Eclimo launches mobile food “truck” based on ES-11 electric scooter in Malaysia – from RM20/day to rent

Eclimo, a Malaysian-owned electric vehicle (EV) company, has launched a new mobile food “truck” based on its existing ES-11 electric scooter.

According to the company, the specialty e-bikes were customised to accommodate a carrier bag with a built-in power outlet for appliances like a grill or stove. The ES-11’s battery monitoring system (BMS) is responsible for power delivery, which the company says allows mobile food entrepreneurs to “cook nasi lemak, toss a pizza or make satay on the go.”

The ES-11 features a 3.078-kWh lithium-ion battery that can be recharged via a conventional three-pin power socket. Fully charged, the battery delivers up to 100 km of range and the BMS will monitor battery health and send out alerts if necessary.

There’s also a mobile app with features like vehicle tracking and geo-fencing so operators can limit range anxiety. The battery powers a wheel hub electric motor with max outputs of 8 PS (8 hp or 6 kW) and 110 Nm of torque, which is good to pull a payload of up to 212 kg.

“As Malaysians, food is our passion and we saw the opportunity to elevate an electric vehicle into creating opportunities for the B40 community to start a small business through this micro-mobility entrepreneurship business model,” said Eclimo executive director, Datuk Dennis Chuah.

“We currently have 25 units of customized bikes which we rent out at between RM20 to RM30 per day per day. We expect to increase this to 100 units before the year end. Carrier bags can be customised according to the unique needs of the individual food vendor,” he added.

Eclimo says the ES-11 has been well received by last-mile delivery riders as well as its clients, which include brand names such as Dome, GrabFood, Huckleberry, DHL and Pos Malaysia. The company recently announced a partnership with Gentari – a subsidiary of Petronas – for a Vehicle-as-a-Service (VaaS) pilot last month. It will also look to expand its fleet of customised e-bikes to food vendors in the ASEAN region next year.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sabrikorkor on Jul 14, 2022 at 5:44 pm

All Panda.Grab,lalamove riders MUST incorporate this type of food kotak.
    At present,those fabric bags are dirty,tend to senget,n unsightly.
    Hello,our menteri memantau…make it mandatory for riders to have clean,steady and safe food boxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Norlia on Jul 14, 2022 at 6:38 pm

Current food box is flexible and light weight for the rider.

Nobody want to fix a partial permanent box to its bike.
      Ppl want thier bike for other daily use.

this EV scoot rm30/day, 20days already need rm6000.
      Apa lagi mau untung?

To charge to your delivery fee?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • hazer on Jul 14, 2022 at 7:27 pm

i think the maths is slightly off here but yes agreed

• Her friend on Jul 14, 2022 at 7:58 pm

“rent out at between RM20 to RM30 per day.”
          The one with box could be at RM30/day.

• Copy Paste on Jul 14, 2022 at 7:51 pm

Puan Norlia
        YOu flung your maths kah? $30×20= $600
        Not Rm6000..faham? How to advice people if simple maths also blur blur?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • Amran on Jul 16, 2022 at 11:56 am

Then charge you extra RM5-10 you complain food prices mahal. Memang bodoh

• Up to you... on Jul 14, 2022 at 11:42 pm

Agreed. Kepam & Filthy bags… I wonder how on earth people can order their food. I only order delivery if the fast food chain send their own rider such as Mcd, pizzahut etc. At least their bag in good condition because they have to meet the standard (auditor will check).

How about others such as grab & panda? Any auditor/health officer gonna spot check them?

• Ya Mentri on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:59 am

As if our mentris got no enough to do already you want to burden them with stupid request to regulate Grab bags?! Maybe they should regulate how you live and what you should or should not type. That will save us 1 less stupidity in this world at least.

• Up to you... on Jul 16, 2022 at 5:16 pm

Not burden. In F&B sector, cleanliness is important. No use if the restaurant, cafe, hawker etc operator get A grade. But at the end of the day will be delivered by that filthy bags…

• Casual reader on Jul 17, 2022 at 6:30 pm

Looks filthy or not Grab n FP have standing policy to ensure their bags r sanitised on regular basis. Appearance can be deceiving ur just scaremongering for nothing.

• Good function EV scoot.

I like how it equipped to support heavy watts cooking appliances.