ChargEV charging rates at Starbucks outlets in M’sia – RM1.20/min for 60 kW DC, RM5/20 mins for 11 kW AC

ChargEV has announced the updated rates of EV chargers located at 17 Starbucks outlets, which were set up as part of a partnership with Starbucks Malaysia and Yinson GreenTech.

Going by the minute, the rate for using DC chargers that output up to 60 kW is RM1.20 per minute, while it is RM5 for every 20 minutes for AC chargers capable of delivering 11 kW. For chargEV members (RM240 a year), the latter is free to use.

It is important to note that most of the DC chargers are of the multi-standard variety, so you may find several charging guns with different connectors (Type 2, CCS2 and CHAdeMO) attached to it. Should you use the AC charging gun from a DC charger, you will still be charged AC charging rates (RM5 for every 20 minutes).

For standalone AC chargers, the rate is as what’s mentioned earlier – RM5 for every 20 minutes. As such, make sure you choose the appropriate charger for your electric vehicle (EV) or plug-in hybrid vehicle (EV) – a higher charging rate doesn’t mean your vehicle will charge faster if it doesn’t support it.

The 17 Starbucks stores with EV chargers are as follow:

• Starbucks Kota Kemuning Drive-Thru (DC chargers)
  • Starbucks Reserve Setia Alam (DC chargers)
  • Starbucks Ukay Perdana Drive-Thru (DC chargers)
  • Starbucks Eco Gradeur Drive-Thru (DC chargers)
  • Starbucks Conezion Putrajaya Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Rimbayu Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Jade Hill Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Reserve Eco Majestic Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Eco Horizon Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Icon City Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Hillside Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Juru (R&R) Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Tanjong Tokong Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Malim Jaya Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Bandar Seri Alam Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Seri Austin Drive-Thru
  • Starbucks Skudai (R&R) Drive-Thru

In addition to the 17 Starbucks outlets, chargEV also revealed the charging rates at Hard Rock Hotel Desaru Coast, which is identical – RM1.20 per minute for the 60 kW DC charger and RM5 for every 20 minutes for the 11 kW AC charger. Again, the latter is free to use by chargEV members.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Fradro on Nov 02, 2022 at 10:59 am

Why don’t they charge by wattage rather than time??

• Megat on Nov 02, 2022 at 4:42 pm

if fully charged they also want to charge the parking space

• Lets See on Nov 02, 2022 at 5:49 pm

Do you also pump petrol based on how much wattage it can give?

• Irwan i on Nov 02, 2022 at 9:26 pm

Basically yes. A liter petrol contain specified unit energy.

• Lets See on Nov 03, 2022 at 4:55 pm

Different petrol brands will have different energy content despite the same RON. So are you advocating petrol brands to differentiate petrol prices based on how much energy output? Thats just stupid.

• Raja Kamarul on Nov 02, 2022 at 2:42 pm

As a guide, my charging time and cost for a VW ID3 in UK in June:

60 minutes: 95% charge
    Paid: £7.70 eq.RM43.00 (June rates)

Hmmm….

• EV deal2121 on Nov 02, 2022 at 3:16 pm

Why not in Wattage ? Easier to “Hide” the profits they make. House (Max) at Rm 0.45/kw. So ….. Commercial rate at ???

• Chris on Nov 03, 2022 at 8:44 am

Charging by wattage would turn this into “reselling electricity”. Charging by time keeps it as “equipment rental”. Different permits & infra would be required that makes reselling electricity more complex. My thinking.

• Engineer on Nov 02, 2022 at 8:28 pm

This is definately more expensive than pumping petrol!
    For 60kW, charging at home cause 50 cents per minute. Only idiots charge their battery at Starbuck!

• Engineer on Nov 02, 2022 at 8:28 pm

This is definately more expensive than pumping petrol!
    For 60kW, charging at home cause 50 cents per minute.

• FrankC on Nov 02, 2022 at 8:57 pm

Aiya.. Starbuck drive thru nearby but no ev charger.. Pg bayan lepas area none at all..

• I think there are talks underway with Suruhanjaya Tenaga Malaysia (ST) on charging rates based on kWh rather than time. Once it is approved, operators would be able to switch their pricing mechanism and also hopefully add a cost for “overdue parking” (i.e. you pay more if you are done charging but don’t remove your vehicle).

• Bad service starbuck Kota damansara on Nov 03, 2022 at 9:49 pm

Staff not well trained and one of the store supervisor looks experience but talk so arrogantly.

• Dat Boi on Nov 04, 2022 at 4:37 am

So if I need to charge for 2 hours (full charge for tesla @ 60kw) I’m gonna have to pay rm144? I thought it was supposed to make petrol obsolete? For the same amount I can get a longer distance with almost every petrol car.