Government will soon allow public to apply for small budgets to fix potholes, clogged drains – Rafizi Ramli

If you ever wanted to fix a pothole by yourself but you’re not willing to spend your own money to do so, the government will soon be able to help with funding. According to a report by Malaysiakini, the economic affairs ministry plans to introduce a new system that allows the public to apply for allocations for small projects.

Economic affairs minister Rafizi Ramli said the system will help speed up the process of dealing with issues such as fixing clogged drains or potholes on the road. “The federal government is making changes to democratise small allocations for the rakyat. All this time, as the elected representative, I had to do all sorts of things like fixing drains and so on,” Rafizi said.

“We are planning so that after this, allocations for rakyat projects can be applied for directly to the ministry by anyone and there is no need to go through all the layers (of bureaucracy),” he added.

Set to be launched sometime in mid to late June, anyone from members of the public to district offices as well as state departments can directly ask the ministry for allocations through the upcoming system. Rafizi pointed out that there is currently too much red tape when it comes to approving allocations, which could take up to three years.

“This (new system) is considered a win-win for all. We open up equal opportunities to all states and to all people (to apply for allocations),” he said, adding the certain conditions must be met before allocations are handed out.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Raja Kamarul on Jun 02, 2023 at 9:45 am

OK this is the height of stupidity. I assume the amount given will be done based on location, size of hole or damage to drains. How long will the assessment take? Why don’t you give better allocations to state authorities or JKR to maintain the roads? That is their job to start with!

You won’t have bad roads if the people in charge actually do their jobs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 02, 2023 at 10:35 am

Really brilliant owsemm idea by our PH BN minister.

it’s been a long time the komuniti dun hv a Gotong Royong. Let’s organize one Gotong royong and promote semangat Muhibah madani among all races within the komuniti. Kerajaan Perpaduan best

• Angry Voters on Jun 02, 2023 at 6:42 pm

A real failure when this useless gomen can no longer fix the damn roads and simply tell the rakyat we fix it our own.

Then better why not they step down as gomen and let us run the country?

Real utter height of stupido from this Kerajaan Gagal.

• E-liga-reza on Jun 03, 2023 at 12:25 pm

Harap kerajaan baru dpt membina litar lumba di setiap negeri. Nak pecut di jalanraya yg berlubang di sana sini memang susah betul sampai naik fedaplah

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 06, 2023 at 8:01 am

Jangan harap le nak bina litar lumba setiap negri, nak mintak tar jalanraya pon dorang suruh kita rakyat buat. Apa guna kita lantik dorang jadik mentri?

• E-liga-reza on Jun 06, 2023 at 12:29 pm

jadi lepas ganti kerajaan gagal, pun tak mau buat litar lumba?.. kerajaan gagal diganti dgn kerajaan yg gagal lagi…

• todak on Jun 02, 2023 at 10:54 am

You’re right. The average citizen is not properly trained to competently fix clogged drains & pot holes on roads. Tax payers money is already being used to pay salaries to those who had a been employed by the government to do those jobs. If red tape bureaucracy is the cause of the problem, they should focus on cutting down or eliminating that.

• YB Albert on Jun 02, 2023 at 3:04 pm

I work in a quarry for 2 decades.
      To properly patch up pot holes,u need to redo the road base with crusher run,apply a black liquid called colpave,then pave with asphalt n compact properly,12-15 times.
      Where in the world,does the rakyat have the expertise to do all the above? U expect us to have a mini compactor roller ?
      Why r we paying road tax ,cukai pintu n income tax?
      Rafizi,next time your underwear has a giant lobang,do u propose to Anwar to get some petty cash to patch up the hole?
      Albert Einstein….call this INSANITY.

• Exactly! Road construction is not the work of some bodoh’s (what some people might think), but requires certain tools, machinery and of course skills.

• Angry Voters on Jun 02, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Close down this failed gomen! We can do a better job running it!

• hazri on Jun 05, 2023 at 2:41 am

Rafizi pointed out that there is currently too much red tape when it comes to approving allocations, which could take up to three years, he said, adding the certain conditions must be met before allocations are handed out. actually, this is genius. when this thing open to public, this will push jkr contractor to do their job properly, no middle man, no delay. the most important is, before the problem become bigger, already settled within 1-3 days, if want to wait for jkr, maybe take a week, a month or more. anyone who complaints here, if you have better idea or alternative than rafizi, please do so by giving me one idea. if not, don’t show your stupidity.

