Tram in Melaka? Possible if BN wins 3 seats, says Wee

Trams in Melaka? That’s possible if Barisan Nasional (BN) wins the Tangga Batu, Alor Gajah and Kota Melaka parliamentary seats in next weekend’s 15th General Election (GE15).

Caretaker transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong said the plan to develop public transport services in Melaka, including the proposed tram system, could be realised if the federal government has a stable and compatible relationship with the state government, Bernama reported.

“This (public transport development) is one of the proposals made by the Melaka government and as the caretaker government (at the federal level), we are determined to see it through as we already discussed it. We just need a bigger mandate from the voters so that this plan can be executed better,” the MCA president told reporters in Tanjung Kling yesterday.

The Ayer Hitam MP said the transformation of stage bus services would also be reformulated, while the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High-Speed Rail (HSR) project would also be fine-tuned for the best interest of the people in Melaka.

“That is why it is important for the people to use their voting power to give the mandate to the same party as all plans for better development depend on the compatibility of the relationship between the federal and the state government. That’s the main element that would ensure the continuity of work and policy toward achieving common goals,” he added.

After state elections last year, BN controls 21 out of 28 seats in Melaka’s state legislative assembly. GE15 will only see parliamentary seats being contested in the state. By the way, the three seats mentioned by Wee are currently held by PKR (Tangga Batu), Bersatu (Alor Gajah) and DAP (Kota Melaka).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Cannot even fix the monorail that only operated for days want to talk about Tram.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
    • Yes, exactly, let’s not forget the existence of the Melaka Monorail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Angry Voters on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:44 pm

Tram was under Mahathir rule who is now in GTA so it has nothing to do with Dr Wee or BN but they instead are taking proactive actions to solve the traffic problem with a new idea. This is what we want from a Government, action and not just making promises but break them later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 50
      • Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:50 pm

Yet

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:53 pm

How about solving problems on corruption, also for LCS scandal first. Promise doesn’t matter. All parties also have lack on some promises but to get rid more corruption is high priority

Someone said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • LRT User on Nov 09, 2022 at 11:17 am

This is about trams this has NOTHING to do with LCS. Get lost irrelevant PH trooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Why not? he was talking about promises and action

• LRT User on Nov 09, 2022 at 5:51 pm

He is talking bullshit that is not related to trams or public transport. Are you eating that?

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:55 pm

That’s why

“NOT be voting for BN/PN thanks to their high prices, weaker malaysia currency than other countries, RM to USD conversion is really worst now, food prices really high, high corruptions and traitors, meritocracy only for the rich benefit, already hurting enough to all Malaysians. 60 over years for BN and 17 months for PN is enough of damage they had wrought to Malaysia and our people. Enough is enough. Say NO TO BN/PN!”Agree from someone said

“No health care reform pledges….no minimum wage…no price reduction for hybrid cars” from what I said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • LRT User on Nov 09, 2022 at 11:18 am

This is about trams this has NOTHING to do with healthcare or minimum wage or hybrid cars. Get lost irrelevant PH trooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • He also talking about promises and action so why not?

• LRT User on Nov 09, 2022 at 5:51 pm

He is talking bullshit that is not related to trams or public transport. And you eating that?

• Funny, exactly when this article was posted, LRT Kelana Jaya Line was closed, literally closed, barred. Thousands were stranded including myself. Got out from office at 5pm, reached home at 10pm. Then “netizens pakai la public transport, takdela hadap jam” they say

• LRT User on Nov 09, 2022 at 12:27 pm

You’re not so smart if you insist to wait for that long in a station. There are other modes of public transport and one should be flexible to consider all others including ride hailing. If I were you I would have use the bus or Grab rather than waiting and getting angry for nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • No need to defend bro. Did you see what happened in the video queuing up for catching bus…so many people. If you take bus, it is useles, taking grab also more useless…both need to wait more. Wee and his caretaker government have done something wrong on LRT disruption and causing more on transport system in the mess. Please come out with more facts instead you simply bla bla bla but come out but never prove anything at all

• Copy Paste on Nov 10, 2022 at 8:34 am

Copy paste: “I’ll tell you insider scoop. This goes all the way back to during Anthony Loke’s time as TransMin when he arbitrarily cut Rapid’s budget, both OPEX for maintenance of train & bus fleets and CAPEX when they restructured MRT2 and LRT3 projects. No reasons or leeway whatsoever just across the board cut without considering the implications.

And what we seen today is that implication leading to a dwindling supply of spareparts, tho current TransMin Wee Ka Siong righted this wrong by reinstating the budgetary to sufficient level, it was already too late as Covid pandemic and global supply shortage hits the world and that causes further delays in procuring the necessary parts.

