UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has officially launched the fourth-generation Toyota Vios, which is being offered in two variants. That’s two less than the outgoing model, with the previous J and GR Sport (GR-S) versions being the absentees.
With the J variant gone, the base option is now the E that is priced at RM89,600 on-the-road without insurance, which is followed by the G at RM95,500. These figures are slightly below previous estimated prices, and when compared to equivalents of the previous generation, prices have gone up by RM4,000 and RM5,100 respectively.
In its latest form, the all-new Vios is built on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform and boasts larger dimensions than its predecessor, measuring in at 4,425 mm long (+5 mm), 1,740 mm (+10 mm) wide and 1,480 mm tall (+5 mm). Of more significance is the wheelbase that is now 70 mm longer at 2,620 mm.
For some context, in the B-segment sedan space, only the Nissan Almera matches the Vios in terms of wheelbase, while other notable nameplates like the Honda City (2,600 mm) and Mazda 2 Sedan (2,570 mm) trail closely.
Design-wise, the Vios is immediately identified by its overhauled front end that features a large central intake flanked by air curtains (or vortex generators as they are labelled). A thin black bar just above the gaping mouth visually separates the upper and lower areas of the face, with sharp LED headlamps appearing to be “hanging” by the tip of the L-shaped daytime running lights.
Regardless of variant, the headlamps come with automatic on/off and follow me home functions, although levelling is done manually. Also standard across the range is an aerokit that adds a black bumper lip, side skirts, a boot lid lip spoiler as well as a diffuser-like element for the rear bumper.
UMWT is marketing the Vios as a fastback, with the identifying cue being the gently sloping C-pillars that are accompanied by shiny black trim that serves to visually extend the window area. As for the wheels, the E comes with 16-inch alloy units (195/60 profile tyres), while the G gets 17-inch alloys (205/50 profile tyres), the latter being the same size fitted to the previous GR-S.
Moving to the rear, the bumper mimics the front by adopting the vortex generator bits, although these are purely decorative. The taillights are also more angular than before with modern graphics and are linked by a black trim that houses the reverse camera and boot release. On the G, the taillights come with sequential turn signals, but this is not available for the E.
Inside the black and dark brown interior, the Vios sports a simpler dashboard design with cupholders at the corners in front of the air vents. This is reminiscent of the Perodua Ativa, which is also a DNGA-based product, and you’ll find things like the steering wheel and gear lever are of a near identical design. Elsewhere, the centre console has been raised and features an armrest that hides a Qi wireless charger underneath.
The wireless charger is standard for both variants, as is the nine-inch Display Audio touchscreen head unit with support for wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, which is rare in this segment. Other shared equipment is an RFID tag, front digital video recorder, a multi-function steering wheel, illuminated scuff plates, auto-folding side mirrors, keyless entry (touch sensor) and engine start, acoustic windshield glass and the Vehicle Telematics System (VTS) with a free three-year subscription.
Kit specific to the E includes intermittent wipers, black exterior accents, a urethane shift knob and steering wheel, tilt steering adjustment, an Optitron instrument cluster with a 4.2-inch multi-info display, manual air-conditioning, a manual handbrake, four speakers and fabric seat upholstery. Paying the premium for the G nets you more features, which we’ve talked about in our review of the Vios.
The extra RM5,900 over the E brings with it rain-sensing wipers, chrome exterior accents, a leather steering wheel and shift knob, a seven-inch digital instrument cluster, a 64-colour ambient lighting system, automatic air-conditioning, tilt and telescopic steering adjustment, soft-touch material on certain areas of the cabin, six speakers and an electronic parking brake (with auto brake hold).
Both variants come with six airbags, which is one less than before (the driver’s knee airbag is gone), and the usual array of passive systems like Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), traction control, ABS, EBD, brake assist, hill start assist, auto door lock, ISOFIX child seat anchors as well as parking sensors (two front and four rear).
