Malaysian Army battle tank breaks down along Jalan Damansara, on slip road near Carcosa to KL Sentral

Heavy vehicles breaking down on city streets and causing traffic jams are a relatively common sight, so much so no one bothers taking a second look. This one, however, was definitely worth more than a passing glance to those driving past it, because it’s not something you see every day.

Earlier this morning, a Malaysian Army main battle tank broke down along Jalan Damansara, at the slip road near Carcosa to Kuala Lumpur Sentral. The incident was reported by DBKL’s Kuala Lumpur Control and Command Centre via its Twitter account.

The Polish-built PT-91M Pendekar MBT, of which the armed forces has four dozen units of, broke down on the bridge section of the slip road, effectively blocking the second left most lane. While it’s definitely not common to have tracked heavy armour running on civilian roads, such practice is permissible (with careful driving), and according to reports, the tank was being used for the Merdeka parade rehearsal that took place in the morning.

It was also reported that the 46 tonne vehicle had been securely removed to a safe location, likely through the use of a military low-loader, or tank transporter. It wasn’t revealed if the operation needed the assistance of a recovery tractor to winch the disabled tank on board, or if it managed to get on under its own power.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the blog post mainly focus on criticism of the Malaysian Army’s tank maintenance and age, with many highlighting that the PT-91 tanks are around 14 years old and prone to breakdowns, drawing parallels to car maintenance. Some debate the quality of Western versus Russian equipment, with claims that Russian tanks are more reliable based on recent conflicts such as Ukraine. Several comments mock the breakdown incident as a sign of poor military preparedness and criticize government procurement choices, implying corruption and outdated assets. Others humorously compare military vehicles to everyday cars, emphasizing mechanical failures are normal. Overall, sentiments range from skepticism about military readiness and equipment quality to lighthearted jokes, with many expressing frustration over perceived military neglect and maintenance issues.

• Get Abraham M1 dude. Russian tanks failed bigly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • The M1s sold to Iraq were easily penetrated by RPG rounds and because it does not have ERA like PT91, it was an easier kill compared to Russian type tanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • rakyat on Aug 26, 2022 at 5:15 pm

Just like LCS we have, RM6 Billion project but some parts gone into the pocket of minster’s wife. If this were in Russia, the ministers will have to face the wrath of Putin. But here is OK because of the culture of our government. We are proud of the achievement of our government this Merdeka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 58
        • Copy Paste on Aug 26, 2022 at 5:35 pm

Copy paste: “want to talk politic, somewhere else. Here, only automotive! Get lost!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 31
          • Najib on Aug 26, 2022 at 6:16 pm

Tengkiu for ur support, my money well spent on hiring you guys. Yes, continue to downvote the opposition and upvote yourself, people will believe if we continue to do this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
          • Copy Paste on Aug 27, 2022 at 2:25 am

Copy paste: “Liverpool. You will never walk alone”

• Righto humour me. How is the LCS any relevant here, do you drive this ship on the Merdeka parade grounds? Do share your secret. SMH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • newme on Aug 26, 2022 at 5:00 pm

It’s Abrams.

• SohaiWesternBot on Aug 27, 2022 at 11:16 am

Abraham tanks? Hhahahahahaha. USA weapons are all junks bro. Ask any Taliban. They use stone and toyota hilux already enough to tapau USA and NATO. Russian weapons are the best. Look at Ukraine. Shrinking so fast. USA spent 20 years in afghanistan and got nothing. Russia use 6% power already sapu all the land they wanted in 6 months. Now they are on bonus stage

• jagat malaysia on Aug 26, 2022 at 2:39 pm

fuel meter faulty, run out of diesel, tank driver bad luck

• We must remember these are 13-14 year old vehicles and they do malfunction and do breakdown as any other types of vehicles. A car breakdown in the middle of a highway, nobody will give a frack, it is only this above that becomes a newspiece and the internet explodes with stupid comments from clueless people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
      • Gomorrah on Aug 27, 2022 at 12:55 am

Is aforementioned car part of national defense?