The engineers in Rapid told me they expect similar further disruptions to both rail & bus services in the current future until the world’s supply chain goes back to normal which will take years.

So a mistake made which caused a chain of events. Make sure we don’t make the same mistake this round.”
            [CP: want to blame someone? Blame DAP Anthony Loke]

• Susukotak on Nov 08, 2022 at 4:26 pm

Apa la membazir. Melaka tu synchronize jer lampu isyarat tu dah settle masalah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • LRT User on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:25 pm

And how does synchronising traffic lights help to reduce congestion of insufficient parking space eh? The tram is a good idea to make visitors park away from the city center and board the trams. This is the fundamental of public transportation.

• Wee Gong Gong on Nov 08, 2022 at 4:27 pm

cannot even solve kelana jaya LRT frequent disruptions, now want to build tram

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:46 pm

Copy paste: “I’ll tell you insider scoop. This goes all the way back to during Anthony Loke’s time as TransMin when he arbitrarily cut Rapid’s budget, both OPEX for maintenance of train & bus fleets and CAPEX when they restructured MRT2 and LRT3 projects. No reasons or leeway whatsoever just across the board cut without considering the implications.

And what we seen today is that implication leading to a dwindling supply of spareparts, tho current TransMin Wee Ka Siong righted this wrong by reinstating the budgetary to sufficient level, it was already too late as Covid pandemic and global supply shortage hits the world and that causes further delays in procuring the necessary parts.

The engineers in Rapid told me they expect similar further disruptions to both rail & bus services in the current future until the world’s supply chain goes back to normal which will take years.

So a mistake made which caused a chain of events. Make sure we don’t make the same mistake this round.”
      [CP: want to blame someone? Blame DAP Anthony Loke]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 58
      • Is your brain burnt? on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:21 pm

60+ years they in charge, now you blame it to someone that come in power for not only 2 years, what’s wrong with you brain to simply blame?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • LRT User on Nov 09, 2022 at 11:26 am

Unless you mean the LRT trains had been around for 60 years I see no relevance for bringing that up. CP is right, if the then current management had caused this fiasco, then that current management should be blamed, not those whom before and after. To side track for example, when Steve Jobs did not deliver Apple threw him out but they did not blame his successor for Job’s failures. So i should ask you your nick; is your brain burnt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • SOHAIZ on Nov 09, 2022 at 11:52 am

This is about trams this has NOTHING to do with Steve JobsSteve Jobs. Get lost irrelevant BN trooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • LRT User on Nov 09, 2022 at 12:35 pm

Are you stupid? Ahh but you must be, since you did not bother or incapable to read; [To side track for example…]

Stupid sohai PH troopers picking on irrelevant straws but conveniently left out their multi stupidity of delaying MRT2, cutting down LRT3, canceling HSR, delaying KVDT, rerouting ECRL go to Timbuktu, total arse ignoring Penang Action Group recommendation for the need to have island MRT, cutting down of spareparts that lead to delays in repair, promoting stupid Protiga over more public transportation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • LRT User

Because they don’t want to make as much corruption as BN and PN based on mega projects

• LRT User on Nov 09, 2022 at 5:56 pm

If they are so afraid of this and that, don’t be the Government. Such bury head in sand attitudes is why other Asean nations are moving past us. They have higher corruption than us, so? They are progressing ahead while PH are so afraid to move even 1 step.

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:38 pm

“Knock your head! If you think BN is benefit to you, does BN are using for stealing pocket peoples money and making burden to all than PH. If we learned anything that is no more BN, if not, you better learn more history” Someone said

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:39 pm

NOT be voting for BN/PN thanks to their high prices, weaker malaysia currency than other countries, RM to USD conversion is really worst now, food prices really high, high corruptions and traitors, meritocracy only for the rich benefit, already hurting enough to all Malaysians. 60 over years for BN and 17 months for PN is enough of damage they had wrought to Malaysia and our people. Enough is enough. Say NO TO BN/PN!” agreed from someone said.

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:47 pm

Complaining about PH is all excuses. How about solving problems on corruption, also for LCS scandal first. Promise doesn’t matter. All parties also have lack on some promises but to get rid more corruption is high priority

Someone said

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:48 pm

You aren’t wise people, don’t you

Someone said

• Not smart enough guy because you like orang pengrasuah and orang pengkhianat. And what happened about LRT services and flooding in many states now???