Driver assistance systems for the E include a pre-collision system (autonomous emergency braking), lane departure warning, lane departure prevention, front departure alert, pedal misoperation control, blind spot monitor with rear cross traffic alert and a 3D panoramic view monitor. This list of systems is already an improvement over the previous model, but the G takes things a step further by also adding lane keeping control, auto high beam and adaptive cruise control.
Powering the Vios is a 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 106 PS (104 hp) at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. Compared to the 2NR-FE used previously, the 2NR-VE shares the same engine capacity, DOHC and Dual VVT-i, but the output figures are down by 1 PS (1 hp) and 2 Nm.
The new mill drives the front wheels through a CVT, specifically Daihatsu’s D-CVT split-gear system that combines belt drive with a gear drive. This combination is said to provide quicker acceleration and a fuel consumption of 5.2 litres per 100 km. Drivers will have three drive modes to play with, including Normal, Power and Eco.
The Vios continues to feature MacPherson struts at the front, a rear torsion beam and electric power steering. Ventilated brake discs are also standard for both variants, but the E uses drums at the rear, while the G needs solid discs for its electronic parking brake. Other notable technical specifications relate to the size of the fuel tank (40 litres now instead of 42 litres previously), and the E has a smaller turning radius of 4.8 metres compared to the G’s 5.2 metres due to the different wheel sizes.
UMWT offers five colours for the Vios, including Silver Metallic, Nebula Blue Metallic, Spicy Scarlet, Attitude Black and Platinum White Pearl, the last of which is a RM400 option. On that mention, a rear digital video recorder can also be specified for an additional RM380. A five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty comes standard with each Vios purchased.
The first-generation Vios arrived in Malaysia two decades ago in 2003, so the nameplate is celebrating its 20th anniversary here this year. The latest iteration is produced at the Toyota Assembly Services (ASSB) plant in Bukit Raja and replaces the third-generation model that has been around since 2013. What do you think of the all-new Vios? Will you choose it its closest rival, the Honda City? We’ve already had a go in the fourth-generation Vios and you can find our thoughts on it here.
GALLERY: 2023 Toyota Vios 1.5G
GALLERY: 2023 Toyota Vios 1.5E
GALLERY: 2023 Toyota Vios official launch photos
GALLERY: 2023 Toyota Vios brochure
Nice
(Like) Alza
(Dislike) Vios
Same – engine, gearbox, DNGA, length/wide
Alza – 7-people MPV, dual-AC, 20K cheaper
Can’t compare between Vios and Alza as both are different segment
Why cannot?
U buying much the same thing (tech)
U can also compare AXIA, ATIVA, ALZA, VELOZ with VIOS because all also DNGA platforms across many segments….
Axia is A segment
Ativa is also A segment
Alza is B segment but slower than Vios. Alza is bigger car but Vios is smaller car
Vios is B segment but sedan and can’t compare with Alza/Veloz as Alza/Veloz are bigger car, Ativa and Axia also can’t compare
Yes – in any case, DNGA to compare parallel to DNGA, never compare with TNGA vehicles at all
so people who buying alza is a cheapskate. but to spend more 20k, better buy veloz?
no better place to take photo ah bro… why you park the car on lalang?
Eco car, blending with Green.
that definitely the definition of parking jauh-jauh tengah padang when go to kenduri because so shy just drive vios/bezza. buy 86k vios but people think it is just a bezza. nothing berbezza/different.
Vios has better quality car like my honda, although not much better than toyota, admit as myself but better than perodua. But perodua bezza is smaller car but cheapskate quality and can’t beat my honda accord
I will get Vios E enough for me!!!
Don’t suffer without Adaptive Cruise Control
For me, I can’t afford to buy Vios G, but I heard that Vios G is one of the most popular variant orders that chose. But since I can’t buy top variant, Vios E is enough for me. At least Vios E come with important active safety features and other features like aircond, speakers and type of parking brake is good for me. Even Vios E also come with rear aircond vents.
Vios E looks cheaper,
Smaller Rim,
More hard plastic interior
4 speakers only
Can enjoy anot for so much money?
