Malaysian highway concessionaires urged to provide facilities for big bike riders to reduce accident risk

A request has gone out from the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) asking highway concessionaires to provide and upgrade facilities for riders of high powered motorcycles. This is to reduce the risk of accidents and fatalities to riders says LLM chairman Datuk Seri Jalaluddin Alias.

Jalaluddin said in a Berita Harian report several motorcycle lanes are unsafe for use by motorcycles with large displacement engines. “For example, there are motorcycle lanes in Penang and Ipoh where the entry is unsuitable for use by big bikes. This indirectly leads to the possibility of an accident occurring,” he said.

Aside from that, highway concessionaires should identify hot spots where motorcycle lanes need to be upgraded. Besides that, Jalaluddin also mentioned all highways should be monitored for cleanliness, lighting and the use of closed circuit television (CCTV) in the effort to increase highway user safety.

“Many reported accidents occur during rainy periods after motorcyclists elect to take shelter under bridges. The latest incident saw three riders lose their lives after being struck by another vehicle while taking shelter last June 4,” added Jalaluddin. He said 200 fatal accidents involving riders on highways were recorded, along with 1,906 cases and serious injuries and 1,064 reports of light injuries.

This is not a new request from authorities for highway concessionaires to upgrade facilities for motorcyclists including two guidelines on motorcycle shelters and motorcycle lane geometry. In 2017, the Public Works Department (JKR) asked concessionaires to provide more motorcycle lanes, as well as building rain shelters based on the accident statistics for motorcyclists, a view echoed by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) in 2018.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Proton oh Proton on Jun 27, 2023 at 10:09 am

You pay road tax you deserved the rights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
    • Ah Chong on Jun 27, 2023 at 11:33 am

True… Rm350 Roadtax and the amount of tax paid on expensive tires that last only few thousand KM should deserve something. Then again highway are private so not sure.

• Sohai on Jun 27, 2023 at 7:42 pm

Sohai… betpi ni… POLICE/JPJ should straight summons to who raise this question… because Federal/JPJ rules and regulation only have 1 rules —> Bike category required drive at side of the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Logical Deduction on Jun 27, 2023 at 11:56 am

Malaysian roads should be exclusively exclusive, we need each road & highway to have individual lanes each;
      1 lane for tractors & backhoe,
      1 lane for slowpokes & buses,
      1 lane just for overtaking & undertaking,
      1 lane for normal speed cars,
      1 lane for speedsters, sportscar & VIP cars,
      1 lane for polis, bomba, ambulance, mentri, Isteri YAB PM, & others with siren sesuka hati,
      and 1 lane for devil motors & big bikes.

3 lanes is not enough, see Dubai every road has 5 lanes. Here we need 7 lanes each way and that is just minimum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
      • FireAce on Jun 28, 2023 at 3:11 pm

You missed one more..
        1 lane for basikal nyamuk, at midnight they can have all lanes

• Lolwhut? on Jun 28, 2023 at 3:40 pm

LOL if midnite they can hve all lanes that meant is not needed extra lane

• FireAce on Jun 28, 2023 at 6:58 pm

That 1 extra lane is for daytime “Activity”.

At night time, all other vehicles cannot use these roads else you will go to jail for knocking them down, even though you drive in your own lane but they didn’t.

• Logical Deduction on Jun 30, 2023 at 8:21 am

Not logical. Basikal nyamuk where got come out during “daytime”. So a lane for them will be useless.

• zraful god on Jun 27, 2023 at 1:28 pm

but you didn’t pay tol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Entah apa apa on Jun 27, 2023 at 10:19 am

F off. Those riders are more often hobbyists as opposed to people who actually can only afford a motorbike to move about. Just treat them as cars and charge them tolls and make them follow the car lanes as how cars do. Bikes 2/3 the size of the car and still cut here cut there these mfs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 13
    • samseng jalanan on Jun 27, 2023 at 11:50 am

because same mentality as mat rempit, eventho the bike is slightly bigger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Yo Yo on Jun 27, 2023 at 1:38 pm

Yo, check out the Malaysia road rule first. There’s no law stating that motorbikes cannot lane filter, so that means lane filtering is allowed and it is legal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
      • stasta on Jun 29, 2023 at 9:16 pm

then it should be made illegal, or else limit the max width of idiotic big bikes with side luggage

• Razak on Jun 27, 2023 at 10:21 am

How does a big bike more dangerous than Kapchai?

