Budget 2023: RM20 million for drag strips in Malaysia

During his Budget 2023 speech, Finance Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Zafrul Abdul Aziz announced the Malaysian government would allocate RM20 million to build drag racing strips in the country. However, there were no details on where the allocation would be spent or for how many drag strips.

This budget announcement follows Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob’s statement in August, where he said there would be a government proposal to construct purpose-built drag circuits for every state in Malaysia.

“At this point there are two drag circuits built, that is in Terengganu and Melaka,” said the PM during the RXZ Members 4.0 2022 gathering that was held at the Terengganu International Drag Strip in Gong Badak.

Ismail added when the drag strips were completed, it would be an opportunity for the youth to be seriously involved in motorsports through proper channels.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Bieight8 on Oct 07, 2022 at 6:53 pm

Amazing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 07, 2022 at 11:03 pm

Tenkiu, trims kaseh, xie xie, rumba nandri to a caring gomen that actively promotes sports & other world class activities. All young patriotic UNDI18 rakyat will remember this magnanimous gesture come GE15. Only nonpatrotics UNDI18 tak kesah can GTH and GTFO!

#BetterNation
      #SportingNation
      #KeluargaMalaysia
      #Malaysia4PatrioticRakyatMalaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
  • Haidi on Oct 07, 2022 at 7:21 pm

Wth????!

• Mr Fakta on Oct 07, 2022 at 7:29 pm

I paid tens of thousands in income tax just so that they could waste it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Going GE poll station in James Bond speedboat on Oct 07, 2022 at 8:05 pm

If they think the mat rempit problem can be solved this way,in future some dudes will lobby for 1 billion Rm,dont be surprised.
      Mat rempits, just go to those hot areas,round them up,lock up for a month..this will save more tax Ringgit.
      IN the pretext of “pleasing the rempits”,some ‘wisemen”,lobby for more of such facilities.This is how,they create “money pits”,made famous by the famed USA mechanic Scotty Kilmer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Mr Fakta on Oct 07, 2022 at 9:16 pm

I bet the 20mil budget, 19.5mil will masuk poket along the way. Mark my word, you’ll only see one or two drag strip with poor quality build and abandoned in just 3 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • Jeremy on Oct 08, 2022 at 12:05 pm

You can ignore him mate. He is just the regular troller here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • Melania Rosmah on Oct 09, 2022 at 1:51 pm

Bodo jeremy.,u will be the most ignored,since u cant disagree with others in a harmonious manner.

• Jeremy on Oct 10, 2022 at 12:07 pm

There is nothing to disagree. When you come out with such idiotic comments, it rightly should be called out as such.

• Bossku on Oct 10, 2022 at 6:07 am

Big deal! There are people who paid more than you. Should they get a lorong named after them for their contributions? It’s not so much what they are doing with tax Ringgit, but why? What good could possibily come from building this infrastructure?

• these wayward youths on motorcycles need a purpose in life.. not drag strips! why can’t the government see that!??

• Sick&Tired on Oct 07, 2022 at 10:18 pm

i dunno why everyone is getting so worked up! this drag strips can be used as a practicing spots for our youths who are interested in becoming food panda riders! no need for scientist, doctors, engineers, etc! Malaysia Boleh!

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 08, 2022 at 9:16 am

thats it im not paying taxes anymore

• i bet they will convoy n rempit their way to the drag strip, and continues to rempit home.

• Tracks on Oct 09, 2022 at 7:10 pm

A drag strip will provide an avenue for some to be involved in motorsports legally.
    However, it won’t solve the social problem of this group who follows the 7Rs as follows.
    1) Rilaks
    2) Rayau
    3) Rokok
    4) Rempit
    5) Rogol
    6) Racun
    7) Rompak

• RealJoke on Oct 11, 2022 at 9:28 am

It’s good business for these drag strips be build everywhere.
    Vehicle mod shops, tuners and parts importers will make more money this way.

The fast&furious wannabes and rempit heros will repeat the batu tiga old days fun on public roads just like what it used to be.
    They will enjoy on the public road while driving to the drag strips as if it’s test/trial runs.

Yeah, some may think of it as a waste of tax payers’ money but think further.
    It’s a good way to control population count by allowing these wastes to waste themselves.
    Kudos to the gomen.

Now, i’ll source for bull bars for all my vehicles.
    :)