• Not very smart enough because you like orang pengrasuah and orang pengkhianat

• So obvious Ini macai mca punya Kerja. Dap ke mca ke rakyat don’t care. What is important funds must be channeled to help maintain the stations etc. insider story or not do you know about the jacked up prices? The unnecessary payment to cronies doing servicing? That is very possible during Ms time. So it is very normal to cut funds. Maybe political payback after so many years? Why no mention other politicians dig such a big hole now pokai no money to spend. You talk pandemic if properly maintained now no stock trains will be down too. Maybe pas can do a better job next term. I’m voting them

• LRT User on Nov 09, 2022 at 11:16 am

PAS ke, BN ke, anyone will do a better job than PH did to screw up our rail service.

• To make higher corruption…..

• LRT User on Nov 09, 2022 at 6:00 pm

If PH are so afraid of corruption don’t be the Government. They can go somewhere secluded, setup a hidden monastery, and go meditate daily so they would not be corrupted by thoughts of the modern world. Leave those who know how to run the Government, run the Government.

• Dr Strange on Nov 10, 2022 at 8:33 am

PH can leave the Government business and come to Kamar-Taj, here got no corruption. Come come!

• Kenny on Nov 08, 2022 at 4:45 pm

build sampai skrg pun tak nampak batang hidung dan sampai kepala dia pun dah botak.

• Apa Guna on Nov 08, 2022 at 4:50 pm

For what ah? boleh di makan tak?

• Gomorrah on Nov 08, 2022 at 4:50 pm

“Stable and compatible relationship” aka no checks and balances. If it’s in the interest of the rakyat then who cares about the relationship. Just get it done, make sure it works and every sen is accounted for. Doesn’t matter which party is in power. Of course if the interests lie elsewhere then you know I know la…

• Checks & balances are only useful if states are aligned with federal directions, then the states can ensure there is feedback and overview to federal initiatives. What we have here today are states trying to act independently from federal and not heeding federal directions, this partial GE by PH states has demonstrated this dysfunction clearly. To move Malaysia forward, both state & federal must be on the same page and within the books of a development friendly and stable loving Government. One that is based on hate, paranoia and distrust amongst their own partners will not provide the direction our country needs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • Gomorrah on Nov 09, 2022 at 11:11 pm

For nearly 60 years the states were aligned and dictated to by the federal government and development is one sided and focused on the Klang Valley. East Malaysia has been pillaged to support the Peninsula and can only dream of decent roads, access to health care and basic utilities. Paranoia and distrust exists because there is a reason for it to. The federal goverment witholds funds meant for a particular state just because it is run by a different party? Elected by the people who live there? Why pay taxes in Penang for Klang Valley highways and M/LRT? How does it improve a Penangites’ life? Or a Sabahans’? There is too much centralisation of power in this country and it is time the states chart their own course. Federal government can do its job by providing national security and ensuring equitable distribution of revenue so that all residents enjoy a similar quality of life. And whatever party is in power has to be held accountable by whichever party is in opposition. Can’t trust politicians anywhere to keep their sticky fingers out of the public purse.

• Ya Mentri on Nov 10, 2022 at 8:47 am

“How does it improve Penangites lives?”
          Well simple. Many Penangites are enjoying the Klang Valley highways and M/LRT daily going to & fro work and the often balik kampungs. You don’t know? Puchong & Kepong have pretty much turn into Penang & JB enclaves.

The Sabahab question is a valid one, we’re still trying to work out what exactly they gained from 2 years under Warisan with Pan Borneo frozen. Our Sarawakians bros & sis are enjoying the nearly completed parts but they do take pity that Sabah portion is still a long way to go.

Decentralisation only works if the states are aligned with Federal goals but if they are totally different, all it has is chaos and no directions. Take PH states that refuses to dissolve for election and return mandat to rakyat. That is real selfish of them. Imagine if US Republican states refuses to join the upcoming midterms elections. What will the world think of America? It’ll be a joke, just as we are currently with the political situation. We need a strong government with clear and undoubtful directions.

• Gomorrah on Nov 10, 2022 at 5:22 pm

This is precisely the reason why the taxpayers money has to benefit the people living there la. Don’t pandai pandai say Penangite or Sabahan or Kelantanese but have to cari makan in KL so worth paying tax to fund KL public transport. Disingenous. Why should they have to leave there in the first place? No opportunity right.
            You nicely narrow focus on the 2 examples I gave. Vote where you live. Don’t live there, law should require you to change address and update electoral roll. You wanna talk about US/other western democracies, that is the requirement. That’s what proportional representation means. Don’t equate US midterm election to here. Jeffersonian system is not the same. False equivalence. You really should be asking why a country with roughly 10x the population of Malaysia has only just over 2x more elected representatives in the lower house. Or if you can be bothered to educate yourself, look at how the electoral boundaries are drawn based on population size. It’s not perfect but there’s less discrepancy between the largest and smallest constituencies. Oh and guess what…we had that until one old man ammended the constitution and removed that clause that used to prevent that from happening.

