2023 Honda Civic Type R FL5 launched in Vietnam

The 2023 Honda Civic Type R has been launched in Vietnam, making the country the first in the ASEAN region to receive the successor to the FK8 Civic Type R before Thailand and Malaysia.

This comes three months after the FL5 Civic Type R made its debut in July this year, and the FL5 Civic Type R will go on sale in Vietnam in “limited quantities”, the carmaker stated at the car’s Vietnamese market launch.

According to Vietnamese website Autopro, the built-in-Japan FL5 Civic Type R will be offered on the market with a choice of five exterior colours – Championship White, Rallye Red, Racing Blue Pearl, Sonic Grey Pearl and Crystal Black Pearl.

FL5 Civic Type R, US market

Pre-orders for the car are being taken in Vietnam, though official retail prices will only be announced at the end of the year; customer deliveries will take place in the second quarter of 2023, according to Honda.

Honda announced the engine output figures for the FL5 Civic Type R at its US and Japanese market debuts last month, and it has been revealed that the K20C1 turbocharged inline-four cylinder petrol engine makes 330 PS at 6,500 rpm and 420 Nm from 2,600 rpm to 4,000 rpm, which are increases of 10 PS and 20 Nm over the same engine in the FK8 predecessor.

The Vietnamese market car however produces slightly less peak power at 315 hp (320 PS) and the same peak torque figure, which is what the United States market receives. Transmission for the latest Civic Type R continues to be a six-speed manual transmission with automatic rev-matching, sending drive to the front wheels via a helical-type limited-slip differential.

According to Autopro, the FL5 Civic Type R for Vietnam gets the Honda Sensing suite of driver assistance systems comprised of the collision mitigating braking system, adaptive headlights, adaptive cruise control with low-speed range follow, lane departure mitigation, lane keeping assist and front departure alert. For track driving, there is also the Honda LogR data logger, and smartphone pairing is supported by Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

As for Malaysia, the FL5 Civic Type R could be sold officially on our shores as a local dealer advertised in a since-deleted Facebook post that the upcoming model is open for booking at prices between RM350k and RM380k. Would this be your flavour of turbocharged Japanese hot hatch, or do you prefer something with all-wheel-drive?

2023 FL5 Honda Civic Type R, US market

2023 FL5 Honda Civic Type R

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Sushi lover on Oct 27, 2022 at 9:08 pm

My dream car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • If you look at side body of civic, it looks more wierd at the front

• Roti john Reborn on Oct 28, 2022 at 8:35 am

If Honda is a bad carmaker, then how is Honda capable of creating this Game-Changing masterpiece as well as becoming one of the largest carmaker in the world? This is a quetion for that Honda basher with multiple dupes to ponder. Moreover, it is Proton who must learn more from Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
      • Rahman on Oct 28, 2022 at 1:40 pm

time for Mario aka Wilson, YG, etc etc to stop his Honda bashing. tak habis habis he buat hal on PT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
        • Did I bash honda? Am I more similar as Wilson aka Mario? No. It just that the problem is that many honda fanboys always bashing others but always no proven facts and either poor knowledge, showing that honda fanboys are very jealous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 29, 2022 at 11:14 am

The Yaris-G kid also accused me as Honda fanboy laa. He pretends as expert in Toyota. He even accuses hybrid is MORE FUN than Turbocharged. I guess he should travel more and try out more cars in the region (including Innova turbo diesel) in the region. Don’t overlook other rare techs like EVs/ Twincharged/ Twincharged-hybrid simply because U can’t/haven’t able to own/drive one. Grow-up kid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
          • aumeow on Oct 29, 2022 at 12:42 pm

Just don’t care about honda trolls, honda trolls are very good by keeping on denying or can’t really admit that what was wrong on honda when others have already move forward and honda trolls always have been denying for using tools for toyota/p2 fanboys to hate proton and others but knewing that honda trolls are big liar by not admitting that they are honda trolls, it is just like what happened to news on RedBull FIA yesterday, denying for any wrongdoings by end up in the public, everyone knows RedBull FIA are lying.

• aumeow on Oct 29, 2022 at 1:02 pm

Noted: Only RedBull are lying but not for FIA

• Spot on aumeow. Those honda fanboys are trying to playing games but have failed thanks to you after you come out to defend to reply back to whoever honda fanboys who really can’t accept, that’s why I found out the reason on why honda cars are getting worst and worst so to stem that negative perception. And the person shouldn’t simply calling me as Yaris-G kid. My name is YG doesn’t mean that I own Yaris-G or I am Yaris fan, it is not very nice to hear. Instead of trying so hard but failed, playing games or saying without proven facts or poor knowledge, just because honda fanboys are very jealous just because seeing other brands are better, why not ask on why honda cars are getting worst and worst and people aren’t happy to see shortage of parts, waiting period and quality is getting worst

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 28, 2022 at 9:15 am

Type-R Limit at Suzuka
      2023 FL5 : 2m23.1s
      2021 FK8 : 2m23.9s
      2008 FD2 : 2m24.2s [K20A]

Remind us how incredible
      Honda’s VTEC NA really was
      (turbo ver. “direct injection” aint VTEC)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 29, 2022 at 3:19 pm

Proves Legendary VTEC is the true gem
        Pinnacle of NA in motorsports by Japan
        Better turbos are still with the Germans
        While Chinese is catching up with EV

• Honda is the best. Sorry to all brands, also to proton and perodua, all failure. Aiyooo….how to fight honda like that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • Here you go again, honda fanboy. Too much jealous just because after you saw every brands are doing good and better than honda. So sad

• aumeow on Oct 29, 2022 at 12:48 pm

Let them be. Honda trolls are very good in denying that others are already moving forward while honda still stuck with dinosaur tech. Yet, honda trolls are cheating people that honda trolls are denying when everyone already knew that honda trolls have been using tools to pretend to become p2/toyota trolls to hate proton and others, in which honda trolls are lying, like RedBull F1 did yesterday when RedBull always denying but everyone knew as that RedBull are lying

• Honda losing sales to Toyota… Honda is the best??
      I have a few cars including Honda, local CKD ones really poor QC.

• tapsoba on Oct 28, 2022 at 10:33 am

Maybe for you but for me, whatever car I bought is the best. I mean, why do I have to agree that Honda is the best when I have Mazda3 instead? Also, I wouldn’t claim “Mazda is the best” since I only have 1 car so I’ll just say, “my Mazda3 is the best!”

• tricycle on Oct 27, 2022 at 10:23 pm

Wondering how the ACC with LSF work with the manual transmission?

• Except that if you look at side body, the front looks wierd. But sorry Civic FK8 is much better looking than this

• ThePolygon on Oct 28, 2022 at 8:10 am

We know what happened to the previous Type-R that has been brought into Malaysia…. sold out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • ROTI CANAI on Oct 28, 2022 at 8:41 am

vietnam popiah all rich rich now

• vodka on Oct 28, 2022 at 11:42 am

FD2R’s Suzuka laptime is a very respectable 2:35.2. No where near FK8 and FL5 territory. For reference, the R34 Skyline GTR is 2:36.26.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 01, 2022 at 7:46 am

U were only referring the 1st-limited attempts set by Tsuchiya. Keiichi himself admitted the FD2 can go even faster if given him more familiar with the car. If U search on YouTube, U’ll faster side-by-side recorded FD2 and FK8 by other racing drivers. Is incredible!!

• golf gti got so many people buy globally. This type claim to be golf gti rival but the sales……..

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 28, 2022 at 6:30 pm

golf gti rival? even honda elantra drivers dont give a damn about golf gti