Lexus RX caught on camera crashing into six other vehicles – driver arrested, tests positive for marijuana

Footage has emerged of a Lexus RX crashing into slow-moving traffic in Bukit Jalil, and its driver has been found to be under the influence of drugs.

According to a statement issued by the Kuala Lumpur Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) headquarters, as posted to the Twitter account of Media Prima editor Mohd Redzuan Abdul Manap, the incident occurred on Saturday, March 4, 2023 on Lebuhraya Bukit Jalil from Astro heading towards the Lumba Kuda roundabout when the vehicle collided with six other vehicles which were in queue, stopped at a set of traffic lights.

Initial investigations found that the incident occurred as the driver of the Lexus RX, a male Malaysian citizen aged 40 lost control of the vehicle and crashed into the six vehicles, and the Lexus itself overturned as a result. The crash resulted in damage to the vehicles involved, however there were no injuries sustained, according to the statement.

The driver of the Lexus RX was arrested for investigations at the Kuala Lumpur traffic police station, and has undergone a urine test at the Dang Wangi district police headquarters, where the suspect tested positive for marijuana.

Members of the public with any queries or information relating to this incident may contact the Tun H.S. Lee traffic police station at 03-2071 9999 or the Kuala Lumpur Police Hotline at 03-2026 0267 or 03-2026 0269, according to the statement issued by Cheras district police chief ACP Zam Halim Jamaluddin.

Said is yesterday @ Bukit Jalil

Posted by Ady Wong on Sunday, 5 March 2023

In July 2020, the Malaysian government approved proposed amendments to the Sections 41 to 45 of the Road Transport Act 1987. In this case which did not result in injuries or death, Section 45 is applicable, and the amendment states that first-time offenders caught driving while intoxicated or on drugs will be fined a minimum of RM1,000 up to a maximum of RM5,000, and/or a jail term of less than two years as well as a disqualification of their driving license for a minimum of two years.

Those caught with subsequent offences under Section 45 will see fines of a minimum of RM5,000 up to a maximum of RM10,000, and/or a jail term of less than five years and a disqualification of their driving license for a minimum of five years.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• God please help this guy on Mar 06, 2023 at 11:08 am

Bravo, just jail him

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • PH Supporter on Mar 06, 2023 at 3:10 pm

Its okay according to liberals, rempits are even worse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • I Am The Law on Mar 06, 2023 at 6:14 pm

No, no, no….put him on death sentence. Put on a show to set an example for education. Take drugs you must die!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Zaidi on Mar 06, 2023 at 6:41 pm

Let us compare the accidents and/or fatalities caused by drivers under influence of ganja and alcohol. I think the data compiled for latter is much more than the former.

• Vedder on Mar 06, 2023 at 11:37 am

Definitely not just marijuana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • Pipototo on Mar 06, 2023 at 12:30 pm

Exactly! You will stick in your lane till your destination, not even bother to change lane let alone drive like this maniac. Everything around you will be slow somemore how to drive fast leh hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • weazelnews on Mar 07, 2023 at 12:00 am

If you have money you can always lower your sentence, next they will say he is a diabetes patient who was late on his medication.

• Lexus Safety Sense fail?

• Alek Ho on Mar 06, 2023 at 12:18 pm

This is serious stuff. That stoned driver was impaired in vision & judgement. He could’ve crashed into a crowd of people, causing deaths. He should be banned from driving for at least 6 yrs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Sheeple spotted on Mar 06, 2023 at 8:08 pm

Do you actually have experience? Sheeple like u that say things like this have no clue about the topic, just believe whatever your society, teachers, elders tell you is bad is bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Life sentence not just 6 years
      Makes no difference

• Alek Ho on Mar 07, 2023 at 5:31 pm

One doesn’t need drug taking experience to reckon the enormous society ills caused by junkies. And for that matter, we don’t need actual life experience in cheating, chronic gambling, paedophilia, violent sex behavior.. to know that these practices bring great harm to society & family. Whatever you are smoking, please seek help

• Gomorrah on Mar 06, 2023 at 12:54 pm

Itulah sibuk bikin roadblock untuk alcohol sahaja, miss all these clowns who are doing other drugs. Padahal accidents/deaths due to alcohol intoxication in Malaysia are one of the lowest globally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 21
    • Bangala on Mar 06, 2023 at 6:06 pm

They catch all kinds of intoxication, not just alcohol lah bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Gomorrah on Mar 07, 2023 at 2:29 pm

Eh bodoh sombong sejak bila, lu pergi mont kiara or mana mana in KL this weekend you tengok for yourself sebelum buka mulut. Technology is there but tak guna.

• Jeffrey Tan on Mar 06, 2023 at 1:21 pm

Driving a lexus fines 1000 or 5000 is like RM1.00 or Rm5.00 to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • time to legalize weed yo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Thank God no one was injured

• Squid on Mar 06, 2023 at 2:22 pm

Weed don’t do this to a person. He definitely took some other drugs!

• Lawson on Mar 06, 2023 at 2:26 pm

Could his insurance company refuse to pay for damages to the other cars? – since he is under influence of illegal drug.

• Moose Lim Brotherhood on Mar 06, 2023 at 3:25 pm

who doped him? he must had provokes those association bosses?

• No one really knows how many times he was driving on drugs. Luckily, he did not take any lives. Hard to tell whether he can be rehabilitate but the maximum penalty should be imposed as to deterrent.

• I Am The Law on Mar 06, 2023 at 6:18 pm

The penalty is too light…give him death sentence

• covid no mask: RM10k
    maniac driving under drug: min RM1k~RM5k

thats cheap, consider he can easily cause death with that kind of speed

• Kaki Saman on Mar 06, 2023 at 7:15 pm

Suddenly become mentally-illed.

OKU card with ‘Alcohol is what making people sane’

• Seasoned User on Mar 06, 2023 at 8:04 pm

Unless he is on the synthetic, as an seasoned user, I can safely say it’s not the Mary Jane, and I’m not talking Spiderman.

• aiyaa…sure gaotim sooner or later

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 07, 2023 at 8:03 am

this kind of ppl also can afford lexus

• Alexlim on Mar 07, 2023 at 11:12 am

This very2 highly marijuana intoxicated driver must be charged not only for dangerous driving but deadly homicidal driving!!!

• potato on Mar 09, 2023 at 9:01 pm

how can you arrest god?

• Miked on May 07, 2023 at 11:31 pm

Amazing driving skill better than mine.