To me they are recklessly speeding, and not easy to get Saman too.

Want racing, boleh bayar masuk Sepang Circuit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • macampondan on Jun 27, 2023 at 10:51 am

why they should be given such treatment? Not paying any toll fee either. Why is such discrimination? They should just follow the same law as everyone else, stop speeding and splitting in highways. that’s it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
  • @NotBruceWayne on Jun 27, 2023 at 10:51 am

You pay toll too to speed off in the middle of the road/highway

• Bayar Tol la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Papa G on Jun 27, 2023 at 11:29 am

Setuju!!!!

harap bila dah bayo, boleh la buat lorong khas utk rider.. siap sama ngan kereta macam lorong sendiri, ada support dari peronda lebuhraya, lampu dll

• Ah Chong on Jun 28, 2023 at 3:32 pm

Can. Please reduce Roadtax from Rm350 to rm20 because only 999cc, and also reduce insurance rate to similar of car insurance. Then proper lane for motorcycles.

• ThePolygon on Jun 27, 2023 at 11:00 am

How you built also they won’t use the bike lane. Just scape the bike lane and extend the normal vehicle lane.

• drMpower on Jun 27, 2023 at 11:08 am

they dont pay tolls right? these big bikes?
    and they couldnt care less about the rest right
    so whats special for them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • 4GR-FSE on Jun 27, 2023 at 11:32 am

Ride slowly and obey the traffic rules la..
    The rest of the road users have to risk ourselves driving along with the big 10 tonnes 20 tonnes lorries. Accidents involving lorries and cars are much higher.. what makes superbike riders so special?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • T20 vs B40 on Jun 27, 2023 at 11:52 am

so a T20 bike live is important.
    but a B40 bike is worth nothing.
    nice job, whoever did the proposal.

also car drivers langsung tak hirau, eventho they pay for the highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Mat Rider on Jun 27, 2023 at 12:01 pm

First of all, why all of you are ranting against the superbikers? Prolly some of you cannot even afford a bike but talk kok too much!
    It’s LLM who requested/proposed for superbike lanes, not the biker community! So you mau marah marah dorg la!
    Talk about rights, we are also paying road tax, we also drive car and pay toll… you think we ride our superbike 24/7 ka….tolol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 52
    • hailak unker on Jun 27, 2023 at 12:47 pm

you asked WHY we dislike superbikes? YOU are the reason we dislike superbikes. YOU think we cannot afford superbikes? Your cheapo bikes are not even worth a Perodua Alza price tag ok. Our cars are more expensive than your 100K bike, but we dont go around pretending to be rich and show off like your superbikers.

You want special treatment because you have a bike? Then pay highway tols like other road users. Since you proud to be rich, then dont ask for handouts. PAY UP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 16
      • Mat Motor on Jun 27, 2023 at 1:26 pm

I wanted to disagree, but what you said hit home to much. Many of these big bike owners are so arrogant. They think they are riding a 1 million dollar bike. A car easily cost more than these used superbikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Mat Rider on Jun 27, 2023 at 1:26 pm

Hello Mr. Hailak Underwater, read my comment again…you think we got time to show off our bike ka… bikers are more helpful on the road, plus most of the bikers are also own cars.
        I drive my car daily, at times my bike. The problem here is who requested for super bike lanes, its LLM, not the biker community why so upset with the bikers?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
      • auntie hailam on Jun 27, 2023 at 1:30 pm

correction, a lot of these superbikes cost like kacang puteh only. go cari and see. Especially those with foreign SG plates, are write-off bikes. cheap garbage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Mat Rider on Feb 21, 2024 at 8:47 am

Mangkuk like you always pukul sama rata…not all bikers are bad…learn that first…there are bikers who follow rules too..issue here is about bike lane you guys talk cock and bring all your nonsense here…bongok!

• samemas on Jun 27, 2023 at 1:04 pm

Actually it doesn’t matter what type of vehicle you use & what you have paid for. In the end, everyone is subject to the natural laws of physics is a deciding factor of whether there’ll be an accident or not.