While larger rim looks better and handles better, I prefer slightly smaller rim for the added comfort. 15″ is perfect for this segment.
You mean City come with lots of plastic than Vios E
Finally!!! Roads in Malaysia sure will flood with this car
inside looks like a Alza. Coincidence? I think not!
Of course no coincidence sibling company ma
A daihatsu based vios?…no thanks
Just WOW
I wonder what is the local parts content
wah.. the All New Bezza..
New bezza with 1.5cc engine w dcvt
1.5cc engine with the power and torque of an 1.2cc engine.
I love blue colour
Best packaging among local B-seg sedan, and probably the most reliable one…
Those who complained about no spare tyre, there is repair tyre kit to repair tyre
Those who complained about no spare parts, can buy steel and tools and make by your own.
And be prepared when the tyre ‘koyak’ and not puny punctured.
Nissan almera new looks much better then this and after sales service of Nissan is much better then Toyota service, but its close competitor
No ACC, No auto high beam and no lane tracing assist…
Good. Less costly repairs.
But not as reliable as Vios
Prove it.
I owned Almera from TC, but service very teruk and not cheap than Vios
No lane departure warning, ACC? No problem, since none of the idiots on Malaysian roads use them at all.
All want features for bragging rights only. Ada duit tapi otak kosong.
Don’t want more things, you will be more silly
What’s silly is –
*having lane keep assist and turning it off,
*having ACC and not using it and on top of that tailgating,
* Having blind spot warning but don’t use indicators
* Having 100 airbags and crumple zones but drive like life you survive hitting a concrete wall at 180kmh and can hit the reset button if SHTF.
There’s a time, place, condition and method to drive fast and barrelling down a crowded road or highway in a vehicle loaded with passengers and/or luggage whilst forcing/ intimidating other drivers out of their way just because their vehicle is pricier/ more advanced/ the latest and disregarding the safety nets is not it.
Better to be late a couple of minutes than dead in a split second.
No ACC, No auto high beam and no lane tracing assist for Almera
Lol
why buy this then perodua launch it as bezza for 30k cheaper how???
Considering it’s being assembled at the UMW’s Bukit Raja plant, I will be surprised if this is launched as a Perodua at a later date. Doesn’t make sense to produce 1 car in 2 factories in Malaysia and also don’t think Perodua will sell a car that isn’t made in it’s own plant.
This is a Myvi Sedan. Or a Alza Sedan. Or a Veloz Sedan.
Whatever.
Much much better specs n equipment upgrade from my vios 2020 facelift, though price a bit expensive. Still considered it
I want new technology
Now finally we have a jap car that kinda ticks all boxes for a b-segment, from ok ok to goodies
An exciting b segment for the youth, if u got money to spear then why not .
The youth likes engines that are cut in power and torque compared to the previous model. Most YZ15 drivers upgrade to Lagenda.
Vios is more reliable than City.
Vios doesn’t mean that already less powerful, already come with DCVT that makes quicker acceleration and have better fuel consumption
Vios also better comfort and handling and NVH
The cut of engine power and torque is compensated by high revs. Sporty drivers like to go through town with [email protected]/h.
Really?
Is that historically correct?
I’m toying between the 2 Vios G or City V Sensing.
Would appreciate feedback from all.
Pretty decent car
1.5 E variant specification has changed leaps and bounds over the years but here’s a history of it’s price
2003 74,740
2006 81,033
2007 78,700
2012 82,300
2013 82,900
2015 84,300
2016 83,900
2018 81,980
2019 81,200
2020 85,674
2022 85,600
2023 89,600
That’s why just go for Vios G, 80% buyer choose it.
Vios E with low spec different looks is easy identified.
If the 2003 Vios is still being sold today at RM74k, would you buy?
Exora ’09 2 airbags still being sold today, RM69k
1 vios ’03 from used car market for less than RM 15,000.
Or 1 new Vios ’03 for RM74,000?
Which one to choose?
