Malaysia driving license can be renewed up to 10 years validity – up from current 5 years limit, buy 9 free 1

Minister of Transport Anthony Loke announced today that JPJ would be allowing the renewal of driving licenses up to 10 years, which is double the length of the current maximum permitted 5 years of renewal.

In addition to that, if you renew for 10 years, you will only need to pay for 9 years renewal, which is basically a buy 9 free 1 offer, or 10% discount. The renewal fee is RM30 a year, so a 10 year renewal will cost RM270.

You can only renew your license if your remaining license validity is less than a year, so if you’ve renewed your license recently, you will have to wait until you are less than a year to the new expiry date before you can renew your license against to the new maximum of 10 years validity.

This initiative only applies to Malaysian citizens, and does not apply to foreigners holding Malaysian driving licenses.

Loke also announced an initiative for Malaysians whose driving licenses expired from January 1 2018 onwards and not renewed after 3 years thus are now unable to be renewed without retaking the driving exam.

These licenses can now be renewed without retaking the driving test. This is to accommodate Malaysians who did not manage to renew their license during the Covid19 MCO. This allowance is temporary and will expire on December 31 2023.

You may watch the press conference video below to hear the details directly from YB Loke’s mouth.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Muhammad Syafiq Soh on May 03, 2023 at 3:09 pm

Commendable program. Another point of consideration is the road tax. Should introduce a tier system due to age of car. Makes no sense to pay same amount if car is more than 10 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 19
    • Omong kosong on May 03, 2023 at 4:41 pm

More or less than 10 years, still using the same road la dei. Pls understand why roadtax is being collected at the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
      • Road taxes collected are NOT used to build roads. There is no such mandate. The govt can use road tax for anything they want, even Hermes handbags. The budget for roads is completely separate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
      • Azman on May 03, 2023 at 7:43 pm

Loke is really fucking good….. I begin to like this guy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Ben Yap on May 03, 2023 at 3:54 pm

so mat rempit and ah beng racer’s license when get revoke, their remaining years will be forfeited.

• Mat rempit also don’t have the money to renew 10 years lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Unimaginable Insanity on May 03, 2023 at 6:24 pm

Ahlokekor should enforce blocking renewal of licence n jailing the recalcitrant motorists with multiple samans.
      Like the idiot Civic driver sudden braking crashing at Genting with a dozen samans.
      These morons r a clear n present danger, allowed to renew insurance,licence n road tax.
      Hello,concentrate on enforcements…not going undercover,selling fanciful number plates,n collecting 10 year licence fees upfront.
      Is this what MADANI is all about? It is pure madness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • jasoho on May 03, 2023 at 4:01 pm

I really like what I am seeing so far with the progress from LOKE. I wonder what is WEE doing now?… Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • ANDREW FU on May 03, 2023 at 5:17 pm

WKS is still Wee Wee in the toilet. Please leave him alone……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Talk-only-wee on May 03, 2023 at 5:25 pm

Still in study, do research, or talking stage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Curious on May 03, 2023 at 6:14 pm

We we is now thinking how disadvantage when all tis initiative roll out, always opposed only.

• Discount not attractive actually, if we pay Year 6 to 9 in advanced, the accumulated interest is around RM30.

• Global on May 03, 2023 at 7:53 pm

Interest around Rm30? But how come I count around Rm72.90 if 3% interest per year.
      If government announce license fees rise up to RM50 per year due to some reason in next few years, then how?

• Depends what rate you use and how much you deposit. Raise to RM50 will not earn vote from B40, this will not happen. No concern for rich so go ahead, save queuing time, go ahead. Lol

• I will definitely get a lot of flak for this, but I do not agree with this new term limit.

Malaysian road users are already badly behaved. We should be using license terms to help enforcement. Limit renewal terms for those with bad records. But somehow, the authorities could not even implement the previous simple point tracking system.

• dellen on May 03, 2023 at 7:07 pm

eh if you do anything wrong there is nothing to stop the authorities from cancelling your driving license lah despite you renew 50 years also

• Gomorrah on May 04, 2023 at 12:28 pm

Then its penalising those drivers who do have good records. Rather enforcement should be – outstanding saman or poor record (eg demerit points) = loss of licence/ ineligible for renewal for x amount of years. If during the valid licence period and accumulate the above (poor record etc) then loss of licence, loss of whatever validity remains, and have to retake the test to regain the privilege to drive. But agree with you, the will to enforce is non-existent because majority Malaysians are under the impression that driving is a right.

