Beware – scammer allegedly using similar company names to phish for car purchase deposits

Photo of police report from FB group posting

A case involving a salesperson of a Japanese car brand has gone viral over the weekend. The salesperson allegedly took deposits from customers that were supposed to go towards the purchase of a car but when it was time to take delivery, it was discovered that the deposits paid by the customers earlier were not properly paid to the dealership for the car purchase.

Car dealerships have advised customers time and time again to avoid being scammed by bogus sales advisors asking customers to make payments to personal bank accounts. We previously carried an announcement by Perodua back in 2021 advising the same.

“We have recently discovered at least two scammers, posing as Perodua sales advisors, asking customers to make booking fee or deposit payments to personal bank accounts. We take this opportunity to remind all our valued customers to only make payments to official company accounts or over the counters at our outlets,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad said.

However, it seems that scammers have figured out a workaround, perhaps inspired by the 1MDB case where payments to bank accounts that were similarly named but not exactly the same were involved. According to a FB posting which included a police report, cash payments of up to RM90,000 were made to a non-personal bank account, but the bank account did not actually belong to the dealership.

Since scammers have apparently stepped up their game now, we have to be extra vigilant. Always verify the correct bank account for deposits with the dealership’s finance personnel. One red flag in this case would be the bank account name does not have Sdn Bhd in the name, usually car dealerships would be Sdn Bhd. You can always speak to the cashier at the aftersales area to make sure.

Always make sure you get a receipt as well, as the police report mentions that receipts were not given with the excuse of the system being down.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dulan on May 21, 2023 at 2:54 pm

Make it compulsory to make payment only at cashier counter instead of passed to SA . And put up company account number on the customer service counter .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 21, 2023 at 6:00 pm

Aabar Investments PJS (Abu Dhabi)
      Aabar Investments PJS Ltd (Seychelles)

• Unimaginable Insanity..face to face scam on May 21, 2023 at 9:56 pm

In Chinese proverb,it says some people can “sweet talk” until the bird falls off the tree branch.
        Apparently,the Honda SalesGirl from the top of the Top Dealership in Bolehland,has mastered the art of sweet talking,that people can depart with their sweat money by being scammed.
        Who would believe a top Honda dealership staff from a big showroom would scam them? People got scammed thro online scams..but now…oh no…face to face scam.
        Perhaps they can get Hisyam Teh to sue ….possible?

• YB Kinte Kunta on May 21, 2023 at 9:39 pm

The golden rule is,once system down..kiv your payment,if only handwritten receipts r given by SA.
      Another way,is to demand the GM of the Honda dealership type an undertaking letter with commpany logo n chopped,that it has received payment.This way..it helps,since some Honda fanboys cant wait a second longer to get their dream cars fast.
      How can u pay 90 grand to a company that is not Sri Utama Motors? Maybe it is Sri Utami Motors…the fake scam account.Sri Utama is amongst the top 3 dealers in the Honda stable.
      All points to the superb charisma of the con girl who will be nabbed very soon.U cant run.PDRM is super efficient now.BUt by then,the conned duit already dispersed into various hideouts.
      Wah liow,this is another Jho Low trainee on the run.

• Squid on May 22, 2023 at 9:09 am

How do you know if the receips & invoices are not fake as well? They’re the easiest things to forge.

• Lesson learned..dont buy car..when the buying stops, the scamming can too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Unimaginable Insanity on May 21, 2023 at 9:43 pm

Stupid LOL.u r like the Name wee dude,tokok.
      We r asking people to be extra vigilant,against super sales talk of SA.
      Still go ahead n buy,but look out for red flags..like handwritten receipts by SA.

• 4GR-FSE on May 22, 2023 at 4:19 pm

So smart la…
      Don’t eat also, when eating stop, the food poisoning too
      Don’t breath also, when breathing stop, the covid infection too

• Sue Thomas on May 21, 2023 at 5:19 pm

That’s why i rather go for full loan .. SA stand no chance to grab me a single cent

• i pay cash, no loan loan nonsense

OH WAIT

• Gen Z on May 21, 2023 at 7:18 pm

Just buy online like everyone else.

• Ex perodua user on May 21, 2023 at 8:01 pm

Wonder why the sales girl stupid enough to did these. She thinks can run away kah??Malaysia is a law country, prepare to become ajib neighbor.

• Ajibkor Madani on May 21, 2023 at 10:12 pm

PDRM CID top cop is who now?
      Answer ….the former Johore Top Cop.Habis lah..sweettalk congirl.Which hotel or friends /relative house u can stay?Within a week or so..sure tangkap.

• yamehhh…even bijan also took awhile to be lockup..still can travel here there..makan here n there at the meantime

• jdmcarlover07 on May 22, 2023 at 12:23 am

i also just been a victim of phishing too :(

• Ben Yap on May 22, 2023 at 9:45 am

she could’ve gotten the money and fled to neighboring country to avoid the law and retire there.

• Ajibkor's new neighbouring block cell kawan on May 22, 2023 at 12:49 pm

She conned a juta rm…with that amount,u need to bribe tons of corrupt officials in order to be a fugitive in a foreign land.It wont be enough..if u want to survive for long.
      Only like the IMDB BASTARD,u can survive long enough with tons of cash.
      She is stupid enough to leave entire family n divorced just for a Juta Rm.
      Now all the border checkpoints n hotels r on the lookout for her.U cant run.

• 4GR-FSE on May 22, 2023 at 10:26 am

Never ever make any transaction outside of the showroom/dealer outlet. Either by Credit Card, Cash, Cheque or Online Transfer, never leave the showroom without an official receipt.

• ROTI CANAI on May 22, 2023 at 10:35 am

always go to the showroom and pay via credit card, get a receipt on the spot

• Junkies otr on May 22, 2023 at 11:32 am

What Japanese car brand? Just mention honda laa, nothing to hide

• Dr Ray on May 22, 2023 at 12:04 pm

The way forward for Malaysia is Cashless payment…

• The POWER of woman on May 22, 2023 at 12:41 pm

MEN brain got buried in cleavage, the hollow between a woman’s breasts

• Hamsub Honda buyers on May 22, 2023 at 12:55 pm

Ya..u might be right.From Chinese newspapers..she is quite voluptiously well endowed.

• I wonder about the sop, check and balance?