Perodua Myvi police cars – not pursuit vehicles, but part of PDRM CSR programme for selected districts

The Perodua Myvi has once again become the subject of high rotation on social media, where a handful of the cars in police colours have been seen to be unloaded from a transporter truck.

From images in a now-hidden Facebook post by SM Offroad and Outdoor Equipment (SMOE), the country’s most popular B-segment hatchback appears to have joined the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) fleet of patrol vehicles, as a batch of the cars have been photographed wearing police livery.

While the latest iteration of the Myvi is the facelifted third-generation car, the group of cars in these images are of the pre-facelift 2018 version that was launched towards the end of 2017.

According to the Facebook post that is no longer visible, SMOE wrote that all units of the Myvi depicted are part of the carmaker’s corporate social responsibility (CSR) initiative with PDRM, in which the vehicles will be used for “light patrols in selected police districts.”

Some of the cars were seen to be wearing the names of said police districts, such as Ulu Yam Bharu and Serendah; both are located close to Perodua headquarters and manufacturing in Rawang, Selangor. Notable aspects include the body colour of silver, which is normally white for official police vehicles, and the cars here are also seen with Perodua stickers.

As mentioned, the vehicles here are of the pre-facelift iteration, which means that the powertrain in this range-topping AV variant will be the 1.5 litre 2NR-VE engine producing 102 hp and 136 Nm of torque, which is sent to the front wheels via a four-speed torque converter automatic rather than the D-CVT unit of the latest, facelifted model.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Habis laa, now no one can outrun the police

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • IGP mom on Aug 12, 2022 at 11:51 am

More importantly, who is contracting this? Another company like Spanco that charge exorbitant fees for the fleet?

• No more littoral combat shit on Aug 12, 2022 at 5:05 pm

If it isnt Spanco,it will be the Litoral combat ship pirates..full of deepshit.

• Troll Hunter on Aug 15, 2022 at 9:37 am

This is a car blog, here we talk about automotive. You want to talk about ships & shits, leave now and go another blog.

• hahdhd on Aug 12, 2022 at 12:05 pm

CSR tapi bagi model lama? hmmmmm

• Kambeng on Aug 12, 2022 at 12:17 pm

Criminals nationwide breathe a sigh of relief

• gjhsh on Aug 12, 2022 at 12:31 pm

i thought to escort royal towtrucks…

• Ajibkor on Aug 12, 2022 at 12:49 pm

Aiyahyah..Just go spanco workshop ,turbo the engine Kawkaw…can catch snatch thrives n rempits.Don’t waste Myvi…King of the road.

• Alex Vostox on Aug 12, 2022 at 1:41 pm

Pretty sure it was for Auxiliary Police instead for RMP.

• 7yearsfd1 on Aug 12, 2022 at 2:01 pm

Not for pursuit?! That what Myvi made for! Its the King Myvi for a reason!

• bahagian kawalan banjir…

• dong gor on Aug 12, 2022 at 2:22 pm

This is indeed a very suitable car in the city. low maintenance, low petrol consumption, cheaper to own! that’s how rakyat’s money should be spent. when u turn on the siren and blinking blue light, ppl will give way and with this nimble car, u can get to your emergency place as fast as a civic type R.

• Uncle Joe Low on Aug 12, 2022 at 4:20 pm

All the big spending MPs m Aduns should be given the turbo versions of Myvi or Alza .Just drop money pit EV project.Cannot perform,asking for Vellfire n EVs..tidak Ada Maruah..just pathetic…just wasting tax Rm

• Saving on Aug 12, 2022 at 4:22 pm

Maintenance cost should be cheap liao, cannot claim kao kao liao.

• Ben Yap on Aug 12, 2022 at 6:21 pm

my civic 1.5 turbo can outrun the Myvi police car with ease.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Police 4wd you're just fwd on Aug 12, 2022 at 10:33 pm

The Evolution X will pull you over in no time then

• Mohd Fakrul on Aug 13, 2022 at 8:31 am

no one is asking you.

• newme on Aug 15, 2022 at 9:10 am

We don’t believe you. Why don’t you do some crime and see if can you can outrun to prove it.

• Brian on Aug 13, 2022 at 1:12 am

UNPOPULAR OPINION: Perodua Ativa makes a good police patrol car. It’s cheap to buy, easy to maintain, cheap to run, an SUV, and it’s aggressive looking (especially at the front). Small enough to maneuver around towns and cities. Big enough to be intimidating. Add in a bumper bar, in addition to police decals and lights and you got yourself a great patrol car. I don’t get the fixation on C-segment vehicles.

• Hafiz on Aug 13, 2022 at 11:43 pm

We dont put cctv of tree. We put myvi on tree.

• newme on Aug 15, 2022 at 9:08 am

Bagi model lama pre-facelift. Kedekut sangat. Ntah stock yang terjual kot.