• Brian on Aug 27, 2022 at 9:52 am

We have 48 of them. If our national defence are so strained that we cannot even afford 1 unit down for maintenance, then our defence is truly f*cked.

• Sick&Tired on Aug 28, 2022 at 2:05 pm

You are right!! Cars and tanks breaking down are the same thing! In fact, it’s more common to see tank’s breaking down than cars.

• In fact they do. The HIMARS USA sent early in Ukraine war now needed to be replaced, that is just after a few months of use. Compare that with cars that you use for 10-20 years and you’ll find the ROI for military weapons are very low but that’s not the point, isn’t it?

• sayaPandai on Aug 31, 2022 at 8:12 am

What car u guys using? My Nissan sunny 30 years already never break down once also.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2022 at 2:52 pm

Good luck in a war. I think we won’t be able to deploy tanks to the Causeway even after a week.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
    • Yeah sure. Just one tank broke down and you think we cannot deploy all the other 47 units. Whatmore you are expecting us go to war with Singapore what with your “deploy tanks to the Causeway”. Yeah as laughable as Madey trying to paint our southern neighbours as the bad guys. Come on this joke has died when he stepped down the first time, our relationship with them have grown much closer since, perhaps the closest ever in our shared history of animosity. And with MRT Transit and HSR our two nations will come even closer than ever. Good luck trying to wage your one man war against our neighbours ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 16
    • Our military doctrine not only on MBT assault dude.

• Hmmmm on Aug 26, 2022 at 6:00 pm

If they want to deploy tank at the causeway, they wont park them at Gemas in the first place.

If they follow your war ‘strategy’ liao lor…

• newme on Aug 26, 2022 at 3:37 pm

Even if you turn on the vehicle engine once a year for the parade, you still need to service it every 10000km or 6 months, whichever comes first. Takkan ni pun nak diajar.

• “every 10000km or 6 months, whichever comes first.”
      This is only for warranty purposes. As with cars, do you notice your service center will contact you in 6 months interval for servicing during warranty period but stopped doing so after the warranty has ended?
      These tanks are above 10 years old so they no longer have warranties. Servicing interval depends on storage conditions and clocked hours of use.

• Skeptical on Aug 26, 2022 at 3:41 pm

Ini battle tank carry what vehicle logo, if DRB, can call Proton Care for towing assistance hahaha

• sahak on Aug 26, 2022 at 5:34 pm

Yes DRB-HICOM’s Deftech.

• Made by Bumar Labedy Gliwice, Poland. Deftech only services, maintains and perform the upgrade works on them.

• pengayuhbasikal on Aug 26, 2022 at 3:55 pm

lama sangat simpan dalam gudang kot….

• Belia Benci BN dan Rasuah! on Aug 26, 2022 at 11:58 pm

Bukan lama simpan. Dh barang buruk! Nmpak baru sb tebal cat je tu. Negara luar x pkai da tank jenis ni. Malaysia je bangga. Nk beli baru duit xde. Hbs utk geng BN je…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Kea Was on Aug 26, 2022 at 4:38 pm

Guess what we will be hopeless at war with all this scandal , maintenance and instead of purchase of missiles, weaponry we are more interested to substitute with purchase of Evian water bottles and cotton but for selected personnel only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • There are no scandal, for godsakes it is just a tank that broke down. Tanks are also mechanical creatures and thus have a risk of mechanical failures. If follow your thinking, daily we have cars breaking down on the road, does it mean companies will close down and economy tumble when these daily incidents are a norm?

If you want to find a scandal go ask why Pakatan Govt had cancelled the much needed SPH mobile artillery’s that we had paid for. Money gone but the equipment no longer belongs to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 18
  • Dong Gor on Aug 26, 2022 at 4:44 pm

Tar Road also koyak lor.. The chain wheel will cause whinning road noise for cars after this!

• Dude, never heard of rubber padded? Go google it.

