BMW i5 and 2024 BMW 5 Series G60 – M60 xDrive with up to 601 hp; AirConsole brings in-car gaming

The BMW 5 Series enters its eighth generation as the G60, and the nameplate is joined for the first time by a fully electric range, the G60E BMW i5 sedan in parallel, a little under seven years on from the unveiling of the G30-generation 5 Series in October 2016.

Physical growth continues in the G60-generation 5 Series over its G30 predecessor, the new model measuring 5,060 mm long (+97 mm), 1,900 mm wide (+32 mm), 1,515 mm tall (+36 mm) and a wheelbase of 2,995 mm (+20 mm).

Full electrification for the range debuts with the RWD i5 eDrive40 and the dual-motor AWD i5 M60 xDrive; the eDrive40 packs a rear-axle motor producing 340 hp and up to 430 Nm of torque with Sport Boost or Launch Control activated. Thus equipped, the i5 eDrive40 does the 0-100 km/h run in six seconds, and a top speed of 193 km/h.

The more powerful i5 M60 xDrive packs a dual-motor powertrain rated to produce 601 hp and up to 820 Nm of torque with Sport Boost or M Launch Control activated, this way enabling the M60 xDrive for a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 3.8 seconds, onwards to a limited top speed of 230 km/h.

Both the eDrive40 and M60 xDrive draw power from an underbody battery pack that provides a usable energy content of 81.2 kWh, yielding and WLTP-estimated range of 497 km to 582 km for the eDrive40 and 455 km to 516 km for the M60 xDrive. Both variants gain the new Max Range function, improving battery range by up to 25% through limiting power and deactivating selected comfort functions.

The onboard Combined Charging Unit (CCU) in the G60E BMW i5 supports AC charging at up to 11 kW as standard, or up to 22 kW as an option. DC fast charging for the i5 is supported at up to 205 kW DC, this way enabling a charge from 10-80% state of charge (SoC) in around 30 minutes.

On the combustion engine-powered side, the G60 5 Series debuts with two four-cylinder mild-hybrid engines – one petrol and one diesel – across three variants at launch; the 208 hp 520i sedan, and the 197 hp 520d in RWD and xDrive AWD variants.

Further ICE variants not offered in Europe include the G60 530i and 530i xDrive for the US market, which packs a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine producing 255 hp and 400 Nm of torque, while the 540i xDrive brings a 3.0L six-cylinder turbo inline-six petrol engine that outputs 375 hp and 520 Nm of torque, boosting to 540 Nm temporarily from the 48-volt mild-hybrid system.

Some things remain the same – the German marque continues to tout “an almost perfectly balanced” 50:50 weight distribution between its front and rear axles, while front and rear track widths have also grown. M sport suspension, an M sport brake system and the Adaptive Suspension Professional are standard on the M60 xDrive.

Suspension layout in both the i5 and the 5 Series consists of double wishbones in front and a five-link setup at the rear; standard fit tyre sizes are 245/45R19 on the i5 eDrive40, while the M60 xDrive gets 245/45R19 in front and 275/40R19 at the rear. Standard fit tyres on the G60 520i, 530d and 520d xDrive are 225/55R18; further designs measuring up to 21 inches in diameter with performance tyres are also available as options.

Optionally available are electronically controlled shock absorbers, Integral Active Steering and new vertical dynamics management, as is the Adaptive M Suspension Professional that also includes Active Roll Stabilisation with Active Roll Comfort.

The host of driver assistance features in the G50E i5 and the G60 5 Series is led by the optional Driving Assistant Professional which includes Steering and Lane Control Assist and Distance Control, with Stop & Go function. In markets where regulations permit (United States, Canada and Germany), the Highway Assistant can relieve the driver of steering tasks on highways with structurally divided lanes at up to 130 km/h.

BMW also claims a world-first in the G60/G60E 5 Series with the advent of the Active Lane Change Assistant, which incorporates eye confirmation. Here, the vehicle can suggest a lane change, which can be confirmed by the driver by looking at the exterior mirror to confirm the manoeuvre. Where traffic conditions permit, the Active Lane Change Assistant can execute the steering movements automatically.