• Forget bout them. The people commenting here mostly are irresponsible idiots & cowards who drive cars recklessly on roads & being selfish while condemning bikers. They think that bikers are nuisance on roads. They also think that their cars more expensive than bikes but fail to realise that money can’t buy skills to control it. I am also a car driver & recently moved to big biker from kapcai user.

Though I do agree regarding mat rempit issues & kapcai users dangerously riding & convoys, but what LLM suggested is for better of all users. When wider bike lanes are provided with better entry & exit points, why would bikers want to bother on main lanes? If they imply that bikers won’t follow, put on tighter enforcement such as suspension, cancellation & etc. So that they even fear to make mistakes. However, since we live in Malaysia, shouldn’t expect logical practices be used.

• Highway toll concessionaires please provide SEPARATE LANE/ROAD for the kapchai ‘Superman’ riders so they don’t kill other road users. Killing themselves is optional

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 27, 2023 at 12:17 pm

datuk rempits kbkb

• Zuskopi on Jun 27, 2023 at 2:21 pm

What special treatment? Why are these faeces so entitled? What “facilities” nonsense is this? Reckless speeding kills. It is that simple and absolutely non-negotiable. Roads and highways are for commuting, not racing, not stunts, not hobbies. If you die, please don’t take others with you. To hell with them and those who empower and facilitate them!

• motor samseng on Jun 27, 2023 at 2:36 pm

minta dia bayar tol macam pengguna highway lain, terus terdiam.

• You should charge toll for them. Can buy bike so expensive can’t pay toll

• omg…. have the intellect level of this country stooped so low…those ppl n superman types r full of ego n could not care less of others….. now u want to given them more face ??

• who am i on Jun 27, 2023 at 4:14 pm

just 3 days ago on NS highway, I encountered 4 motorbikes doing that superman style, speeding and also going in between cars. Can our dashcam footage be submitted to PDRM/JPP for further action? I got their reg plates clearly as it was day time. If yes, how?

• Abam rider on Jun 27, 2023 at 6:27 pm

Pretty sure you won’t be coming back to this post, but if you do, the myjpj app has that report functionality.

• Big bikers are not supermen lah. They are VIPmen.

• A simple solution is not allowing superbikes to use motorcycle lanes; treat superbikes like other vehicles driving responsibly.

• Sohai on Jun 27, 2023 at 7:45 pm

The photo attach alteady AN EVIDENCE with very clear PLAT NO, JPJ POLICE pls straight away summons those owner not follow rules & rugulations drive at side of the road (salahlaku drive at fast lanes)…

• Iszamshah on Jun 28, 2023 at 3:35 am

Most of the bikers contribute more for the government. Riding bike is only breakaway from the crucial life burden. Whoever feels hatreds on those riders out there, just remember many of them is your life companion who contribute in our short life, most of them is workhard citizens in your beloved country, Malaysian “big”bikers is not same as others country’s

• Laugh on Jun 28, 2023 at 8:42 am

Tell them pay toll first before requesting for anything.

Then follow the law.
    Most of these bikes install super bright lights some even flashing until eyes also blind then speed way above the speed limit.

If you ask me, should outright ban motorcycles on the highways.

Most of these bikers goes on the highway with only 1 intention, to speed.

If they really out for a cruise, go on the old trunk roads.

• TixTox on Jun 28, 2023 at 9:47 am

yea they illegal lights are super bright, and not aimed properly. They are installed with the intention to blind other road users. Inconsiderate bikers.

• Junkies otr on Jun 28, 2023 at 11:58 am

Bikes wt 800cc above paying rm350 roadtax so no nd paying for toll. If cars want toll free then pls pay rm1400 for cars wt 1500cc.

• carazy on Jun 30, 2023 at 7:47 am

Std bike cc are less thn +-150cc, same like car 2000cc are considerd standart car cc. If car cc are greater than 2000cc they are going to pay more for road tax. Same like bike are over 150cc or more. If u wanna pay less roadtax ride a kapchai.. stop whining boy!!

• Zammy on Jul 03, 2023 at 1:33 pm

Charge them toll fees like ordinary cars then you can get them to ask for this & that. If they can afford bikes worth more than a Kancil so paying tolls shouldn’t be a problem for them.