MEX highway starts trials of debit card toll payment

It looks like toll payment via debit card has been activated by MEX highway on a limited trial basis. There have been various reports on social media of users successfully paying for toll using debit card at the MEX Seri Kembangan and Putrajaya toll plazas.

The debit card lane is shared with the Touch n Go lane. We headed out to try it out for ourselves last night because we were curious to see how long the transaction would take to process compared to Touch n Go. Unfortunately, we could not experience it. When we reached the Putrajaya toll plaza (we tried both sides), the debit card reader screen said it was offline.

We spoke to the operators at the toll plaza on what is the current status of the debit card payments but got different answers. Someone at the Salak toll plaza said it’s offline and night and would be turned on again in the morning. The person at the Seri Kembangan toll plaza said activation would be ‘not so soon’.

Previously, the works ministry announced that highways will begin running an open payment system for toll collection by September 2023. Since it’s only August, one month to go then!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• @NotBruceWayne on Aug 02, 2023 at 10:24 am

Hopefully not always offline like gomen offices.

• Truckers on Aug 02, 2023 at 4:08 pm

Working oso no point. This is for debit card not credit car wei. Bayar kluar dari duit poket but cannot collect credit points like CC. Why bother?

I can use CC to load my TNG or my EWallet then I can still collect points but this debit card don’t give any extra benefits.

• Just treat this debit card lane as an absolute backup. The queue will get crazy long.

• Tak Bagus on Aug 02, 2023 at 3:22 pm

Our roads in all honesty is not great. 20 years ago our highways and road was definitely one of the best in the world. But since the last 8-9 years, after travelling to a few countries in Middle easts, Europe, australia and china, our roads are terrible. Can consider low developing country level. Slightly just better than 3rd world countries like India, bangladesh, Pakistan and Africa. Really teruk.
    Our city roads are so rough and uneven. Malu when to show tourists. Our kampung roads on the other hand seems smooth. Very wierd. Image is everything. If tourist comes and see that our country is like 3rd world country with poorly maintained buildings all over, lousy old cars all over the road and poor road condition, this will deter other countries from investing in Malaysia. Malu betul. Our ministers should visit other countries and see how far we are falling behind. I love Malaysia and it saddend me if we look like Africa, India etc. Not looking down on them but its not our culture to live like that.