DBKL plans to close Jalan TAR to traffic on Sundays, pedestrian zone to encourage walking culture

Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman in the capital city will soon be a pedestrian zone on Sundays with no vehicular traffic allowed in. This will start from August 28 if DBKL’s plan is followed through.

According to deputy federal territories minister Datuk Seri Jalaluddin Alias, the idea is to encourage the culture of walking among city folk. DBKL is currently engaging stakeholders in the area.

The exact stretch on Jalan TAR is from the Jalan Esfahan junction (Sogo) to Jalan Tun Perak (near Dataran Merdeka) and the closure to vehicles will be from 6am to midnight, Jalaluddin said in the Dewan Negara yesterday, reported by Bernama.

The deputy minister said that various activities are planned for the pedestrian zone, including buskers, creative art performances and traditional sport programmes. He added that DBKL is also studying proposals to do the same at a stretch between Jalan Pudu and Jalan Bukit Bintang.

If you’ve joined the KL Car-Free Morning before, you would know this Jalan TAR stretch as the final straight for the nearly 7km route, before you make a right turn to go back to the start point, Dataran DBKL. This stretch is much less lively now than what I remember as a child, and many shops have closed – here’s hoping that the pedestrian zone idea will bring back life to Jalan TAR.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• newme on Aug 12, 2022 at 3:44 pm

Cuaca panas nak mampos disuruh jalan kaki. Pastu peragut merata2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • DPM Assmin on Aug 12, 2022 at 5:36 pm

Menteri naik Vellfire,EV.
      Rakyat jalan kaki kena sunburn kawkaw..amboi…pandai nya.

• Unknown on Aug 15, 2022 at 8:16 am

I guess you two noobs have not been down to KL on a sunday. Try it and you can see why DBKL proposed such a move.

• Jawabandar on Aug 15, 2022 at 8:37 am

Agree. DBKL had done it in 2018/2019 I guess under Khalid Samad but retracted to public backlash. It’s good especially for those shoppers who can simply cross the road without worrying about mindless and blind motorists. This is also to encourage walking culture among malaysians.