KL JPJ issue 1,286 summons in ‘Ops Khas Motosikal’ – no driving licence, road tax most common offences

The Kuala Lumpur road and transport department (KL JPJ) issued a total of 1,286 summonses for various traffic offences during ‘Ops Khas Motosikal’, which began on June 27 in conjunction with the Hari Raya Aidiladha celebrations.

According to KL JPJ deputy director Erick Jusiang, driving without a licence and expired road tax accounting for most of the summonses with 535 notices and 237 notices respectively.

“Other offences include driving without a valid insurance (204 notices), using number plates that do not follow JPJ specifications (115 notices) and no side mirror (58 notices),” he said in a report by Bernama.

The operation was mounted together with the immigration department and also saw 70 foreigners be detained for various offences.

KUALA LUMPUR – 2 Julai 2023 (Ahad) – Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur (JPJ WPKL) telah…

Posted by Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur on Sunday, 2 July 2023

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• So how to solve the issue? Abolish license and road tax for bike?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • ioma not so clever on Jul 03, 2023 at 10:38 am

Summons them?

• True that ioma is not that smart on Jul 03, 2023 at 11:14 am

The road tax for motorbikes of 150cc & below is already at RM2. If u don’t want road tax, u can ride a bicycle which also doesn’t need registration & insurance. And if the motorbike licence is abolished, u can expect to see more underaged kids, some whose arms can barely reach the handlebars & some whose feet can barely reach the ground, riding around on their parents’ motorbikes, turning our public roads into their playground.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • Don’t be a rock. Don’t make assumption. I am asking a question here. Don’t jump into conclusion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
          • Did a rock fall on ioma's head? on Jul 03, 2023 at 1:06 pm

ioma did ask a question, but unfortunately, a stupid one.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 03, 2023 at 3:04 pm

If no R/TAX = no INSURANCE
            langgar orang tanggung sapa?

• Fat mama with retained berlian cincin on Jul 03, 2023 at 5:35 pm

Those bastards wait for Christmas..hoping PMX reduce 300bucks saman to 50bucks.
      Those bikes should be escorted to a huge DBKL carpark for abandoned vehicles…let them rot there for 2 months..pay DBKL parking fees besides samans.
      If samans r useless n not effective,then amend the law n jail them.

• My driving license i got from UK valid for life or 65 years old. No need to renew. Cheap and simple and does not burden the public. Our third world mentality here means you need to renew every year.

• Ben Yap on Jul 03, 2023 at 10:42 am

abolish all private vehicles.

• Helenesssssssssssssssss on Jul 03, 2023 at 12:27 pm

True story.

My Subaru XV got hit from behind by an old Proton Iswara at Federal Highway going to Shah Alam 2 weeks ago near Direct D there.

The Iswara no road tax, and no insurance. My car cannot claim for damages. I have to pay from my own pocket or I will lose my 55% NCD. Asked the traffic polis, they said they jus gave him 2 saman. Dunno the driver, could be an Indian national or Bangla

So what? They’re going to let this fella and the car roam around to find more victims? Tell you there are corruptions and poor enforcements

My car damage is bad, Subaru Motor Image quoted RM4k. Other place close to RM2k. Seriously what is the point of having nice cars in Malaysia?

1. We already pay heavy taxes and duties for our cars.
    2. Low enforcement where the kerajaan is siding and championing the poor
    3. Dangerous and irresponsible driving, breaking traffic rules by motorcyclists
    4. Badly maintained roads, meaning more costs and visits to tyre shops; and to replace lower arms, absorbers, steering racks/columns, rubber bushings, etc.
    5. Have to pay toll roads and traffic jams aren’t going away, no choice due to public transport not serving most of the areas
    6. If riding motorcycle, can die faster
    7. Better drive Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • samemas on Jul 03, 2023 at 3:05 pm

No road tax & no insurance would mean that car is not road legal in the 1st place & should have been confiscated by the cops. The driver of that car should bear the cost of the repairs. Did you seek legal advice on this?

• Helenesssssssssssssssss on Jul 03, 2023 at 4:12 pm

We did. Have to go for Civil. Have dash cam also no use. It will take a long time. Seriously, when driving.. just stay away from motorcycles and old cars. They might not have insurance coverage. Better still if the car behind got a pre-collision warning system. Stay safe guys

• King of the road : The Myvi on Jul 03, 2023 at 5:46 pm

Dear helene
      Just drive a simple Myvi..say 2015 model,preowned.
      Easy to park,no need reverse parking.Just zoom in.
      If kena banged..if new SUV,the repairs r costly,if u dont want lose your NCD.Hokkien …”sim tiah”
      A blardy biker just banged my front bumper n mudguard..bastard ran away..repair cost ..less than Rm200.
      Next year,u might be paying for unsubsidised petrol somemore.

• Helenesssssssssssssssss on Jul 03, 2023 at 6:17 pm

Thank you for your kind comment. Ya, you’re right. Better drive my tank 2001 Proton Waja. Sell also no value

• Daniel on Jul 03, 2023 at 3:54 pm

Why do the chosen race require valid driving licences and roadtax and insurances. The country alrdy theirs

• Taxpayer on Jul 03, 2023 at 9:36 pm

Terima kasih warga2 B40, abam2 rider grab & panda, penghuni2 ppr kerana turut menyumbang kepada tabung negara. Hutang 1mdb belom habis bayar lagi

• No driving license or road tax is a serious offence. Vehicles should be seized and drivers summoned and made to walk home until he furnishes those particulars.

• Azmi Johar on Jul 04, 2023 at 10:05 am

tolong datang ke Puchong Jaya banyak didapati tidak lesen bawa motor Dan tidak pakai topi keledar …
    rakyat tempatan Dan pendatang.
    t.k

• polis don care on Jul 04, 2023 at 3:13 pm

pdrm x kan layan pon. susah payah pening kepala, lagi x boleh mengaut untung