Perodua leaking oil filter issue – 40,000 units of Axia, Bezza, Myvi, Alza, Ativa involved; free warranty claim

On the sidelines of the Malaysia Autoshow 2023, Perodua addressed the leaking oil filter issue that has been the talk of many owners on social media in recent months.

According to Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad, the issue involves 40,000 Perodua cars across all current models except the Aruz, so only the Axia, Bezza, Myvi, Ativa and Alza are affected – common parts are shared.

He added that the defective oil filters are replacement parts from a different supplier as the original manufacturer oil filters fitted to cars coming out of the company’s manufacturing plants. Perodua uses two suppliers due to insufficient manufacturing capacity by a single supplier.

Customers who are faced with the issue will be able to make a warranty claim that covers the oil filter and oil change at no charge.

Perodua notes that since February this year, claims have been on the downtrend, and it hopes to resolve the issue by the middle of 2023 via an alternative vendor or product improvement.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Literally 6weeks production affected.

• P2...A clear and present danger on May 03, 2023 at 9:40 pm

So,Enchik Perodua…oil filter..can claim warranty,after so much complaints n cursing.
      But recall..due to defective cheating part..even Akio Toyoda also pening kepala.
      Great grand cucu (Perodua) refuse to listen to grandpa Toyota Japan to recall.What a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • Sohai on May 03, 2023 at 10:14 pm

2nd source , 3rd source … all cost down to like bawah pokok 4-man quality but cop OEM … pity consumer use poor quality OEM product …

• Retired Akio on May 04, 2023 at 11:19 am

beg your pardon i already retired aka washed hand in golden basin

• Jonny on May 03, 2023 at 7:04 pm

“it hopes to resolve the issue by the middle of 2023” – great keep replacing defective OF with the same defective OF batch until stock depleted while customers keep having to visit SC over and over.

Very irresponsible company Perodua.

They should have stopped using and return back all OF from the problematic vendor at the vendor’s cost, and use other brand or aftermarket OF instead like Bosch or Toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • Bob Mal on May 03, 2023 at 7:46 pm

So those who brought in their car for service earlier due to oil leaking can claim back the warranty for oil filter and oil change in exchange for future service?

Also how can you allow or blame the aftermarket oil filter by selling to your consumer at authorised service centre at the exact same price as the OEM don’t you think its cheating?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • What OEM? What different supplier? The OIL FILTERs were sold by Perodua Authorised Service Centre and they leak. What is he talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Guna otak on May 03, 2023 at 11:27 pm

Perodua not making parts all by themselves. Most are sourced by vendors and assembled by Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • oiler on May 04, 2023 at 10:05 am

And? Then Perodua should be more careful when selecting suppliers. Some companies even have a QC department for that. And: The pistons for example are surely not made by Perodua too. What comes next? If engine jam, then the CEO will tell us that it’s not P2’s fault, because the pistons are not made by P2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • Selecting supplier is one thing. The bigger issue is them wanting to continue selling the faulty oil filters despite knowing the problem.

• everything in the car is hardly produced by perodua. apart from some engine block. what are you trying to cover for perodua?

• Yeah 40000 cars only… many change their filter multiple times. Some change 5 times between service.

• changer on May 05, 2023 at 9:53 am

To be on the safe side, I change my oil filter once a week.

• bow again la, japanese ma

• “He added that the defective oil filters are replacement parts from a different supplier and not the original manufacturer oil filters fitted to cars coming out of the company’s manufacturing plants”

My bro sticking to the warranty period thinking all the parts supplied by produa are original from manufacturer itself. There’s no doubt, i myself owned an axia. Distanced myself from SC after the warranty period over. During warranty, 2 months after schedule service the oil filter leak. WTF

• Samson on May 03, 2023 at 9:58 pm

After the warranty,we can do service outside,use Caltex Havoline Engine Oil and Bosch Oil filter.Cheaper than SC and no oil filter leaking issues.

• Sunny on May 03, 2023 at 9:19 pm

Problem starts in February and now only want to solve the problem. Should have stop using the filter immediately.
    Having the warranty claim is one thing, what about our time wasted in getting the filter changed?
    I have to cancel my travelling during the holidays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Problem starts last year. What he said is down trend in Feb which only idiot would believe. There are more and more people posting on socmed about their own car leaking.

