Tesla under investigation for claims of self-driving cars

Tesla is currently under investigation in the United States for the carmaker’s claims that its electric vehicles are able to drive themselves, according to sources cited by Reuters.

A previously-undisclosed probe was launched by the US department of justice following a string of over a dozen crashes, including some resulting in fatalities which involved the use of Tesla’s Autopilot which was active when the crashes occurred, sources to the news wire were quoted as saying.

More recently, Tesla CEO Elon Musk was reported as saying on a call that the electric carmaker will soon be releasing an upgraded version of its Full Self-Driving assisting driving software that would enables drivers of the cars to travel to “your work, your friend’s house, to the grocery store without touching the wheel,” Reuters reported.

Tesla states on its website that “Autopilot is a hands-on driver assistance system that is intended to be used only with a fully attentive driver. It does not turn a Tesla into a self-driving car nor does it make a car autonomous,” and that the driver must agree to always maintain control and responsibility of the vehicle.

Such warnings could complicate any case the justice department might want to bring, the sources to Reuters said. Federal and California safety regulators have started their scrutiny of the claims about Autopilot capabilities and whether or not the system’s design gives customers a false sense of security, which could induce them into treating the Tesla vehicles as driverless cars and become complacent with safety.

Also part of the latest probe, justice department prosecutors in Washington and San Francisco are examining whether or not Tesla misled customers, investors and regulators with unsupported claims about its driver assistance technologies. Possible courses of action by official conducting the inquiry could include the pursuit of criminal charges, civil sanctions or close the probe with no further action, the sources added.

The US national highway traffic safety administration (NHTSA) opened investigations into a series of crashes – one fatal – involving Teslas operating on Autopilot crashing into parked emergency vehicles. NHTSA official stepped up the probe in June to cover 830,000 Teslas with Autopilot, which identified 16 crashes involving the EVs and stationary first-responder and road maintenance vehicles.

In July, the California department of motor vehicles accused Tesla of false advertising with regard to Autopilot and Full Self-Driving capabilities as offering autonomous vehicle operation. The carmaker subsequently filed papers with the agency, seeking a hearing on the allegations and the carmaker intends to defend against the allegations. The California DMV stated that it is currently in the discovery stage of the proceeding, Reuters reported.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Scotty Kilmer on Oct 28, 2022 at 9:33 pm

Elon Musk wouldnt care if u die in his Tesla.
    All he wants is to be the richest man alive.
    Tesla,no matter what he claims,can malfunction.
    Once it malfunctions..no one can save you.
    Once,a British ICBM went off course,during training exercise.
    Can u imagine,if it is nuclear tipped ?
    So,a tesla can also go off course,stray,or can only detect obstacles too late.
    Tesla.. A CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER,to the naive affluent.

• Sick & Tired on Oct 29, 2022 at 2:42 am

I hope our authorities can investigate PH for lying and making fake promises just to win GE14. Until they fulfill all those empty promises to rakyat, they should not be allowed to participate in GE15. If Tesla can be brought to court and be sued if they lied, why are liar PH still around scottfree and still making lies? They need to be taught a lesson just as Tesla will be soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
    • Scotty Kilmer Jr on Oct 29, 2022 at 1:46 pm

Forever Mr.Sick n Tired
      Hello dude,this is not a BN,PH,or PN forum.
      We engage in healthy debates regards AUTOMOBILES.
      Pls cast your vote but leave us at Paultan discusssing cars…not Mamak,Court Clusters,Tin Kosong Anwar ,Banduan Bossku etc.,faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • Lester on Oct 30, 2022 at 12:00 pm

Thats PDRM’s cybertrooper ur talking to, get used to it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Logical Deduction on Oct 31, 2022 at 5:17 pm

PDRM cybertrooper more sensible and logical than Oppos RBA. How the tables have turned.

• Spin Too Much on Oct 31, 2022 at 6:07 pm

5 years of listening to Pakatan cybertroopers have gotten us used to other cybertroopers. Nak cari salah kena salahkan siapa yang buat dulu….

• Why So Serious on Oct 30, 2022 at 12:56 pm

I think it is relevant when even Paul Tan brought up AVIATION flight tickets pending for GE15. What does that has to do with AUTOMOBILES huh?

I am all for promoting free speech, not muzzling it just coz it does not align with some woke trash logic.

• Spin Too Much on Oct 30, 2022 at 2:52 pm

Perhaps you’re not in tandem with Malaysian politics. Assess what the PH government did to screw up Malaysia that we’re in this current situation today…I don’t blame you if you’re in sync with the kleptocrazy belakang pusing cerita government…. if it’s benefitting you.

• wrong forum bruh