2023 Perodua Axia E is a 2014 model, ESC not mandatory in testing protocols at that time – MIROS

Last weekend, MCA president and ex-transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong raised the question as to why the base 2023 Perodua Axia E, which was launched on June 15, did not come equipped with ABS (antilock braking system) and ESC (electronic stability control), as these were minimum safety standards that needed to be included on all new cars.

However, there is apparently no need for the 2023 Axia E to fulfil these requirements, as it is not an all-new model, but a reintroduced model based on the first-generation Axia that was launched in 2014, according to the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS).

In a written response to a query from the New Straits Times on the matter, MIROS said that while ESC – including ABS – has been mandatory on new cars since July 1, 2018, the current Axia E was tested under the old protocol, which did not have a mandatory ruling for ESC to be installed at the time of its assessment.

The publication added that on that basis, the car has fulfilled its necessary assessment requirements which stands throughout its life cycle.

The MIROS statement added that the new 2023 second-gen Axia that was introduced earlier this year has on the other hand undergone the latest ASEAN NCAP assessment protocol which requires not only ESC but also several advanced safety assist technologies such as autonomous emergency braking (AEB), blind spot detection (BSD) and lane keep assist (LKA) to score a safety rating of four-star and above.

In response to the matter, Perodua has also reiterated that the Axia E variant is not a new model but based on the 2017 facelift of the first-gen Axia. What is new with the reintroduction is its pricing at RM22,000.

To make it clear to buyers, MIROS is currently working with the ministry of domestic trade and cost of living (KPDN) to make a safety label mandatory for passenger cars displayed in showrooms or at any promoting premises such as events in shopping malls.

It said that a glaring outcome if the car does not have the mentioned safety features is that it will give misleading information to the consumers about the safety features that are fitted inside the vehicle. The label will consist of a list of safety features that are available in the displayed car.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• bike rider on Jun 21, 2023 at 11:57 am

although it looks like Perodua is the evil who neglecting the safety. I do believe that by selling this good to be true value, under-spec, “not so safe” car will help those who use motorcycle as the only transport for the family.

I’ve seen many times, that there were three people riding on a motorcycle to school (father and two children, etc.) And there is the uncertain weather we have, either heavy rain or super hot afternoon.

Kudos and thank you P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 33
    • samseng jalanan on Jun 21, 2023 at 1:06 pm

perhaps those same people should take a bus.
      cheaper, safer. less congestion on road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
      • RavenAii (Member) on Jun 23, 2023 at 10:54 pm

If only the bus facility was well implemented throughout Malaysia. Bus nowadays mostly been used for interstate travel. Those citybus services are undermaintained or even been terminated. Heck even at my current place there is not a single bus used within the city. They even convert the bus station as a food court since no buses is on service anymore.

• There are a lot of choice 2nd cars out there which is much more cheaper if motorcycle rider want to buy.

• The Minister of Transport needs to address the loophole in safety assessment of vehicle and make ABS and ESC mandatory in all vehicle regardless it is a refurbished old model or new vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • BurukDua on Jun 21, 2023 at 2:18 pm

Why they give stupid excuse? 2014 vs 2023? 2023 should have ABS at least.
      If perodua can includes ESC and ABS in 2014 axia G, SE, Advance, so why cant axia E? Basically all of these previous axia came from same platform, same factory, same body, only different perodua refused to add ABS and ESC on axia e. Just simple and basic safety also cannot add on ka? Wow so memalukan this perodua. Compare almost 10 years ago to today pulak dah. Non sense. At least got ABS is good enough already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Boyracer on Jun 21, 2023 at 10:13 pm

Exactly..

• Yalah on Jun 22, 2023 at 11:00 am

If you want to stick to the price 10 years ago, then you get the spec 10 years ago lah.
        who say it is a technical challenge? it is driven by economic factors. Given a choice, you think P2 want to sell this even? Before the Axia E, their new Axia G is already holding the title for the cheapest new car at RM 38k, and that has ABS and ESC.
        How does relaunching the E suddenly causing a problem?

• Proton oh Proton on Jun 21, 2023 at 12:41 pm

its not too late to correct it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • KonkeyDong on Jun 21, 2023 at 1:39 pm

making excuses lah. its free.
      to fix the problem is not free.

• IDontBelieveYou on Jun 21, 2023 at 12:41 pm

You want to see the wisdom in buying a base model car? Look at the video of the motorcyclist who collided head on with an on coming viva, was thrown many feet up in the air and died.

• Ex kelisa owner on Jun 21, 2023 at 12:55 pm

Add variant options la, for buyer who want 6 airbags or whatever aeb, add money. If give options i rather dun want the dashcam, eco idle, acc for ativa av.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • options? variants?
      already exist la bangang. The regular Axia still being sold.

• I understand that it would not be cost effective for them to do a R&D to re-engineer the old axia to fit in abs and esc. However, P2 has already reap so much returns in terms of ROI. Also, I believe that the chassis is made for ABS and ESC as this car shares the same chassis as the Bezza (which btw also equip with ABS and VSC). So call “Building Cars People First” slogan. I believe that by installing ABS and VSC will incur 10k in price hike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Safety First on Jun 21, 2023 at 1:02 pm

So sez by this outfit that was *ahem* *sponsored* by P2, who also allowed P2 to send in nonexistent models for testing to represent cars sold, and was mum about their parent questionable testing results. Can MIROS still be trusted?