Also standard on the latest 5 Series range is the Parking Assistant with Reverse Assist. Where the optional Parking Assist Professional is specified, automated parking manoeuvres of up to 200 metres can be controlled from within the vehicle, or by smartphone when used from outside the vehicle.

Information in the G60 and G60E 5 Series and i5 is handled via the dual-widescreen curved display and the BMW Intelligent Personal Assistant, featuring the latest BMW Operating System 8.5 (via BMW iDrive 8.5) that also began rolling out for other models.

This offers QuickSelect, which enables functions to be accessed directly without having to go through a submenu, which results from an improved menu structure “oriented towards devices from the consumer electronics sector,” says BMW.

The connectivity experience in the G60 5 Series extends to in-car gaming, as its Stuttgart-headquartered rival has done, and here the BMW OS 8.5 brings the AirConsole platform that offers gameplay while the vehicle is stationary, such as when its occupants are waiting while the vehicle’s battery is being recharged.

Market launch for the G60 BMW 5 Series range will commence in October, with the all-electric i5 leading the charge in global markets. Selected markets – such as the United States – will also receive mild-hybrid and PHEV variants, the latter scheduled for debut in 2024.

A registration of interest page has already appeared on BMW Malaysia’s website so if you are interested in buying the new BMW i5, you can click here to register. Do it quick, as we hear the i5 will arrive on our shores relatively fast due to it being a tax-free EV CBU import.

GALLERY: BMW 5 Series Family

GALLERY: BMW 5 Series new iDrive

GALLERY: BMW i5 M60 xDrive

GALLERY: BMW i5 eDrive40

Learn more: ,

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Why BMW keep producing ugly car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 74
    • Beauty is eye beholder. Btw, doesn’t look bad compare to mercedes and E Class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 25, 2023 at 7:43 am

BMW copying the rear
        from Peugeot now??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
        • Mango on May 25, 2023 at 8:34 am

Better than dustbin Merc were so many merc models including E Classcopying Kia, mostly from all models. Btw, E class rear look like triangle while inside looks weird and messy

• Papermate on May 25, 2023 at 12:05 pm

Agree. E class design can’t beat with this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
    • Isaac on May 24, 2023 at 11:11 pm

Same goes to Mercedes, where producing such weirdo cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • as you can’t able to afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • as you cant able to afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Check your eyes again. TQ

• lithium on May 25, 2023 at 10:05 am

Agree – this new 5 series design like unfinished. The back design is so generic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 55
    • Says ah beng as you claimed that BMW is ugly but never owned this car but come here to hate

• Sohai on May 29, 2023 at 3:29 pm

Do you need to own a car to actually have an opinion on the outlook of a car?
        Besides, if the opinion is ugly, how to own one at the first place?
        I think the new 5 design is uninspiring.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 24, 2023 at 10:25 pm

Izzit just me or izzit the current crop of BMWs should be rebranded as EEW…?

I mean really…? The design language is just – Eew…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 136
    • Micheal on May 25, 2023 at 10:16 am

But symbolizes as sporty and more like E60. This is more cooler. Inside also even cooler

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • But at least not as boring as previous design language of BMW

• Peppa on May 24, 2023 at 10:55 pm

Wth is that front end?!!! It look like a failed rhinoplasty. Even the Lexus LM look better than that abomination.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
  • 4.7L V8 SUV on May 24, 2023 at 11:09 pm

Their design progressively getting uglier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 129
  • Beauty

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 43
  • Cool car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • EverHard on May 24, 2023 at 11:26 pm

I love to ride this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 26
  • anonymous on May 24, 2023 at 11:37 pm

i really wanna like this but the oversimplification of the side without that crease just makes it look rather cheap. i totally get doing it for aerodynamics but surely there is a design that could be aerodynamic while still keeping it look like an expensive saloon? also idk how to feel about the flush door handles. again i know it’s for aerodynamics but like why not make it like those pop up ones? the door handle design is giving 90s throwback and not in a good way. also that rear? i’m sorry but it looks like a toyota. best get one of the runout editions then because the g30 is far better looking and it’s not even close. if it’s one positive i would say is the interior. i like that bmw keeps it simple and not over the top. still wished there were physical buttons for a/c control though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 128
  • Rat Bastard on May 24, 2023 at 11:43 pm

Totally agree with you! Whoever is the head of design at BMW needs to be fired and we need to get the guys who designed the E39 back into the office. What happened to the actual striking design? BMW needs to stop and reevaluate their decisions before they burn its heritage to the ground.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 123
  • beauty

• Unknown on May 25, 2023 at 1:02 am

Is it me or does the rear look like Toyota Vios????

