Proposed incentives for EVs in Malaysia submitted to MoF, to include extension of tax exemption – MITI

Proposals for the further stimulation of the electric vehicle (EV) market in Malaysia have been submitted to the ministry of finance (MoF), according to The Star. These proposals will include the extending of tax exemptions for EVs sold in the country, minister of international trade and industry Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz said.

“We have submitted our proposals, and we hope the finance ministry will continue to support the EV agenda,” said the minister, who also attended the National Electric Vehicle Task Force meeting at MITI with EV stakeholders, according to the report.

The first tabling of Budget 2023 saw the announcement of import and excise duty exemptions for fully imported (CBU) EVs until December 31, 2024, which was itself extended from the prior end date one year earlier at December 31, 2023 that was put in place by the previous government at the tabling of Budget 2022.

The current tax exemption has been stimulating the growth of the EV market in Malaysia, said Volvo Car Malaysia MD Charles Frump. “The current incentive system, with the no sales tax for EVs, has been helpful for manufacturers and for the development [of EVs]. So, this is sufficient to really drive electrification in Malaysia. If we just continue [under the re-tabled Budget 2023], we can be on the right path,” Frump said.

Sales of electric and hybrid vehicles accounted for 2.77% of the total industry volume in 2022, according to Tengku Zafrul. “We received the latest report that for 2022, the number of EVs and hybrid vehicles was a huge jump from the year before. To ensure the momentum continues, we must also make sure that the ecosystem is ready, including the charging stations,” he said.

In terms of fully electric vehicles, sales of EVs in Malaysia grew to 2,631 units last year, up from just 274 units sold in 2021, or a gain of 860%, according to the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA).

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 21, 2023 at 6:08 pm

Simply put. This gomen is only for the rich. Rakyat marhaen lagi susah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Bla blaz on Feb 21, 2023 at 8:34 pm

Dont give up yet. Let see how cheap is cheap EV and how it look like. If its cheap but look like dugong or cheap but without tech then probably you re rite

• Amran on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:36 am

WAKE UP!!!!
        ANYTHING OVER RM 150K IS NOT CHEAP!!!!
        PH Gomen senang, hidup rakyat semakin susah!!!
        #KerajaanGagal2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • pemalas b40 on Feb 22, 2023 at 9:33 am

yes, remove all tongkat. Kerajaan dah gagal karena bagi tongkat, last last rakyat lemah lutut. BUANG SEMUA SUBSIDI.

#bantahtongkat

• Sick & Tired on Feb 23, 2023 at 12:29 pm

That so farnie when USA, Europe, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, etc all became successful thanks to tongkats and they still continue to give tongkats by the billions $$$.
            #BantahHypocritics

• Bieight8 on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:47 pm

Should have special low interest rates for ev hp

• AmazinglyAnnoyed on Feb 22, 2023 at 9:12 am

A lot of technology you see common even in the cheapest car today used to only exists in the most expensive car. Kalau yang kaya pun tak beli, how the technology can mature and flow down to the poor. Dulu semua orang ada kereta? Sabar la. Price of EV will come down when more people start buying. More rich ppl buy, more charging infrastructure built. When it becomes cheap enough then the poor also can enjoy the infrastructure. Seluruh dunia EV is expensive.

• Robinhood on Feb 22, 2023 at 9:17 am

This is the problem when the minister is not elected by the rakyat. He can’t comprehend what is the rakyat’s priority at this moment!!!! Makan pun takde duit, lagi nak cakap buy EV. Why don’t you push for lower car prices or spare parts overall???? Dia ada kickback ke????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Otak di mana? on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:44 pm

You keep reading about EV because you’re in an automotive website. If you want to talk about politics, this is the wrong website.