• And also 40000 cars affected are from those that aware of the issue and checked their filter. Many others are not aware of the leaking and continue to drive.

• Retired grabber on May 03, 2023 at 10:15 pm

Perodua using too low viscosity 0w 20 oil maybe not suitable for malaysia hot weather? Toyota sc use 5w 30 or 10w 30 for vios altis which no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Simple item like oil filter can’t do properly.

• Syukri Ngah on May 04, 2023 at 4:27 am

I used aruz car. March 2023 my car oil filter leak and after raya April 2023 oil filter leak again. Leak less than 2 month. How come they claim Aruz not infected and oil filter improve. What a stupid jokes. Its look like oil filter used more worse.

• mechanic on May 04, 2023 at 6:39 pm

Aruz’ oil filter can be sealed with bathroom silicon from DIY. Not a problem at all for people with basic skills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Bodoh la pakai kancil pun tak payah buat macam ni. Ada ke nak letak silikon. Ingat pornstar ke.

• Alvin Foo on May 04, 2023 at 8:38 am

I have problem with my brake system.
    Since the next day I received my new car there is krok sound when stop and release my brake.
    After raining the sound more worst.
    Complained to Perodua HQ.
    Still problem haven’t solved.
    Almost one and half years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • oiler on May 04, 2023 at 9:31 am

“that covers the oil filter and oil change at no charge.”
    Filter and labour is free of charge, but oil have to pay?

• Noname on May 04, 2023 at 9:33 am

Kudos perodua. Meanwhile proton krik.. krik.. with their X series model problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • what problem?

perodua cant even get simple milotin car to work properly.

go look at proton x series seat, and tell me what perodua can offer that level of quality.

• I thougt P2 is bullet proof and high RV. Myth busted.

• Mior badrulizam on May 04, 2023 at 9:44 am

Is this matters are for new buy car only or include car that service at perodua sc

• Filter Supplier Blacklisted ? on May 04, 2023 at 10:38 am

Kasi another chance ?

• Norazman abdullah on May 04, 2023 at 10:39 am

Apa.kesudahannya kalau pihak mgmt saling menyalahkan pembekal …sepatutnya hapuskan pengeluaran oil filter yg awal dn gantikan yg lebih baik….buat yg terbaik bukan bg alasan yg terbaik..bodo2

• Norazman abdullah on May 04, 2023 at 10:41 am

Gantikan sparepart.yang tulin

• CunNia on May 04, 2023 at 10:53 am

No need to bark so loud la. Small issue only. Just go and change for free. Case close. P2 still the best. King of the Road in M’sia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • NiaCun on May 04, 2023 at 12:51 pm

I put an old beg plastik from roti canai stall around the filter, not leaking any more. P2 still the best. King of the Road in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Azizan on Jul 12, 2023 at 6:56 am

Small issue aah?? If oil all drain out due to leak filter then piston jammed, you think Perodua going to replace engine with free??

• Justice on May 04, 2023 at 11:19 am

Unethical burukdua perodua as usual

• Boy Racer on May 04, 2023 at 12:37 pm

How the fuck can Perodua get away with this? Do we not have a consumer protection act that protects the Rakyat?

This is unacceptable, the government needs to take action please.

• SO WHAT? 6 months waiting time for all Perodua model on May 04, 2023 at 1:25 pm

DONT compliain laa nanti resale value drop

LIKE others japan brand got problems also keep quiet if not later hilang muka beli mahal dapat sampah

• Bossku on May 04, 2023 at 4:18 pm

What to do? If most buyers can afford any car, yes, i mean, any car that isn’t a Perutdua or Potong, i think they would not buy Perutdua or Potong…if a mostly Malaysian car company cannot even assemble car parts together properly, how is the country going to climb out of the third world country club?

• This tell us the 2nd sub factory already supply 40k of oil filters to P2, since the look almost the same they can’t even differentiate the 1st factory poroduct and the 2nd one. So by calculating nos of cars went to SC per day since february, by june all 40k filters already consume so the problem is solve. Very irresponsible.

