Taxis, e-hailing vehicles, buses still need to display road tax sticker, but will eventually go digital – Loke

The road tax (lesen kenderaan motor, or LKM) and driver’s licence may have made the move to digital, but the transition doesn’t cover every area as of yet. There will still be applications where a physical copy of both documents are needed, and for this, renewals will have to be carried out at road transport department (JPJ) offices.

According to transport minister Anthony Loke, those who will still need to go to JPJ offices for road tax renewals will be those owning or operating commercial vehicles. He said that these included taxis and ride-hailing vehicles, which will need to continue displaying the road tax sticker for the time being.

Also, those wanting to carry out a vehicle registration number transfer (interchange) will still need to go through the normal counter process. As for driving licences, those with a learner’s driver’s licence (LDL) and a vocational driver’s licence (PSV/GDL/KON) as well as foreign nationals holding a Malaysian driver’s licence or an international driving permit (IDP) will need to have the relevant physical document with them when they are behind the wheel.

Additionally, for those who intend to drive in other countries, take note that you will still need to have a physical copy of your driver’s licence (or an IDP) for this purpose. Loke said that this was “because other countries do not recognise our digital licence. You still have to bring your physical licence if you intend to drive in another country,” he explained.

As to when commercial applications would make the transition to digital licences, Loke gave no specific timeframe but said the move will come eventually. “Subsequent phases will be implemented, and eventually everything will be digitalised, including that for taxis, ride-hailing vehicles and buses. When the land public transport agency (APAD) system is up and can be integrated with the JPJ system, then we will move on to the phase covering such commercial vehicles,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rafizi sembang kencang on Feb 14, 2023 at 9:49 am

Terbaik Loke!

• question please on Feb 14, 2023 at 10:13 am

legit question on this – during an accident, how can we be sure the car registration plate is showing the real car registration number? Everyone knows how easy it is to order a custom car plate through online shopping now. You can be any number you want, and without the roadtax physical sticker, we (regular you and me) cant confirm the other party is using his true registraton numbers.

• TongkatAli on Feb 14, 2023 at 11:02 am

Experiment to test is, you find a same car model, same year, same colour as your own car, then you order online for that car’s registration number, then put onto your car. Even during roadblocks, I think the JPJ cant tell that you are an imposter!

• Rahman on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:08 pm

That is worrying. But possible.

• Cabang tiga on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:27 pm

That is true. Unless JPJ so hardworking and check the engine or chassis numbers. But from my years of driving experience, they just dont check it at roadblocks. They only check when you sell your car.

• Deputy Sheriff Idaho on Feb 14, 2023 at 12:01 pm

that’s why you needs to demand your ruler to implement stardard issue metal stamping vehicle registration plate with integrated RFID, no fake plate convenience for criminals….

• eh macam x betol on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:54 pm

metal plate stamping cost a lot of money. more than roadtax paper stickers. 1 step forward 2 steps back lah bro

• Mary On on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:25 pm

During lunch my fren say “just ask that other car to show you his digital roadtax on his phone lah”. That’s easier said than done, lol

• auto insurance on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:55 pm

I wonder what happens when you report polis you hit a car with plate ABC1234 and the polis say, this car dont exist. But you show photo of said car with said plate number. How to claim insurance macam ni?

• shhhh be silent on Feb 14, 2023 at 4:52 pm

mudah nak buat fitnah kena kan orang ni. order plate sama orang lain, buat bende kena saman. successssss

• Noob Malaysians on Feb 15, 2023 at 8:26 am

As per law, you have no rights to view other cars roadtax details. Only thing you can do is get the car plate number and take pic/video. Don’t be a noob. Study some law.

• booN siansmalay on Feb 15, 2023 at 10:01 am

that is exactly the problem now. You wont know if that other car is using fake license plate or not!