Vios Soluna was created as retaliation towards ASEAN Afta zero import tax rule non-compliance by certain protected species and finally it reached the objective when the protective species no longer have a sedan capable of challenging Vios and Altis in entire ASEAN market sans relegated it in the local sedan market with the remaining old relic small sedan and cockroach-shaped sedan. Even then both the crappy sedans shall be wiped out once and for all as and when the new cheaper Bezza Vios came out next year as the ultimate final nail to the protected species coffin.
Cheaper Bezza Vios can’t be compare with Corolla sedan and Vios as Perodua is national brand while Toyota is not
Nice interior gladly not wine red color like thailand version but no dark silver color option. A gaya outlook with same engine as 40% cheaper myvi. Cramped rear head room same like city. Unfoldable rear seat is ok but without spare tyre doesn’t practical in Malaysia road conditions. Only dnga winner over the rival. Those aeb, lka, acc are unuseful and rather irritating for an intermediate driver. 17 inch rim doesn’t needed as it made the turning radius wider. E spec price are steep at rm90k.
Do you guys see some hints of Proton Preve at the rear of the new Vios?
down in performance is the biggest sin ever made by toyota.
Performance is overrated. The old folks that drive Vios won’t even recognize it.
Where is the 64 color ambient lighting system picture? A water down BULB type instead of light strip bar in Thai version….why lah so cheap stake….
wah 90k also no leather seat….very poor already malaysian…..basic car also 90k….pay till death nowdays …..one biji decent car 100k ..one decent house 700k…habis for ordinary malaysian…
But better than kosong spec city
Study and work hard brother. Below 100k still consider cheap.
What do you expect for the asking price?
Yeahhhh upcoming rebadge Perodua Bezza.
So basically 2NR-VE engine and D-CVT is the same with Myvi and Alza engine.
Although previously 2NR-FE is twin of 2NR-VE with different code.
Look is very subjective, but very similar to Honda City at the rear.
hehe i see a lot of perodua parts (i own an ativa) from steering to instrument display
the ACC y with no stop & go function like alza one?
Habislah Honda City
Gonna trade my Almera into Vios
Many people say buy any Perodua better / cheaper
No wonder u all stay in Perodua bracket, can’t afford to upgrade your own lifestyle, then complain about others not good.
Well done B40
people say that because most of the components and parts are shared between perodua and toyota.
so why pay more just for the toyota badge?
Because toyota have better quality and better spec unlike perodua come with cheap quality but okay but specs also not as good as toyota
“upgrade your lifestyle” by purchasing a car with less power and less torque? What “lifestyle” is that?
Myvi and Vios have same power but Vios have improved performance and now par with Myvi this time round. Now for Vios and Myvi, Vios have better spec while Myvi isn’t as better as Myvi but Myvi specs looks great
Agree
My Spicy Scarlett is on the way. Since using Distronic Plus in Merc can’t live without it. Most importantly it would reduce stress in town and make it easy to drive on the highway. I got surprised that G3 Vios is rather comparable to my earlier W212 Merc in terms of driving in some areas (not the power of course). We still need a sedan. So G4 Vios would be the best option for my wife.
Backseat cannot be folded down. That’s a big disadvantage. I fold my car backseat down very often to carry long items.
Get a lorry noob
Hello Beng
The vios back seat cannot fold, guys who is 168cm height above is not comfortable at the back seat. His head will hit the roof. The seat atthe back too straight up.
Daihatsu with toyota logo, cheapskate to bring folding rear seat, especially after removing spare tyre afterall it should be priced lower than that. Pretty much basic and nothing interesting about this one. 1.5cc engine but really low power output, honda has been a leader for power output with same engine capacity.
City is leader for power output but Vios is almost catching up with City for power and performance. Vios is already good for performance, technology, features, design and comfort. Reliability for Vios beats City
Sorry lar, NO Vios here in this case, comparing its top trim with Veloz spec by spec, we can still get a lot more car for the money – and BETTER STILL, save up to MYR19+k for the similarl-platformed Perodua Alza and let that new sedan be compared to our existing Proton Persona Premium instead full stop
I like it
Bye dugong vios.. this is proper car