• Sad.... on May 04, 2023 at 11:45 pm

A pure EXCUSES… Original part turned into OEM due to supply issue? oh come on…, cheating the customer at the very beginning. haiyaaa… most people do not have time to beg for warranty claim la, do Perodua have enough Original stock at hand and change it on-demand? but say the issue is “not enough supply” LOL

• Hoi Kwong shuenn on May 04, 2023 at 11:46 pm

Even now can claim the oil filter but now my car’s engine had problem happen cuz the oil filter

• newcow on May 05, 2023 at 9:08 am

just imagine, the oil filter caused oil pressure drop (leaked) caused engine not enough lubricant. caused engine damage. Perodua slowly becoming horrible. poor management

• FAIZUL on May 05, 2023 at 7:16 am

Hmm.. I’m aruz owner, and I had this oil filter leaking issue 2 times already, so my other friends on my group, but perodua said the aruz uare not affected? Weird.. Free warranty claim on the affected, but the time consuming process to send to service center, the time user has to spend. I had an experience where the service center in sg petani told me leave my car and get it in the evening just to change the oil filter.. Not a single sorry from perodua about this problem that has been plaguing..

• Ben Yap on May 05, 2023 at 8:21 am

small issue and cheap to rectify, Perodua willing to take responsibility. for the axia which can cause fatality, perodua refused recall and continue to sell coz it is costly to them.

• azhar on May 05, 2023 at 11:45 am

Yesterday one all new Alza burnt to ash at Penang bridge. Related incident?

• abam grap on May 05, 2023 at 3:13 pm

Scary..was thinking of getting an alza H. Hopefully perodua can sort out all the problems fast.

• not happy on May 05, 2023 at 2:56 pm

what does this manufacturer doing, must dispose all defect oil filter. see all above comment, some even facing this problem more than 1 time, mean defect filter still using by SC.
    defect oil filter, must dispose all. yes can go to sc to change, but what is meaning if still changing defect oil filter to Customer? this produce more problem.
    must stop using defect oil filter.

• GengM on May 06, 2023 at 7:25 pm

This is toyota/Daihatsu quality control… Simple oil filter also cannot do it right…

• Mohammad Amir Lim on May 13, 2023 at 9:10 am

My daughter Myvi accounted oil leakage,today send to perodua service center for checking engine oil leakage issue and 18months service.
    The service advisor said have to pay for engine oil and oil filter change because service schedule due, even oil leakage due to perodua oil filter problems. So sad Perodua such Big company totally lost of friendly customer service and Quality control issues.

• wendy lim on Jul 21, 2023 at 12:53 am

Same with me, they charge me RM250, abt the leaking problem, their staff is their product problem, then they don’t told me that is fees to change.

• wendy lim on Jul 21, 2023 at 12:54 am

Same with me, they charge me RM250

• Azizan on Jul 12, 2023 at 6:56 am

Small issue aah?? If oil all drain out due to leak filter then piston jammed, you think Perodua going to replace engine with free??

• wendy lim on Jul 21, 2023 at 12:50 am

Why I got charge RM250 even I face the same problem leaking, and the staff also said that is their product issue, why the staff don’t know free for change

• wan faizal on Jul 23, 2023 at 10:18 am

Mine also just detected yesterday after completed 50k service last month.

• Samime Binti Joni on Aug 08, 2023 at 2:08 pm

Nak tanya harap pihak produa ambil tindakan secepat mungkin sebab kereta Axia 2023 Sya baru 4bulan lebih ada problem aircond tak sejuk bila on berbau dan apabila hujan tidak berfungsi dah try adjust butang aircond pun tak ada kesan dah try pergi service centre Staff cakap kena tunggu barang sampai dalam masa sebulan ke sebulan setengah habis macam mana dengan keadaan nak pakai kereta bila masuk dalam on enjin rasa bahang dengan keadaan panas buka cermin masalah lagi cuaca luar panas sangat makin bertambah panas kalau hujan tak dapat jalan kena tunggu hujan berhenti sebab tak safety berbahaya tak nampak jalan..