2023 Mazda MX-30 EV – first local spec units arrive in Malaysia; 145 PS, 199 km range; priced at RM199k max

The first units of the Mazda MX-30 have arrived in Malaysia, several months after the electric vehicle (EV) was launched in June last year. Pictured here is the range-topping MX-30 EV High, which is priced at RM198,780 on-the-road without insurance, and is one of two available variants – the other being the MX-30 EV Mid.

Power comes from a 355-volt lithium-ion battery mounted under the vehicle floor that has an energy capacity of 35.5 kWh, which is good for a range of 199 km on single charge following the NEDC standard.

This powers a front-mounted electric motor rated at 145 PS (143 hp or 107 kW) and 271 Nm of torque, enabling a 0-100 km/h time of 9.7 seconds and a top speed of 140 km/h. For charging, the MX-30 accepts a maximum AC input (Type 2) of 6.6 kW, with a full charge taking about five hours when plugged into a wallbox.

Using a normal power plug and at a maximum rate of 3 kW, it’ll take 12 hours to fully top up the battery. The quickest method is DC fast charging (CCS2) at 40 kW, which will get the battery from a 0-80% state of charge in just 36 minutes.

Standard kit includes auto LED headlamps with signature illumination on the High spec (the Mid doesn’t get the fancy lighting signature), LED daytime running lights, LED taillights, LED fog lamps and reverse light, rain sensing wipers, keyless entry and start, four front and six rear parking sensors as well as 18-inch alloy wheels (with 215/55 profile tyres).

Inside, there is an 8.8-inch touchscreen infotainment system (with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay), joined by an additional seven-inch touchscreen display for the climate controls – a first for the brand. A third screen being a seven-inch TFT LCD multi-info display is in front of the driver, while other amenities are dual-zone climate control, an electronic parking brake, LED interior lighting, paddle shifters, a windshield projected head-up display as well as a leather-wrapped steering wheel and gear shift knob.

The MX-30 EV Mid gets fabric seats, six-way manual adjustment front seats, a reverse camera and an eight-speaker audio system, the last of which is upgraded to a Bose 12-speaker system in the High. The High spec also gains combination fabric/leatherette upholstery and adds on an eight-way adjustable powered driver’s seat equipped with memory, lumbar and heating functions, a 360-degree camera and powered sunroof.

As for driver assistance systems, the automaker’s i-Activsense suite includes Smart Brake Support (autonomous emergency braking, front and rear), Mazda radar cruise control with stop & go functionality, blind spot monitoring (BSM), rear cross traffic alert (RCTA), lane departure warning System (LDWS), driver attention alert (DAA) with driver monitoring and lane-keep assist system (LAS) as standard on both variants

The Mid spec comes with adaptive front lighting (AFS) and high beam control, while the MX-30 High spec gets an adaptive LED headlight (ALH) system. Additionally, the MX-30 High adds on front cross traffic alert (FCTA) as well as a cruising and traffic support (CTS) feature.

Customers can choose from five exterior colours, namely Polymetal Gray and Machine Gray, as well as two-tone finishes: Jet Black Mica (with silver roof pillar), Zircon Sand (with black roof) and Soul Red Crystal (with black roof). The Mazda MX-30 comes with a five-year or 100,000 km warranty, whichever comes first, and the battery gets an eight-year or 160,000 km warranty coverage.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• anonymous on Jan 16, 2023 at 1:36 pm

facelifted CX-5, when?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Two Cents on Jan 16, 2023 at 1:45 pm

RM200k for just 199k range really sounds like a big ask…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • AP Putra on Jan 16, 2023 at 2:42 pm

In reality only can go no more than 120km on klang valley chaotic roads and traffic jam

• COOLER on Feb 05, 2023 at 11:38 pm

i m ix3 owner, my ev on paper is 460km but in reality is 330km range according to my driving habit. i will charge my ev when the battery is lower than 40% so that the car is ready for use in case i need to use it suddenly. So 199km is really not enuf even u plan for city use. u will regret if u think 199km range is adequate

• Anonymous on Jan 17, 2023 at 2:07 am

RM8.5 million for a Bugatti Veyron and only 300km per tank is also a big ask. If it’s a desirable car no one cares. Mazda cars feel good to drive and easy to own. The smaller battery gives it a better green credential, and if you don’t consider that then you might as well get a clean burning ICE if you want practicality at a cheaper price.

200km for an intra-city car that sees no more than 90 km/h is practical enough for a daily driver. I for one will be getting an EV as a second car for work commute. 160 km range is more than enough for my daily 63+ km drive. Charging daily at home is not a problem. I won’t ever need to charge elsewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • Mike Tee on Jan 17, 2023 at 11:47 am

EV owner here who only charge up to 80% on the iX40 so 320km range instead of the full 400km. I also try my best not to let it go below 20%. You’d be surprised how often I have to plug in even with just city driving. 200km is not enough. I am anal like like and YMMV

Also unless you frankenstein a roof hung charging point at home, you have to remember to ask other drivers at home to always leave those spaces that the charging cable can reach free. It happens, and you then have to play Car Park Puzzle in real life.

Just minor complaints though, I love my PHEV and EV!

• newme on Jan 16, 2023 at 2:06 pm

Buy mahal2, pergi Ipoh pun tak sampai.
    199km is the potential range. When you apply 20-80% battery practice, it would be much lesser.

• As we have said before, this car will be DOA. You can use this money and top up a bit to get Hyundai Kona Electric e-Max with way more power and range than MX-30.

• BYD Atto 3 is more worth compare to this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Meanwhile, there is another higher spec.

MX-30 R-EV that have Dual Drivetrain, allow you charging on the Go with a 830cc Gasoline.
    830EV, more carefree, more freedome.

Life not dragged by Fast Charging Lag.

• Teofilo L on Jan 16, 2023 at 3:08 pm

Mazda clear stock in Malaysia.

• RyanT on Jan 16, 2023 at 3:24 pm

Some YouTubers try to embellish it is good enough for city users…good try

• Bieight8 on Jan 16, 2023 at 3:54 pm

So 1k per 1km of range???

• Bangkok on Jan 16, 2023 at 4:20 pm

If you can wait byd seal 700 km coming……from Thailand

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 16, 2023 at 4:48 pm

MX-30 R-EV not this

• ah mat kor on Jan 16, 2023 at 5:03 pm

soar high will buy this….rm200k for less than 200km range.

• Kaki Saman on Jan 16, 2023 at 5:05 pm

Which dumb guy thought this was a good idea? What a waste of money.

• FudgeMeSideways on Jan 16, 2023 at 6:53 pm

This MX-30 in overseas journalist already cakap no point punye car.

• Pipototo on Jan 16, 2023 at 9:25 pm

Apart from the low KMs.. The climate screen looks so out of place

• Bones on Jan 16, 2023 at 9:25 pm

Doc: Your BP out of control recently. What’s happening in your life that’s giving you so much stress and anxiety?
    Me: Bought an EV with 199km range

• 4musa73 on Jan 16, 2023 at 10:53 pm

I would rather give my money to BYD for the Atto 3.