Don’t use Waze to aid traffic offenders, say KL police

While motorists aren’t always courteous to each other whilst on the road, everyone is seemingly on the same page when it comes to cop shops. Spot – or come across – a police road block and everyone becomes an immediate friend, from providing high beam warnings to oncoming traffic to placing the location of the inspection point on Waze, so others can take alternate routes.

Now, the police is telling motorists to stop sharing information about its presence and the location of roadblocks through Waze, because they may be inadvertently aiding traffic offenders by doing so, as Bernama reports.

According to Kuala Lumpur police chief Datuk Azmi Abu Kassim, such action hampers enforcement efforts against motorists driving under the influence of alcohol and those who commit other traffic offences. He said that while motorists may be wanting help other road users, they should also be aware of the dangers they face due to negligence from drunk drivers, or those running red lights and driving against the flow of traffic.

“Those who have never been affected by the misfortune caused by the carelessness and negligence of traffic offenders will not be able to feel the pain and suffering victims’ families have to endure. And that is why it is my hope that the public, especially road users, will cooperate with the police instead of trying to help those who commit road offences,” he said.

What’s your take on the practice of warning other road users about the presence of police at a specific location? Helpful or, as the cops suggest, harmful? Share your thoughts in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Problem: Police use road blocks to earn extra kopi money. Police are not there to deter illegal activities.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 248 Thumb down 18
    • Corruption ..A Clear and Present Danger on Jan 30, 2023 at 9:58 pm

With speed cameras n drones capturing recalcitrant rogue drivers,why do u need road blocks? To give ceramah ?
      Hello,ini abad Elon Musk..abad high tech.
      Just send the blardy saman to the culprit’s address.If after few attempts,the bugger didnt respond to pay,pull the bugger out of his spider hole n lock him up.And stop the blardy bad habit of giving rebates for offenses.
      Road blocks r needed if info collected to stop dadah traffickers..thats ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
      • Roadblocks are still being deployed routinely in rich countries. What’s the point of having JPJ if they don’t deter traffic offenders? Malaysian have little regards to traffic laws anyway.

• newme on Jan 30, 2023 at 2:53 pm

Don’t blame road users. They just want to stop bribery.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 11
  • dong gor on Jan 30, 2023 at 2:56 pm

Many times i see police hiding behind trees to trap ppl… since you all are playing hide and seek, why not non uniform folks help each other?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr on Jan 30, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Like that is gonna stop them plus roadblocks are a nuisance to the public especially when they push 3 lanes into 1 and don’t know how to do multi lane checks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 4
    • Cfatt on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:37 am

Yes, why every time need to make into 1 line and did road block on major traffic peak hours, and yet, lots of illegal number plates motorcycle, black screen vehicle still running around town… Totally cannot understand the purpose of those road blocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Squid on Jan 30, 2023 at 2:58 pm

Hahahahaaaa… The enemy of my enemy is my friend laa how to stop it from happening..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 5
  • 4G63T DSM on Jan 30, 2023 at 3:56 pm

If the purpose of a speed trap is to discourage people from speeding at dangerous areas then notifying other motorists of police presence serves the same outcome. So what’s wrong with that?

If you say Saman for income or suit kopi, then another story all together.

Police just have to be smarter.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 5
  • jesperado on Jan 30, 2023 at 4:13 pm

aiding other divers/riders better than aiding officers pocket. all this roadblock ops are nuinsance.how many existing crime case solved using roadblocks?all this blocks are just targeting non muslims la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 45
    • Love peace and harmony on Feb 01, 2023 at 12:40 am

So dont drink and drive laa, and stop caring drugs tobthe non muslims.. use your brain and dont be rasict..

• Alasan? on Feb 01, 2023 at 3:07 pm

Are you sure targeting non muslims? How many of the so-called muslims at the bar, club etc? Even I respect him and not ordering alcoholic beverages (project meeting) and he can selamba order the screwdriver and others till the head drops.

• hunter on Jan 30, 2023 at 4:38 pm

if drunk driver drive car also won’t check waze got roadblocks or not

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
  • JOhn Dough on Jan 30, 2023 at 5:39 pm

NO NO NO.

Malaysians will not cooperate with PIGS, greedy suckling vampires ‍♀️

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
  • Road users pay tols in full….but never ever even get a full stretch of highways….roadblocks, construction and road maintenance all the time on our highways. Whats the purpose of paying using highways but all we get is traffic jam and slowdown everywhere. Our highways become money mining place for PLUS, PROPEL AND SOME ENFORCEMENT GOVT AGENCY. So….we’re just helping each other from this madness! Whats wrong with that?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • Proton oh Proton on Jan 30, 2023 at 6:10 pm

We are not avoid police, we avoid traffic which cause by road block.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 2
  • Irwan on Jan 30, 2023 at 6:30 pm

Err, isn’t police support transparency where they only operate in clearly marked zone with those big sign boards. We are just helping with the exact location. Don’t be double standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Sosueme on Jan 30, 2023 at 7:00 pm

No offense they’re not looking to hinder traffic offenders, they are looking for victim’s to thicken their pockets. Stop acting as if y’all care about our lives.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
  • Mmstah on Jan 30, 2023 at 7:13 pm

Yes I agree, even a heavy jam at T junction but no police , then many police at a road block just 200 meters always.

• paperjam on Jan 30, 2023 at 7:23 pm

If ur roadblock dont cause my 15 min drive home to be 1 hour drive, then i may consider it.