Also the current G30 looks so much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Mango on May 25, 2023 at 8:35 am

Better than Merc copying Kia. Interior for E Class looks messy and weird.

• Rango on May 25, 2023 at 1:16 am

Way better than outgoing model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • ROTI CANAI on May 25, 2023 at 7:06 am

is this a joke. if this had some random china brand slapped on it nobody would know. BMW is a disgrace now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 16
    • PejuangLagenda on May 25, 2023 at 9:27 am

That is because most talented designers from Europe has jumped ship to Chinese company. Europe industry is collapsing because of severe inflation. Their government thought they are smart and want to lawan Russia. Russia smiles back and Eurtope is finished.
      Even Porsche chief designer has joined Chinese company and his first work is Ora Good Cat. They choose Cat because Cat is well loved by their muslim friends and cat looks sexy and naughty.

• Mango on May 25, 2023 at 8:34 am

BMW 5 Series > Merc E Class

• ManySohaiPoor on May 25, 2023 at 9:05 am

I laugh at people who buys BMW or any european cars with their salary/own money..hahaha. All rich people are laughing at middle class people buying BMW/Mercedes with their own money while the real rich people gets it for free through their company. No wonder the poor gets poorer. Mau gaya tapi talak wang…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Probably the best looking BMW interior to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 13
  • Holder on May 25, 2023 at 10:07 am

Sleeker and nicer than E Class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
  • Micheal on May 25, 2023 at 10:16 am

Way more cooler than G30 LCI

• Mike Tee on May 25, 2023 at 10:23 am

Being outgunned by the ICE M3 Competition by more than a second (3.9sec vs 2.8secs) to 100kmh is not really M5 material is it? Especially since it is an EV

• Love new bmw design language

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 20
  • Papermate on May 25, 2023 at 12:04 pm

Good looking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 18
  • vodka on May 25, 2023 at 12:33 pm

The G30 was ugly when I first saw it during launch. Bland, uncle and uninspiring. This one is actually nice and more dynamic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr on May 25, 2023 at 1:01 pm

Oh gawd it looks like crap. I thought the W214 E Class was bad but this takes the crown.

• RIP 5 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 39
  • The Mandalorian on May 25, 2023 at 2:51 pm

Typo error detected. G50 instead of G60.

The host of driver assistance features in the G50E i5 and the G60 5 Series…

• RIP E Class

• Why buy E Class when E Class is already rated as worst design and poor durability in its class

• 601hp wow…I like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Excitement and Amazing. Bring it on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 17
  • Bi Em Double Haha U on May 26, 2023 at 8:14 am

BMW fan bois keep spamming the comments telling their egg brain this piece of poo is beautiful hahahaha this car deserves ugliest car award for every year to come. Can share the award with green yaris

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 58
    • Isaac on May 26, 2023 at 11:09 am

They are not bmw fanbois, people even not bmw fanboys, are just giving opinions. So whats wrong with that. It is only mercedes fanbois who keep spamming against good comments but likens only for negative comments for any other brands that happened earlier this year shows that mercedes fanbois can’t accept and afraid of losing their mercedes sales. That’s why mercedes Fanbois are very upset and furious by truth opinions

• antiG on May 28, 2023 at 9:32 pm

because others’ opinion didnt go with his/hers, so simply label others as fanboy. appear everywhere and here we had it. such loser(s).

• Well that’s because mercedes fanboys don’t know how to research and have poor evidence as usual when commenting by trying very hard. Even mercedes fanboys are also making bad excuses when the sources are there and even people opinions talks they’re honestly, not like mercedes fanboys. Mercedes fanboys are the ones who are loser after looking at other brands because of their jealousy

• Mercedes fanboys always love to make so many excuses after there are sources in the web and for people opinion about why Mercedes is bad