell u the fact.

Stinger, even european car reviwers said that it was a good car but at the end, stopped production. No matter how good is the car, the brand does not support it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • bieight8 on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:29 pm

Who would pay 260k for a kia….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • lepatpisang on Jun 17, 2022 at 10:54 am

who wouldn’t? better specs than vellphard (naik genting/cameron pun semput).. nowadays people no longer look at resale value..

• You can buy the 3.5 instead of 2.5. Vellfire and Alphard for T0.1, not for M40.

• Sabrikor,Ajibkor,Hamidikor (SAH) on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:29 pm

Under Bermaz care,the after sales service is much better than the failed Naza brudders.
    There is finally a glimmer of hope for KIA enthusiasts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • Mr. Sotong on Jun 17, 2022 at 9:03 am

Enthusiasts are few and far in between.

The company will not survive.

They must appeal to the masses first or else might as well cut the losses now and move on to the next project.

• dong gor on Jun 16, 2022 at 6:00 pm

Kia pls order/ build more so you won’t regret after the first 5 are sold out :)

• tricycle on Jun 16, 2022 at 6:16 pm

Adaptive cruise control with stop n go function is a must.

• Price is not a carnival at all. Bye2 kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Sad that they actually took the initiative to CKD it because I don’t think it’ll sell well at all. We’re too much of a price-sensitive and badge-sensitive market. RM225k and above no need to think — it’s straight-up only a BMW and Merc playing field for now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Not apple to apple, what type of Mercedes/BMW MPV that can carry 8 people with comfort for RM225K?

• intermilan on Jun 20, 2022 at 3:31 pm

Thed probably swallow to much air ketum da..
        RM235k might only get you a basic 3 series 320i.
        Now let’s compared 320i with Carnival.

• Hybrid Owner on Jun 16, 2022 at 7:34 pm

Once proton X90 launch early next year 2023, Bermaz auto will stop CKD of this model in 2023 due to poor demand carry forward from 2022 for Malaysia market. CKD of this model will continue if Bermaz can export to other ASEAN countries.This is my personal prediction. Wait n see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Lato Singh yadda on Jun 16, 2022 at 8:26 pm

If some 1wan to have it make sure it always sec ice from sc even after warranty period expired, just make sure kia hyundai service would be same costs like conti brands

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 16, 2022 at 8:31 pm

alphard vellfire recon guys not worried

• Joe Jambul on Jun 16, 2022 at 10:23 pm

Kia Malaysia. Please bring Kia Soul

• Lchanms on Jun 17, 2022 at 8:40 am

Good luck trying to sell it at this price now. If anything, one should already learn to never listen to msian consumer cause they like to demand and say things, but never put into action. How many car manufacturer have brought in special models and cannot sell after listening to customer feedback.

• Lah Din on Jun 17, 2022 at 9:49 am

people rather go for recon Alphard or Vellfire at this price range

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • farghmee on Jun 17, 2022 at 10:18 am

with less seating, price CKD > CBU ?

• is the tax tariff that make the dfferent. Commercial vechicles are cheaper!

• Choong Khim Fen on Jun 17, 2022 at 11:20 am

I wonder why not keep the 11 seat as commercial vehicle and get better reduce tax and add on other like AEB and digital cluster instrument. Just keep the last seat folded then can use as 8 seater. Why not tak advantage of the tax reduction as comercial vehicle, the CBU model they still sell as private vehicle even as commercial vechicle why not this. Am i missing other information?

• Starex owmner on Jun 17, 2022 at 7:16 pm

Agreed… the last row can just being folded to become 8 seaters…. price is the concern. Same like Alza.. most of the users just used them as myvi with extra bonnet.

• intermilan on Jun 20, 2022 at 3:46 pm

You should take the efforts to investigate further.

Space between the rows of these seat choices (11 vs 8 vs 7) is different. 7 and 8 seaters have better legroom and seats.

The middle seat in 2nd rows onwards for 11-seats is not safe or comfortable and when folded, take space unnecessarily and look fugly.

And with respect, this isn’t Alza / Avanza / Exora / Innova / BRV type of MPV in any shape or form.

This is aimed to be near premium / premium and it’s a proper full size MPV.

The 11 seater configuration make it a little claustrophobic, but 7 and 8 seater configuration should addressed that.

• Kia owner on Jun 17, 2022 at 10:35 pm

Hi Kia, before start selling new models. Please bring back the service centers at all states first. Improve in servicing and spare parts replacement. Although I’m waiting for the new Sorento. I have to wait and see if Kia has improved in after sales services. Else, buy a car but no Kia service centers available nearby.

• Shamsul on Jun 18, 2022 at 2:37 pm

Aku rasa this is the 1st time CKD more expensive than CBU.

• Garry on Jun 18, 2022 at 3:28 pm

In the all the people that complain are the ones that are brand snobs and can’t afford but act like they can. The CBU model selling at 200k (much more expensive than the highest spec previous gen) is selling like hotcakes and has a waiting period of 3-4 months. Maybe the CKD won’t sell at that level but it will definitely sell. And yes the CKD spec will feature all the latest AEB and ADAS features for the price. Plus having the added benefit of 5 years free service and warranty. Everyone complained why 11 seater not 8 , when they actually listen and bring in , complain again. Go and wait for your X90 la or buy your shitbox washing machines from scummy recond dealers . Atleast when your neighbor will praise you for driving Aplhard kosong than a “Shitty” kia. Malaysians want BMW level specs for myvi pricing. Complain no.1.

• intermilan on Jun 20, 2022 at 3:56 pm

These people who complaints and shitting on it isn’t the ones that asked for 7/8 seaters Carnival.

Probably ‘kosong’ Alphard / Vellfire owners? Well who cares anyway.

The ones that give feedback earlier are waiting patiently for official launching.. or perhaps since the news finally started to come out, already / should be planning to place a booking ASAP and hope to be eligible for SST exemption.

• Micht on Jun 21, 2022 at 7:58 pm

Those buying Ahpak or Vefailer are just FOMO. Such fugly cars with the ugly chromes, skirtings, air vents and bumpers. Out of proportion boxy cartoon car. Sad thing is ppl lack taste, so many on the road today. Neighbors left right front back must buy one. Father drives one, wife need a colola, and teenage kids will get the bios. (Oopps not the computer bios). A real eyesore on the road.

• Macha on Jul 01, 2022 at 11:06 am

I had a KIA Spectra and Toyota Vios previously…. i would say the Kia drove better, way much more comfortable and not a single issue which required a warranty claim….
    Currently i have a Honda Accord and Hyundai Tucson…. frankly speaking, the Hyundai drives better than the Honda with no issues
    I would say the quality of Korean Cars are similar or better than Japanese Cars… Its just than the resale value for Korean Cars are low due to low sales volume…
    I would go for Carnival anytime compared to recon Welfire… As fuel prices expected to go up, diesel/hybrid would be a better option…