• Hmmmm on Aug 26, 2022 at 5:55 pm

Brader, they use rubber pad when driving on road.
      Also..its not chain wheel…its track.

• The tank transporter aka low loader has an integral powered winch to haul the tank onboard in normal practice mainly due to the tank weight is rear biased with the heavy engine and it will tear up tarmac if let go on the transporter under its own power (it makes 1000HP). For normal use it is okay to tow it up as these tanks are shorn with softer roadgoing tracks when it is to drive on the road.

• Lapsep on Aug 26, 2022 at 4:52 pm

Continental Tank?

• Gomorrah on Aug 26, 2022 at 5:17 pm

So much for being in a state of readiness to defend the country. Heads should roll. If it were possible to make us more of a laughing stock, they have succeeded. Pengkhianat kepada raja dan negara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • I am amused how clueless these civvies are to the workings and preparedness of our armed forces and for sure you just don’t find these downright clueless comments in our military circles and social discussions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Gomorrah on Aug 27, 2022 at 12:49 am

And I am not amused that it’s ok to make a spectacle of our supposed capabilities. Sure you can be supercilious all you want, but if we can’t stump up for a parade of our capability then what? You purport to be a service person, how the hell are we supposed to trust you to do the job if you find this amusing? And don’t give that “trust us we know better” paternalistic nonsense. Show it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • An SG paratrooper got himself into a serious injury during their national day event. Are you also implying just cuz of that incident their armed forces cannot be trusted to do their job? Ridiculous. Which is why I find you civvies here amusing to say the least. Not saying to trust me, but you folks clearly know less from you peeps comments here.

• “Civvies” lol – you’re a joke

• In the land of the blind the one eyed man is king, and you civvies are certainly blind to the workings of our military. LOL

• sahak on Aug 26, 2022 at 5:32 pm

Next two years we will see LCS drifting. But, maybe it is not even siap.

• Same reply I will give this irrelevance.
      https://paultan.org/2022/08/26/malaysian-army-tank-breaks-down-along-jalan-damansara-on-slip-road-near-carcosa-to-kl-sentral/#comment-5153095

• jebat on Aug 26, 2022 at 7:14 pm

non-m always tell bad things about our army. feel annoying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • AlphaSigmaPhi on Aug 26, 2022 at 7:33 pm

One of their IFV broke down too near this same section….

• FrankC on Aug 26, 2022 at 8:50 pm

An event that will for sure get our armed forces Generals take note on the actual condition of our military asset. It is key to our warriors or defenders survival in conflict.
    Luckily we don’t hv to engage in military conflict with our immediate neighbours. Malaysian love peace and mutual growth.. Long live Malaysia and thanks to our armed force.

• Cukur on Aug 26, 2022 at 9:42 pm

Cukurlah ada BN, Malaysia masih aman and damai. Reward a bit to minister’s wife and mistress OK lah. We are not Kremlin, we don’t go to war and no need to fight. Relax and take profit from project jer.

• An event for any type of vehicle. If your car breaks down one day would you just wave it off and continue running or do you get it the mechanic and find out what was the problem? But as bro @joe pointed out, the tanks are not new being dozen of years old and things are bound to break someday the longer we own something.

• Belia Benci BN dan Rasuah! on Aug 26, 2022 at 11:56 pm

Mcm ni ada hati nk perang masa lahad datu. Hahaha buat malu jeee.. lpas tu claim malaysia punye army kuat. Aset canggih!. Hahahaa rosak tgh jalan. Ni baru utk pertunjukan. Blm g berperang!lol..

• T Soh on Aug 27, 2022 at 12:12 am

Let’s hope they’ve done a path assessment to their destination. That stalled tank together with the recovery vehicle and the traffic must be at the upper limits of the bridges loading.

• ROTI CANAI on Aug 27, 2022 at 5:49 am

somebody just used the GTA cheat code to spawn a tank in real life

• Drill Sargent Boi on Aug 27, 2022 at 8:19 am

I SAID ‘LEAVE NO MEN BEHIND’ THE FIRST DAY OF BOOTCAMP YOU #@X@ !!

