Jan 2023 Malaysian vehicle sales down by 35% – MAA

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released vehicle sales data for the month of January 2023, announcing that a total of 49,461 vehicles were delivered to buyers last month. This is 27,196 units less than the all-time high monthly TIV of 76,657 units sold in December, or a 35.5% decrease in volume.

The association said that the drop in numbers was due to the short working month as a result of Chinese New Year festive holidays, and also because certain makes were still affected by a shortage of microchips and components.

Compared to the same month in 2022, however, January’s total was 19.1% (or 7,928 units) higher than the 41,533 units achieved last year, where production cycles were still recovering from the disruption caused by floods that hit Shah Alam at the end of 2021.

Despite it being a shorter calendar month, the association projects that sales in February will be higher than January levels due to a full working month. It added that car companies are expected to continue fulfilling the backlog of vehicle orders made during the sales exemption period.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Kinte Kunte on Feb 17, 2023 at 6:17 pm

The production minus sales =approx 9000 units.This is not counting Dec 2022 unsold stocks The MAA members are blaming chips again..which is just an excuse for sales drop.U can see many MAA dealers still advertising 2022 models for sale now . The figures don’t lie.

• Gabriel on Feb 17, 2023 at 7:17 pm

Why is there not a single article here mentioning about Wee Ka Siong’s statement on the reckless move by Anthony Loke to digitize license and road tax?
    Shouldn’t we Malaysian are made aware about this? It is a safety risk.
    Is there a gag order on the matter?

• Fat mama with tons of birkin handbags on Feb 17, 2023 at 8:15 pm

Your Excellency Mr Gabriel
      Wee Wee is not in ministerial rolenow.He can advice,can bark..no one give a damn now.Alto what he said makes sense,in politics the ruling coalition has the final say.
      Just like when he was menteri,AhLokeKor’s many suggestions were cut short.

• AppleTree on Feb 20, 2023 at 10:17 am

Got digitized meh? I thought is just doing away with printed copy that you need to show.

Police should be able to scan the car plate from far and identify the car whether pay road tax or insurance or not. And at the same time, know the car plate match the car model and color. I think this is an achievement.

• AppleTree on Feb 20, 2023 at 10:21 am

BTW, i don’t see the sales number down. The sales chart 2.1 show the total volume up. Commercial Vehicle is down a bit though.

• CHAI SW on May 25, 2023 at 8:38 am

WILL U ABLE TO PROVIDE ME THE TOTAL CARS SOLD IN MALAYSIA IN JAN – APRIL 2023 (image)