PSV licence approval process for ride-hailing drivers sped up, can now be obtained within a week – Loke

The transport ministry has announced that the process of getting a public service vehicle (PSV) vocational license for e-hailing drivers has been accelerated and can now be obtained within a week. Transport minister Anthony Loke said that the improvement in the process has come about due to the abolition of the theory test as of April 10.

“Previously, every driver had to wait between two to three months to get a PSV license. In fact, the capacity to approve PSV licenses is very limited, which is around 200 to 300 drivers a week due to the implementation of the theory test,” he said after a PSV license handover ceremony to 300 prospective Grab ride-hailing drivers yesterday.

He said that the ride-hailing operator had informed the ministry that more than 2,000 applications to obtain PSV licenses were delayed, especially for those in the Klang Valley. “Through this collaboration with the operator, we successfully completed over 2,000 outstanding PSV license applications over the past three months,” he said.

At the event, Loke also presented PSV licenses to hearing-impaired ride-hailing drivers.”Previously, hearing-impaired ride-hailing drivers were not permitted, but now they are allowed by the government. Data from the ride-hailing operator shows that such drivers can drive well and there are no safety issues for passengers. In fact, they are prudent drivers,” he stated.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Angry Voters on Apr 19, 2023 at 12:45 pm

Of course lah speed up, no need go for pemanduan berhemat or peraturan lalulintas jalanraya course anymore. Supposedly do on online but u know I know can easily skip that part then just waiting shake leg for PSV lesen come out, walah! now he/she is a Grab driver. Soon will see bad driving from them and more accidents but everyone blaming polis, blaming JPJ, blaming Grab, for not discipling the errant drivers but the root cause is stupid Loke idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • Arumugam Gopal on Apr 20, 2023 at 6:42 am

Psv theory test only encourage RASUAH.
      I attended the class few years ago.
      The instructur not interested in making the participants pass the test.
      They will be very happy if the participants fail. So that they can get tepi money upto RM500 per person.
      THANKS ANWAR IBRAHIM
      THANKS LOKE
      THANKS PH
      FOR STOPING THIS TEST WHICH PUT A FULL STOP TO PEMAKAN RASUAH.
      GOD THANK YOU SO MUCH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Casual reader on Apr 21, 2023 at 5:39 pm

Instructor job is not to pass u, their job is to fail u when ur not qualified to drive. Asking for a pass means ur not fit to drive but blame jpj for failing u.

• Ben Yap on Apr 19, 2023 at 3:30 pm

more young people after SPM will be driving e-hailing and the country will have an influx of B40s.

• Zaidy on Apr 19, 2023 at 5:29 pm

Ada yg nma je rakyat msia..test psv bertulis..tak tau baca bm .fikir fikir la.

• YW. P on Apr 21, 2023 at 1:17 am

Yakah? Last 2 days I went JPJ PJ around 2pm, being told the queue is full. The next day I went again at 7.30am before it is even open, a few PSV applicants walking away and tell everyone forget about it, today system offline. I don’t even know if I go on the 3rd time what would happen, do I need to go on the 4th and 5th and on and on attempting applying for PSV?