• KL Commuter on Aug 27, 2022 at 9:57 am

Time to replace this old Eastern Bloc junk with some Leopard 2s. Even the Poles that made them are moving that direction.

• SmartConsumer on Sep 01, 2022 at 8:06 am

these are western bloc junk. Malaysia should start buying from Russia. Proven on the ground right now. All western weapons are getting annihilated everyday and Zelensky is begging for more weapons. Russian artillery and equipment is the best

• BodohPunya on Aug 27, 2022 at 11:12 am

Of course break down la. Our sohai gomen buys European made tanks (poland). We all know western military equipments are overpriced junk. Look at how Americans got defeated by Talibans with stones and toyota hilux only. Russian military equipments are the best. No media hype just pure beast in real life. Look at Ukraine war. Russia weapon tapau them like crazy until Zelensky keeps begging for more western junks everyday because all destroyed easily by Russia

• You do realise the PT91 are evolved from Soviet/Russian T72, so are you praising Soviet/Russian weapons or whacking them? I guess being so confused your name suits you well.

• Sohai on Aug 27, 2022 at 4:24 pm

“Oh rats… we are not sitting ducks sir!”

• FireAce on Aug 27, 2022 at 9:46 pm

Lucky it breakdown now instead in the middle of the parade on the Merdeka day… Itu lagi malu… Live television, showing the whole world, probably will appear in some talk show as Joke-of-The-Day.

• T-72 or PT-91 reverse engineering ( technically Copy and Research ) on Aug 28, 2022 at 9:19 pm

Long Story , take your time to read ya our rakyat Malaysia , stay healthy stay safe and stay away the hate and racist ya. Take care ;) ;).

As far as I remember that after Malaysia government buy this Poland tank ( it’s was around 2006 +/- ) the Malaysia Army put out the Poland tank that they just bought few years ago under the Dr Mahathir leadership, on the merdeka celebrations that time, when my father was still alive ( my father was a former Singapore navy who’s is in the radar department on the Singapore navy ship, yes that’s also Long Long time ago in the 70s ) by that year, me and my father do spotted that, they carrying one or maybe two of the Poland tank using the truck , we do think that the Poland tank Malaysian government just buy , already have a technical problems.

Note , Poland tank PT-91 is actually based on the T-72 design, which is designed from the Soviet ,thus also further upgrade and also continue manufacturing by another nearby russian country. ( etc : Russian, Ukraine, Poland , india as well as other countries that once have been sanctioned by the USA or EU ,[ etc Iran, North Korea and even China too, by reverse engineering to manufacturing their own T-72 ]. Yes fun fact, China once a Long Long time ago, also managed to get the Only One Real T-72 tank , for them to Research or reverse engineering, Technically actually was a Copy and Research. xD . But no joke xD They do did very well on Copying and Research The T-72 haha (Type 96 , Type 99 Type 80, or Type 88…..yaya I know The Man that you guys will be joke about, yes many Chinese people from the China already know that The Man , but to avoid the lucky number 404 they just only keep quiet to stay out of trouble, but trust me, they China people in freedom is A LOT Better than the poor North Korea, at least the China people including Hong Kong or Macao, still can get the gadget, PC , laptop, smartphones and especially gaming console, not 100% can access all the international games, but at least still Much , much better than the North Korea, although the covid does spoiled everything , every country :( …. they do sometimes still cannot design their own best rifles that can competed against the USA . Yes funny that Norinco Copy and Research do produced Tons of good quality infrantry weapons copy from the Soviet, Russian, EU and even USA too. )

• If the alleged is true, then whatever issues then were resolved thru warranty. However these tanks are already 14 years old and are still in active use.

• Truth Seeker on Sep 01, 2022 at 8:10 am

Stop smoking whatever u r smoking. U sound stupid. USA weapons are only good for Hollywood film making, In real life it is junks. Ask how Talibans uses Sticks, stones and a few Toyota Hilux to defeat the Americans. Hahahahaa.