• Why do we have JKR then?

• Ben Yap on Jun 02, 2023 at 9:49 am

so now the government is paying the general public to do their work? in that case, government should close down JKR’s department that repair the roads.

• Unimaginable Insanity...Rafizi and Co on Jun 02, 2023 at 3:15 pm

Rafizi coming out with feverich ideas cos he knows PMX gonna launch a cabinet reshuffle after state elections.
      UMNO Fuad Zakarshi n PN Azumu already giving him a lashing for gross incompetence.
      Before GE 15,I was mesmerised by his talk.
      Now,I wish the rakyat never voted for him.Just a huge letdown.
      Infact,he has joined the TOKOK club,founded by Namewee.

• Angry Voters on Jun 02, 2023 at 6:43 pm

Close down PH/BN gomen, let us run the country better.

• seancorr on Jun 02, 2023 at 10:16 am

Alamak now it falls onto us to fix the roads?

• amend federal constipation on Jun 02, 2023 at 10:30 am

fyi we reported potholes on the road via waze, three weeks later there only patches the potholes…..

• pomen on Jun 02, 2023 at 10:32 am

now JKR goyang kaki push their responsible to rakyat.
    on the other side, rakyat claim budget want to fix the jalan but the money gone already and the hole is still there.

never ending story…bodoh punya rafizi

• That’s why formula is important.

• Ching on Jun 02, 2023 at 11:09 am

i feels that this will burst the cost in short time.
    and it’s creating more safety hazard by non-skilled public, while working on the road – without safety jacket, barricade, lighting, road guide, etc.

What is the HIRARC on a traffic road for this low cost procedure?

• Kontol kinte on Jun 02, 2023 at 11:41 am

Ministers, council, enforcers and other road maintenance services are not at level frequency. And asking the public to mend potholes and the like will need a proper work documentation and must abide by civil road transportation act. What a joke!!! More clowns in the council and transportation department if not the ministries department!

• There’s thinking out of the box… and then there’s THINKING WAAAAAAAY OUT OF THE BOX
    En Raf, we want the Majlis Perbandaran to do it. not the tax/rate payors laaaaaa… adoi. then why we pay tax/cukai/etc etc??

• Dead Wood waiting for salary adjustment on Jun 02, 2023 at 1:23 pm

Report to authority countless time also no use.

• Alekho on Jun 02, 2023 at 2:32 pm

This intended benevolence of “allocations for rakyat projects can be applied for directly to the ministry by anyone” will provide opportunities for abuses by the unscrupulous. We’ll see an unusual increase of potholes & clogged drains everywhere. Or the govt has a way to counter it?

• Mat biru on Jun 02, 2023 at 7:26 pm

Cool, now contractors who got the contract to fix holes and already got the government funds can sit at home enjoy the money. Go ask them to do their jobs instead please.

• Robinhood on Jun 02, 2023 at 7:30 pm

Another stupid idea again from this fellow. He talked so much and nothing is done. Gave up on him already. Should spend his time fixing the bad economy!

• Speechless on Jun 02, 2023 at 8:15 pm

Ahahahaha

• Rizal on Jun 02, 2023 at 9:53 pm

Then all Town council staff & JKR can go teh tarik till lunch. Do nothing. Another issue on the Safety of the general public while DIY patching potholes and the quality of the repair.

• Bureaucrat on Jun 02, 2023 at 11:37 pm

“can be applied for directly to the ministry”

So if I want to fix a pothole in front of my house, I can apply for some money directly at the ministry? In Putrayaya?
    Sounds very unbureaucratic… :D

• piplup on Jun 03, 2023 at 10:49 pm

lol why the people nd to do their job? so that they can slack off more ? LOL LoL

• Time to apply small budget, use cheapest material to fix pothole, and pocket the extras. This is the rakyat way.

• potato on Jun 04, 2023 at 10:03 pm

time to buy a jackhammer and start making potholes and apply for small budgets to fix them. also dont forget to throw rubbish in the drain to clog it so you can apply small loans to unclog them. $$$$$