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 30, 2023 at 9:13 pm

true story, one day i rushing home nak buang air besar, pdrm very smart go put roadblock and caused a 10 minute hourney become a 1 hour journey. i lost one good pair of underwear that day.

• Nak buat license mahal. Org balik kerja pun polis nk saman. Agak2 la.

• Boleh la! on Jan 30, 2023 at 10:42 pm

Police more focused on silly issues caused by traffic offenders rather than focus on bigger issues. Police also bully low income riders on the road and abuse power. So, it’s ok to help those road users.

• Athies on Jan 30, 2023 at 10:49 pm

*Why not instruct Waze to remove that feature*.
    Wow… looks like the woke generation cannot see the point…
    Its like the woke gen want to help drug addicts by giving them drugs!!
    whats wrong with society now????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Not even roadblock try getting kopi , even non uniform and with uniform officer stop few people at pasar malam , the worst case in chat with own mother in front of house stop by asking mykad
    What the heck!!! Disgraceful police shame on you

• Off course I will alert the other road user bcos the police are a nuisance.

• Bapakko on Jan 31, 2023 at 12:16 am

Always jammed lol

• Mariadass Lourdesamy on Jan 31, 2023 at 7:08 am

So they can make more ” sedekah ” through this illegal means ?

• Using technology to help people avoiding traffic jam is good for everyone. You can’t really check everyone by placing a roadblock anyway. Just a small sample size and cause massive jam. Why not implement technology to check instead of roadblock.

• Cheng on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:46 am

This article shows that using Waze is indeed EFFECTIVE. So, they confirmed that now. Need to do use Waze then. Well, one thing they can do is to drive their patrol car or motorcycle and randomly report to poison the data. By crying wolf, users would ignore warnings in the future.

• And we can easily remove that with picture of them not there anymore. If they utilizing fake report, they will get ban from the apps.

• we dont use waze to waze to aid offenders. we use waze to help all traffic users, period.

please check back your statement purpose and long term consequences. what do you expect? that all users heard your statement, and all the reports will be diminish?

what police SHOULD be using the tech to support them to improve, (find out accidents quickly, in real-time etc) not fight the users.

read out all comments above. do police think what are the results from issuing such statements?

• Steven on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:43 am

True indeed. If its involved in criminal offences that time where there’s a roadblock ahead then the culprits will know the presence of cops. ( KIDNAP , DRUG OR WANTED PERSON.)

• Plate owner on Jan 31, 2023 at 12:53 pm

When cross with jpj my plate number is ok. When police traffic roadblock they said plate number wrong format

• Naren on Jan 31, 2023 at 6:04 pm

There are millions and billions of vehicles on the road. Everyone is rushing to go back after long day at work. If police really wanted to help , please go and clear the road from traffic jamm. There are people stealing Big RM outside there…go and catch If you have guts. Really cant see Traffic Policemen nowadays on the road , maybe busy escorting ….people to give way to VVIP. Don’t look for biscuits at road side from people who are sincerely going to work. Donkeys !

• slaon on Jan 31, 2023 at 8:07 pm

pdrm adalah samseng yang berlesen

• Edward Chuah on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:23 pm

as sinful as it seemed using waze to forewarn “bad” drivers of police action ahead, why in the first place the police
    stopped vehicles and do the obvious…
    Practice physical distancing and carry out your summon within 2 mins.
    but they spent more than 5 minutes issuing summons.
    it was obvious they wanted to be friendly

• Edward Chuah on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:29 pm

as sinful as it seemed using waze to forewarn “bad” drivers of police action ahead, why in the first place the police
    stopped vehicles and do the obvious…
    Practice physical distancing and carry out your summon within 2 mins.
    but they spent more than 5 minutes issuing summons.
    it was obvious they wanted to be friendly

• Do the police feel the pain of the person who met with an accident when they asked that person to go back and change to look presentable to their eyes. Do they actually have feelings, I wonder.

• Papitooo on Feb 01, 2023 at 7:24 am

Why we want to waste (fuel) money on police roadblock waste of money and time. Still got many haramjadah lorry driver and stupid driver and motorist at 4am on the road u should cek on them stupid bloodyhell bising pasal roadblock pula banyak lagi masalah dekat jalanraya roadblock yang dia bising mak kau hijau.

• Ceritified Wanker on Feb 21, 2023 at 2:00 pm

This comment sums up majority of malaysians feeling. I can feel the rage by just reading this

• Taarchhin Lim on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:57 am

Block n confiscate the motorbike if they hv offended the traffic rules. they r the biggest threat to the motorists

• The JPJ Test So difficult so that’s why so many offenders. Change back to old JPJ test like the 80’s & 90’s.

What the heck the B2 license also must take test like B Full.

• Bing Ching Ling on Feb 01, 2023 at 3:43 pm

Malaysian police are fcking simple. using roadblocks as their pathetic excuse for draining out our pockets like absolute pathetic thief. i bet my own life y’all police don’t give a fck about our life or safety but instead give a damn fck about ur pocket money y’all stealing from us. this is what i call power abused from shitty police department. fck u law enforcement

• Bin Disel on Feb 01, 2023 at 4:52 pm

Pergh. The audacity.

• Uncle on Feb 02, 2023 at 10:16 am

Just here to read the comments, not the article

• DAP-Malaysian Malaysia on Nov 18, 2023 at 12:24 am

Exactly Dato. means that roadblocks is outdated. prevent is better than cure. what your take? your roadblock just want to issues summon for your KPI (and sometime oso got few of your men want duit kopi) can you hear urself speaking? dont blame us or waze if your statistic reduce. you should be proud public now comply with the law..