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 21, 2023 at 1:05 pm

With the price of 22k which is cheaper than Yamaha Xmax250 … hundreds time safer than a motorcycle … no need to complaint about lack of abs and esc .. if want to push for abs and esc , might as well push / force all driving schools to replace their cars with abs and esc equipped .

• todak on Jun 21, 2023 at 1:06 pm

Do check out this news of an accident which happened on 18/6/2023 at an apartment block indoor parking lot in Jelutong, where a current generation P2 MyVi, which comes standard with ABS+EBD, VSC(ESC) & traction control systems, had collided & knocked down a section of a wall. It was reported that the driver overreacted after reversing into another car. Probably he was relying on those safety features to get him out of this risky situation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • DonkeyKong on Jun 21, 2023 at 1:10 pm

nope. that was just an idiot behind the wheels.
      Nobody drives like that even on modern full-safety spec cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Yeahsure on Jun 21, 2023 at 1:46 pm

I mean those accidents always happen in p2 cars … U can blame drivers to a certain point, but when its so often as in daily occurrence, either their cars are overhyped or when their driver goes in their cars n close doors, it activates some brain cell destruction.. Bcos when was the last time you saw a freaking decent Aruz/Myvi/Axia/viva driver on the road?? WHEN??

• todak on Jun 21, 2023 at 3:00 pm

well if dont blame driver, then blame car? seriously? you should work as assessor for insurance company, every claim just write car manufacturer’s fault. WIN

• todak on Jun 21, 2023 at 3:24 pm

Hello impersonator. Are you stooping this low because you have no points to debate with?

• todak on Jun 21, 2023 at 3:36 pm

I’m just pointing out that the human factor still plays a major role in automotive & road safety although automobile manufacturers may install as many safety features as they can into their vehicles regardless of brand & model. Is every rider/driver in the right frame of mind before he/she sets out on the road?

• todak on Jun 21, 2023 at 3:20 pm

Yes, what that driver had done was idiotic. However, let’s not assume that nobody ever drives like that even in a car packed with safety features. On the Christmas morning of 2022, a Vios was found to have crashed through a wall at the 3rd floor car park & landed nose first on the 2nd floor of the Star City Mall in KK Sabah.

• Ben Yap on Jun 21, 2023 at 1:17 pm

relaunch is not an excuse not to include ABS and ESC. it is whether P2 wants to include it or not.

• mau murah, mau full spec, mau semua barang.
      ai pi ai ni ai tualiap nee

• Just Kill It on Jun 21, 2023 at 1:26 pm

Still many killers on the road like commercial vehicles, double cabs & etc. don’t even have ABS ESC also, as per understanding, no need to wear seatbelt somemore, this little boy at least got 2 airbags liao.

I got a LMST that bought on 2007, which actually is kind of 1985 piece of metal, and I got a free upgrade later days by P1 for adding middle seat safety belt to the rear seat. P2 may consider to give upgrade like this later.

• 2014 maa on Jun 21, 2023 at 3:01 pm

No wonder they’re so behind. The head still in 2014. That answers it all

• what an asinine answer by MIROS. Adapt with the times la ngok!

• Jeffrey Read on Jun 21, 2023 at 3:37 pm

What does “… has been MANDATORY on ALL NEW cars since July 1, 2018.” mean ?

• where is your social responsibility, you have made enough money with other models

• GENGM on Jun 21, 2023 at 5:06 pm

WHAT KIND OF STUPID EXCUSE MIROS ARE PROVIDING.
    THOSE OLD CAR CAN BE ON RUNNING CHANGE FOR SAFETY. ELSE IT SHOULD NOT BE ON THE ROAD!!!

• Sohai on Jun 21, 2023 at 5:29 pm

What’s the fuzz?
    Those making noises not even their target market. You want an Axia with abs? Get the Axia G lah?
    You want the specification of your choice, at the price you want? Go start a car company lah.
    Perodua could easily just pull this product off the shelve if it is too difficult. Then we deny people a genuine chance to own an affordable car.

• Yalah on Jun 21, 2023 at 5:31 pm

Make safety label for passenger car? That includes used car ke?

• Justice on Jun 21, 2023 at 6:53 pm

Not surprising from an unethical car company such as perodua…what a shame

• Sohai ori on Jun 22, 2023 at 11:18 am

For people that support P2 saying that consumer could still buy a car with ABS, or it is already cheap and we cant fault P2 and is already safer than riding a motorcycle…

Switch this to a food industry where someone launch a menu rahmah, but the food has lots of sugar and trans-fats as the filler to fill your stomach. Would you support this merchant because it is safer than someone to eat from the thrash bin? Or because you pay a low price, you odd to consume something that potentially harm you and you can’t complain?

Launching something potentially dangerous, in the name of cheap price, is simply not acceptable. Would you support a new Axia of RM10k but has no seat belt? In 2023, ABS should be standard, just like seat belt.

• Proton, pls make and sell iswara model again. Msia need.