• My name is wee ka siong on May 03, 2023 at 11:25 pm

Saya jaguh telur ayam

• DasBoot on May 04, 2023 at 12:48 am

>>> This initiative only applies to Malaysian citizens, and does not apply to foreigners holding Malaysian driving licenses. <<<

Why? Don’t foreigners holding valid working permit live and pay taxes in Malaysia same as anyone? All these JPJ Malaysian only regulations don’t make any sense…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Wearewatching on May 04, 2023 at 8:09 am

Advance collection, good income for our cointry. Hopefully still alive next 10yrs.

• Abu Bakar on May 04, 2023 at 8:10 am

This is not something new. It was in existence during Mahathir’s earlier term of 23 years. It was decided to be reduced to 5 years to weed out bad drivers with multiple summons. Maybe as a compromise, only allow Malaysian with good driving record and timely paid summons record for the past at least 2 years to have the 10 year renewal option.

• Bhaskara Raj on May 04, 2023 at 10:21 am

the driving licence fees for Malaysian PR is not the same as that of Malaysian citizens. Why is it so? They have to pay double the amount. Govt should consider this in having an uniform rates.

• Nigel Tan on May 04, 2023 at 1:00 pm

Another issue is to lower the traffic fine RM300.Make not sense if the public cannot afford to pay and do not want to pay wait until the goverment announce discount offered.The right ways is to educate the public more on roads safety and the VVIP also should shows good example giving ways to the Public rather the other way.

• Yew Soon Kin on May 04, 2023 at 1:11 pm

What about the ‘Vocational Driving Licence’?

• Matt Carrick on May 04, 2023 at 3:32 pm

Good move.. but i just renew my license yesterday for 5 years.. jilake betul

• fender on May 05, 2023 at 12:58 am

I think the authoriities may take sometime to check valid driver and license after more than 5 years as the picture and face change a lot. This does not help the traffic flow in the future . By 9 free 1. Gov desperate to collect revenue. Why not 4 free 1. Most affordable and more volume.

• alwee on May 05, 2023 at 8:07 am

can renew online? Link please

• Jaybon bin cikmbong on May 05, 2023 at 7:04 pm

Rakyat mlysia xdok duit nk smbg 10 thn bos kecuali kerajaan bg percuma dulu lesen selama 5 thn pertama ..

• Road tax calculate on CC outdated .An old 20 years old 1.8 car paying road tax More then 3 times that the new 1.0cc
    car .

• Muluq on Oct 05, 2023 at 12:51 pm

Cukai Jalan Digital dan Lesen Digital bakal membawa kesusahan pada rakyat. Hari ni JPJ di seluruh negeri Selangor tidak lagi bagi pelekat roadtax dan lesen dlm bentuk kad.

1. Bukan semua kenderaan yg dipandu milik sendiri, jadi bagaimana nak tunjuk aps yg roadtaxnya hidup. kena login logout & minta username dan password org lain kah, bagaimana kalau owner kereta itu lupa passowrd myjpjnya. anda bakal disaman.

2. Lupa bawa telefon bimbit ketika memandu umpama membawa kenderaan yg tiada cukai jalan dan tiada lesen. anda bakal disaman.

3. Telefon bimbit sentiasa kena ada data plan, telefon bimbit yg tiada bateri juga bakal membawa masalah utk anda. anda bakal disaman

4. Warga emas yg tidak mempunyai telefon pintar tidak boleh memandu kerana tiada bukti mereka ada lesen. anda bakal disaman.

5. Bawa kenderaan syarikat bagaimana nak tunjuk aps yg ada cukai jalan, syarikat kena bekalkan sebuah lagi hp hanya untuk myjpj aps.

6. Ada orang yg beli kenderaan atas nama orang lain tanpa tukarnama atau owner asal tidak dapat dikesan lagi, ini lebih buruk akibatnya kerana mereka tiada cara untuk renew lagi. kenderaan anda dalam bahaya.

7. Rakyat boleh bayar additional kos RM5 ke RM10 untuk pelekat roadtex dan kad lesen jika kerajaan mahu jimat kos asalkan ianya mudah untuk rakyat.

8. Akhir sekali paling teruk bila ada roadblok polis akan periksa semua pemilik punya myjpj aps secara manual dan kesesakan yg luar biasa akan berlaku.

Rakyat tiada pilihan.
    # Rindu zaman Najib.