Blueshark – EPMB granted MITI licence to CKD electric bikes in Malaysia; targets 50,000 units per year

Automotive parts manufacturer EP Manufacturing has been granted a manufacturing license by the ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) for the assembly and manufacture of electric bikes in the country, the parts manufacturer announced in a statement.

This comes after the company’s wholly-owned subsidiary, EP Blueshark had received approval by the road transport department (JPJ) for the licensing and registration of its electric two-wheeler products, which itself followed the conditional approval for the construction of its first manufacturing plant in Malaysia. This upcoming plant will be located in Glenmarie, Shah Alam in Selangor.

The approval from MITI was granted under the Industrial Coordination Act 1975, and has been applied retrospectively from July 25, 2022, the company said.

This manufacturing license enables EP Blueshark to import electric bike components in semi-knocked down (SKD) and/or completed knocked down (CKD) forms in order to be assembled and manufactured in Malaysia, for distribution into the local and ASEAN markets, the statement continued.

Blueshark R1 electric scooter

Having received the manufacturing license from MITI, EP Manufacturing will, in its initial years be on its way to producing 50,000 units of the Blueshark electric scooter per year, it said, and foresees that future demand will call for increased production capacity.

In March this year, EP Manufacturing signed an agreement with Sharkgulf Technologies Group and CIS Pride Silver Rock Fund for the manufacture and distribution of two-wheeled EVs in Malaysia and other Southeast Asian markets. Sharkgulf makes the Blueshark R1, an electric scooter rated to produce 6.7 hp, powered by two 1.44 kWh batteries for a combined 2.88 kWh of capacity. Total range is a claimed 160 km at 25 km/h.

The Blueshark R1 weighs 92 kg without batteries, has a payload rating of 200 kg and a seat height of 760 mm, along with linked front and rear disc brakes.

Its starter system is operated by a fingerprint sensor, while a keyless unlocking system provides access to the underseat storage compartment. There are front and rear recording cameras, and rear-facing ultrasonic sensors monitor the Blueshark R1’s distance from surrounding vehicles.

GALLERY: Blueshark R1

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• FudgeMeSideways on Oct 03, 2022 at 6:24 pm

25km/h nuisance on the road. Betul ada plat nombor ke?

• Lets See on Oct 03, 2022 at 7:10 pm

Do u prefer silent death coming towards u at 100kmph then?

• Raymond Kiing on Oct 03, 2022 at 7:50 pm

Slower kmh accident rate is higher than High kmh

• Lets See on Oct 04, 2022 at 6:30 pm

It has been proven that speed kills. Unless your afraid of a toddler on his tricycle…

• Mike Tee on Oct 07, 2022 at 11:59 am

My brother got a saman for doing 34mph in a 30mph while driving in the UK and got fined £1,000. They gave him an alternative to the fine, by attending a 3 hour (was 2.5hrs in the end) Speed Awareness Course via Zoom back home.

He thought it’d be a dumb course where you just sit through 3 hours of dross but came away learning a whole lot and he swears he will be a lot less likely to speed.

Anyway in reply to your assumption, one thing he learned was that the *speed difference* at impact between traveling at 31mph and 30mph is 8mph or 13kmh. Enough to cause serious injury or kill.

Please do not try to justify speeding. Speed kills

• Kapchai on Oct 03, 2022 at 7:36 pm

If u run @ 25km/h, u can do 160km from a relatively small 2no. 2.88kWh battery.

https://paultan.org/2022/07/28/ep-manufacturing-signs-agreement-for-production-sales-of-blueshark-ev-two-wheelers-in-malaysia/
      0-50 km/h is done in 4.9 seconds and top speed is 80 km/h
      5 kW (6.7 hp) and 201 Nm of torque,
      excellent pickup torque for Hilly area use.

1. Braking is by front and rear disc brakes which are linked.
      2. Front and rear cameras that record the vehicle’s journeys.
      3. Rear-facing ultrasonic sensors monitor the distance from other vehicles behind it.

• White elephant on Oct 03, 2022 at 9:46 pm

Another white elephant

• Katheryne Wong on Oct 03, 2022 at 11:40 pm

Raw calculation:
    160 km at 25 km/h.
    80 km at 50 km/h.
    40 km at 75 km/h.
    I prefer regular petrol bike than this electric bike.

• Ah Chong on Oct 05, 2022 at 8:55 am

Me too, but there’s place for this. Imagine a suburb community that is rapidly growing, and the shops that you used to be able to park right outside now has no more parking spot. You only have big cars that you use to commute to work quite far away, but it’s too troublesome to have to drive 3 minute to the shops and walk 5 minutes because there’s no parking.

This is when such scooter make sense, you probably never use the scooter more than 10km from your house, and you can easily charge it just outside your home, and you don’t wake up your neighbour in your quiet neighbourhood in the morning when you go out.

• KYspeaks on Oct 04, 2022 at 7:53 am

When are we getting some legit electric bikes that can go say… 80km/h for 200km that isn’t BMW..

• @Snakebabu on Oct 04, 2022 at 8:12 am

what’s the retail on this?
    kena jual kidney ka?

• Fur ODC on Oct 04, 2022 at 9:07 am

Cute. And just like your laptop… if it hangs, just press and hold the on/off switch for 5 seconds to restart the bike.

• Ground europe passenger on Oct 05, 2022 at 9:01 am

25km/hr can pakai in taman only. Better kayuh basikal jer can bersenam.

• Farqal on Oct 13, 2022 at 10:10 am

80km/h top speed

• LESLIE on Nov 08, 2022 at 11:51 am

where do you plan to set up these so called battery swapping stations. Mind you Malaysia is not like Taiwan, where this technology works well there and ppl there do not steal or vandalise public property. Unlike here in Malaysia