And why should the states not have a different government to federal? If all are working for the rakyat then it doesn’t matter right? Oh so PAS controlled Kelantan for 30 years because that is the choice of the voters there so Federal government has a right to punish them issit? They are not Malaysian citizens issit? Same with the rest…Sabah goes in a direction for its own interest and development in 1990’s guess what happened? You ownself can go read history.

Come on la grow up. We tried the everywhere same government, same philosophy, same direction nonsense and all it resulted in is our country’s resources flowing in the same direction – out of our country. I don’t really care who wins. As long as these clowns don’t waste our money and do the job they are supposed to do. Not suka suka syiok sendiri mega project so lipas can become the main penghuni.

• johnas on Nov 08, 2022 at 4:58 pm

Masa mula baru bercinta
    Mulut manis macam gula
    Gunung tinggi sanggu didaki
    Lautan api sanggup renangi
    Tapi bila dah kenal lama
    Baru terlihat perangai sebenar
    Habis madu sepah dibuang
    Janji manis tinggal kenangan
    Benar kata orang dahulu
    Kasih jangan keterlaluan
    Sayang biarlah sederhana
    Takut nanti engkau merana
    Benar kata orang dahulu
    Kasih jangan keterlaluan
    Sayang biarlah sederhana
    Benar kata orang dahulu
    Kasih jangan keterlaluan
    Sayang biarlah sederhana
    Benar kata orang dahulu
    Kasih jangan keterlaluan
    Sayang biarlah sederhana
    Engkau merana
    Janji manisnya

• Zaini Khalib on Nov 08, 2022 at 5:11 pm

Hahahahaha biau boto.. tolak tepi politik ke parti ee tapi dengan mentaliti masyarakat malaysia apabila memandu ada Baiknya tram ni tidak diwujudkan ramai jadi kebab bawah tayar tram ni nanti

• Entah sapa yng salahhh~

• @Snakebabu on Nov 08, 2022 at 5:18 pm

pala hotak hang

• @Snakebabu on Nov 08, 2022 at 5:27 pm

in the wee hours..still dreamin

• 4musa73 on Nov 08, 2022 at 6:50 pm

cannot tahan with all these possible and janji’s… election time all become smart and ‘rakyat concerned’… puihhh…

• guys, you still believe him? hahaha

• PlainBS on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:28 pm

Of course. He is the best transport minister we ever had. At least he is not like his predecessor who only know to promote selling fancy plates.

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:37 am

NOT be voting for BN/PN thanks to their high prices, weaker malaysia currency than other countries, RM to USD conversion is really worst now, food prices really high, high corruptions and traitors, meritocracy only for the rich benefit, already hurting enough to all Malaysians. 60 over years for BN and 17 months for PN is enough of damage they had wrought to Malaysia and our people. Enough is enough. Say NO TO BN/PN! Agree from someone said

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:38 am

You aren’t wiser people don’t you? Someone said

• FrankC on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:08 pm

Very disappointing attitude. “vote me if you want ….”. we must be wise enough to tell this type of MP that we dont need him. other MP can do better than that. if malacca dont get good transport system, it is because these type of people who blackmail us.
    My stand is that all state in malaysia should be given due investment in infrastructure irrespective of who is the MP. No Sabahan nor sarawakian should be left behind just becoz they are on the other side… cabotage policy is bad policy…. get rid of it mr.MP

• Lololol

• Wee still has not changed at all. Tokok!

• Fur ODC on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:03 am

Klau setakat janji2 manis, aku pon boleh. I can also janji buat underground subway kt Melaka kalau i menang pilihanraya.

• Bob Mal on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:41 am

So prior to that are you gonna pay back every every single tax payers money of RM300mil for cancellation of HSR back in Jan2021 and talks about revival on Nov21 both of which you are part of the same government?

• albag on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:47 am

damn you Wee Wee, as a transport minister u let RAPIDKL LRT to have mulfunction and cause hassle to the rakyat and all u focus is on ur election.. and u still wanna have tram in Melaka.. the hell with your rational?

• Lolwhut? on Nov 09, 2022 at 2:53 pm

Read this comment Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:46 pm to know the truth

• ‘ the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High-Speed Rail (HSR) project would also be fine-tuned for the best interest of the people in Melaka.’
    They want to use a tram from KL to Singapore with stops in Melaka? Sounds interesting!