Millions of traffic summons still not paid; 77% of fines on Singaporean cars not settled – Johor police

Johor police chief Datuk Kamarul Zaman Mamat has revealed that a staggering 2.3 million traffic summons have been issued since 2014, according to Malay Mail. So far, only 600,000 summons have been paid.

Of the 2.3 million summons issued, 109,758 traffic summons involve Singaporean vehicles and records show that only 23.5% of Singaporean vehicle owners have paid their summons.

Kamarul pointed out that the highest number of traffic summons were issued for driving over the speed limit and failure to adhere to traffic lights. In the case of Singaporean traffic offenders, it’s worth noting that those with unsettled summons will be prevented from leaving Malaysia under Section 66J of the Road Transport Act 1987 and Section 24(4) of the Police Act 1967.

Kamarul added that the Johor police has initiated a summons reduction programme that starts today until Sunday (October 2nd). During this period, there will be a 50% discount for payment of select offences. The public is urged to settle outstanding summons at all police stations in 13 district headquarters. Operation hours are between 8:30 am to 5 pm daily.

The Vehicle Entry Permit initiative was meant to curb the issue of unpaid summons and reduce traffic offences by foreign vehicles but it has yet to be implemented. This is due to difficulties in getting appointments for RFID tag installation. The original date of enforcement was set for October 1.

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• drMpower on Sep 30, 2022 at 8:39 pm

so how come those people left home if the law said those with unsettled summons barred from leaving malaysia?

and that 50% reduction. please dont tell me its valid for foreign plate vehicle as well?
    charge them in USD. same number, but in USD. RM300 for malaysian. 300 USD for foreign plate vehicle!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Ghani on Oct 01, 2022 at 1:34 pm

Majority are probably old samans on cars that no longer in use ie have been sold to other countries after their 10years COE validity expired. Johor PDRM should highlight which samans are of recent 5 years old, those have more chances of getting back the samans.

• Super on Oct 01, 2022 at 10:54 pm

Why don’t we just ban foreigners! Than no offences

• Jocelyn on Oct 03, 2022 at 4:16 pm

Fines should be changed based on vehicle country of origin. Charge the SG donkeys who like to speed 300SGD and they will think twice.

• Why So Serious on Oct 04, 2022 at 8:13 am

If American tourist driving rental Msian car then how? Charge in USD or RM ah?

• Bring a credit card swiping machine and check every car that come out of the Passport Booth. If they don’t have money ask them swipe card or ask the relatives in Singapore to bring the money to them. Hold the car and the person till paid. If singapore checkpoint can stop malaysian vehicles and hold them till all summons paid then can go. Why can’t we do it. Is the implementation difficult or they are more concern on their own wallets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Kancil Hybrid on Sep 30, 2022 at 10:06 pm

Tak ada yg serius pun usaha nak dptkan bayaran saman tertunggak. Dari dulu semua hot2 chicken shit je. Nak kata apa lagi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Can I advise you something ? on Sep 30, 2022 at 10:24 pm

Time for PDRM to act according to the book.
    No stupid rebates to encourage further tidak apa attitude.
    Those Sinkies who defy our laws…just ban them.
    For locals..go door to door haul them up until they pay the last dime.Not enough manpower,we have thousands of unemployed who just want some honest work.Pay them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • just a joke! Singaporean also dare to challenge useless Malaysia police! They only pandai buka jalan utk VVIP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • t333son on Oct 01, 2022 at 12:20 am

maybe because everyone waiting for discount .. the lopsided logic that rewards delaying the paying of fines. Imagine if the fine doubles every 30 days delay.. wonder who has the guts to risk bankruptcy then

• FudgeMeSideways on Oct 01, 2022 at 1:27 am

What’s stopping PDRM from upholding the law? Operasi besaran le.

• tricycle on Oct 01, 2022 at 8:19 am

chicken

• PM wannabe on Oct 01, 2022 at 2:53 pm

Why is our Home Ministry is sooo incompetent. At the gate of entry to MY, install good cameras, link them with the centralised system to check on any outstanding, and if they do instantly fine the drivers. If this is hard to do, let me become the PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • David on Oct 01, 2022 at 3:07 pm

Same old stories

• Zander on Oct 01, 2022 at 3:47 pm

When Malaysians travel to Singapore and committed a traffic offense,we would we stopped at the checkpoint where the summons have to be settled due to their efficient system.Malaysia could learn something from this rather than complaining about our neighbors not paying fines.

• sgman on Nov 03, 2022 at 4:19 pm

sg have efficient public transports if you want to avoid summon? Malaysia? lol, in Malaysia you get summon when you park in deserted place while crowded place you wont get summon even if you double park

• Kassim Selamat on Oct 01, 2022 at 9:47 pm

Kereta plat asing kalau tak bayar saman terus sita kereta tersebut hanya benarkan pemilik pulang ke nagaranya untuk cari wang untuk menebus kereta tersebutnya.

• They do it because they know us, the subpar everything on Oct 01, 2022 at 10:22 pm

Bash them all the way we want but that also translates to poor implementations of our law here.

• Danny on Oct 03, 2022 at 10:37 am

Feel like every year hearing the same thing.
    Discount on summons and Singaporeans not paying the summons.
    Would be good to hear some actions from our police.

• Gomorrah on Oct 03, 2022 at 7:25 pm

PDRM Johor chief reveals the number of unpaid summons. Also can be read as “1.7 million revenue generating opportunities missed”. Just do your job la. Why wait until a decade has passed?

• Navin on Oct 04, 2022 at 6:01 am

Joker la. Why don’t just stop them from enetering Malaysia.

• sgsgs on Nov 03, 2022 at 4:24 pm

sg have efficient public transports if you want to avoid summon? Malaysia? lol, in Malaysia you get summon when you park in deserted place while crowded place you wont get summon even if you double park